Treatwell
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free Treatwell app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.2

38 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Vale Spa at The Vale Resort
Vale Spa at The Vale Resort
Vale Resort Hotel,
Hensol Park, Hensol, Nr Cardiff, CF72 8JY
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

Vale Spa at The Vale Resort
Vale Resort Hotel,
Hensol Park, Hensol, Nr Cardiff, CF72 8JY
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.2

Venue rating

Based on 38 reviews

5 stars 21
4 stars 11
3 stars 2
2 stars 1
1 star 3
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Back Facials (1)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (2)
  • Body Treatments (3)
  • Spray Tanning and Sunless Tanning (1)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (8)
  • Face
  • Beauty Treatments (3)
  • Eyebrow and Eyelash Treatments (1)
  • Facials (7)
  • Fitness
  • Swimming (4)
  • Hair removal
  • Waxing (1)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (1)
  • Hot Stone Massage (1)
  • Indian Head Massage (1)
  • Sports Massage (1)
  • Swedish Massage (3)
  • Therapeutic Massage (10)
  • Nails
  • Fish Pedicure (3)
  • Manicure (1)
  • Pedicure (3)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited November 2013
Posted 2 years ago
I was really looking forward to this break away for a birthday treat for my wife, unfortunately we encountered a lot of problems with our stay... First of all the postcode provided was incorrect and took us on a wild goose chase around various local farms, pretty as they were it meant we were pretty late to arrive at the hotel! When we arrived at the Vale Resort Hotel there was a problem with the credit card electronic key card system meaning that I had to return to the main reception three times to sort the key out. No member of staff offered to walk to the room with me to check that the key worked. It's a large hotel so a 'walk' back to the reception from our room took ages! All of this resulted in us being super late for our 55 minute treatment. The Spa staff seemed in a rush to get through the massages and my wife and I had nowhere near a 55 minute massage as booked... not the Spa staff's fault I suppose but even so, frustrating! Unfortunately, our bad luck was yet to continue. The next morning we woke up to find that the toilet did not flush! So, at 7 in the morning on a Sunday, I went to the main reception to explain the situation. A member of staff simply said, 'we can't check every toilet in every room, every day'! The staff did try to fix the toilet whilst we had breakfast but it still didn't work when we got back! Feeling rather peeved by the whole situation we thought we'd make a cup of tea in the room but then discovered that the plug for the kettle was so loosely screwed together that it was barely safe to use! The straw that broke both of our backs was to discover that the battery on the safe was flashing 'low' , leaving us in fear of not getting our valuables to get out of the place and get home! In all fairness, I think we were just victims of bad luck that weekend but when you pay that much money for one night, one expects to have a peaceful and relaxing break! It certainly was not peaceful or relaxing. So, based on our experience, I wouldn't recommend a trip the Vale Hotel!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2013
Posted 2 years ago
The actual building and rooms are lovely , very clean and spacious. However our stay was marred amongst other things, by having to queue at the bar for drinks in the evening , with no available place to sit and relax ,all areas were full and very noisy , a seperate guests only table service lounge would have made the experience much more bearable . We might have overlooked the lack of service on arrival , no offer of help with luggage to our rooms , the grill bar area being extremly busy, understaffed and our lunch order lost and having to wait 55mins for sandwiches . We were advised that our evening meal was in the golf club house and while staff were attentive and the food lovely ..there was no ambience whatsoever . Lighting was harsh and the area is more of a school dinning room than a hotel restaurant .We had been advised to go early for breakfast and on arriving after a lie-in we knew why . After having to queue again for a table , the place was very busy , noisy and messy . Food was all over the self service hot food area and the floor areas in general looked very unattended to . The following morning arriving early was much improved . While the spa areais lovely and the staff attentive , my partner was disappointed in the treatments , a pedicure was a quick file and polish and although I requested a firm massage I didnt get one we were both cold throughout . The water beds are great though !
Perhaps for corporate events and group golf parties who aren't looking for luxury or care about the service the Vale is fine but not recommeded for a couples break .
We wouldn't return .

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2013
Posted 2 years ago
I went for a One Night Spa Time Break Getaway and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2013
Posted 2 years ago
Just come back from a mother and daughter spa break at the Vale, It was a great relaxing break with a facial included in the price, please note book extra treatments well in advance before stay or you will be disappointed we found that a number of slots had been taken on the day we arrived, but apart from that excellent value for money, we can't wait to go again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2012
Posted 3 years ago
Visited today with a Wahanda spa day including a Diary Date Facial, lunch and use of the facilities. I topped it up with a Hot Stone Massage which had a 50% discount. The value was absolutely amazing; I had been to the Vale once before and knew that the deal was a bargain!

The therapists I was booked in with; Charlotte and Fran, took their time (in a good way) over the treatments and were professional and kind. In fact I would say both treatments were probably up there with the very best I've ever had (and I'm a bit of a spa junkie). The head massage felt like a helmet of stress melting off my head, and the products used for both treatments smelt amazing. Every product used on the Clarins facial was recorded for me, which is great, because you don't always know straight away how your skin is going to react, so it is a good reference if you want to buy anything later, that worked well.

Had been pretty tricky to book in as the receptionist had told me that they are constantly really busy down there. But it was reasonably quiet today (Monday). My only mild concern was that in the morning the pool was mainly being used for aquarobics with music that can only be described as Banging and the class was being giving very loud, motivating tuition from the teacher. Didn't really match the mood of watching sheep in the fields from the jacuzzi, or trying to calmly swim up and down.

The inclusive lunch was excellent; I had a salad made up to my own order, and it was spot on.
In a way I don't really want to wax too lyrical about how good the relaxation zone is, because crowds of visitors might spoil it's serenity!

A fabulous experience, a fantastic quality escape.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2012
Posted 3 years ago
The Vale Spa is pleasant but VERY busy, so much so that some facilities or rooms were not available due to pressure of numbers. No individual changing rooms provided, for a 4 star establishment this is not good enough. I would not recommend this spa during school holidays!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2012
Posted 3 years ago
Really enjoyed the spa day. The relaxation zones were lovely and it wasn't too busy. My friends and I would go again if there's another good deal on at the Spa.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2012
Posted 3 years ago
Facilities were really good and lunch was lovely especially the salad. Our group would have enjoyed the day more if we could have had our treatments either at the same time or within an hour of each other so that we could have spent more time together in the relaxation zones. Overall we had a lovely day.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2012
Posted 3 years ago
I went to the Vale with my Mum for the half day spa with massage. On arrivial we were given free slippers, robe and a towel. We were then shown to the relaxation zones, jacuzzi, sauna, swimming pool and steam room. We spent 40 minutes in the pool, jacuzzi and sauna before heading to 1 of the many relaxation zones to read a magazine before being called for our treatments. The atmosphere in all of these areas was very relaxed. We were able to have our treatments at the same time which was great. The massage itself was fantastic. It lasted for just under an hour and was very relaxing. Following the massage we spend a bit more time in the relaxation zones before heading into the cafe for a cup of tea.
Fabulous afternoon - would recommend to anyone - especially for the price!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Posted 3 years ago
Came here with my work colleagues for a one night spa break, including a back, neck and shoulder massage as well as use of facilities. It was really brilliant and I had an absolutely fantastic time. We arrived at about 1pm and our room was ready to go into straight away. We were able to go and get changed right away so that we could hit the spa!

The jacuzzi was great, and you could fit 8 people in there which was good for a larger crowd. The sauna and steam rooms are rather small, but right to each other and the jacuzzi. The pool is also a nice size, with a separate lane for serious swimmers which is good.

After splashing around for a bit, I headed to a treatment room for my massage which was really nice using a gently warmed oil. The massage was really soothing although it was a tad too firm at times, but I don't know if this is because I am still quite a massage newbie. The therapist was rather brisk and I did feel like one in a line of customers, but the actual treatment was nice, and she was still polite towards me.

After my treatment I explored the spa a bit more and I must say, I absolutely loved the heated water relaxation beds - they were divine! They were nice and toasty to lie on and super comfortable, think I ended up having a little nap. I also got to have a fish pedicure which was good fun and always an interesting experience!

The grounds surrounding the hotel are simply stunning, with views across the golf course and well worth a walk around. The food was also delicious and I thoroughly enjoyed all of my meals. The bedroom was quite roomy with a massive bathroom that had both a shower and bath. The beds were really comfortable and soft so I definitely had a good nights sleep.

On the whole, I had a really fantastic experience and I would definitely go back again! Thanks!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Posted 3 years ago
I had a lovely spa break here and would definitely recommend this spa for groups or couples. I had a full body massage and I felt they really paid attention to my requests. Even though the spa was busy it never felt crowded or uncomfortable as they have many facilities so there is plenty to do. I would definitely return to this hotel and spa.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Posted 4 years ago
The location of the hotel was amazing, really enjoyed the scenery around it, very peaceful and picturesque. The staff was very friendly and attentive, the booking process was also very straight forward and easy. All the details were managed between Wahanda and the hotel and we just turned up! The breakfast the next morning was also very well served! We generally really enjoyed the experience and would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a nice relaxing weekend or spa break. Also Cardiff city centre was not far away at all, we had spent the afternoon afterwards roaming arounnd in the Cardiff castle.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited March 2012
Posted 4 years ago
Overall the spa day was very good. Loved the use of facilities and the views were amazing.
I was a little let down by the therapist and massage itself. I wasn't asked if I’d had a massage previously, when I said that I usually have a knotted shoulder which I would like worked on, she didn't seem interested. I wasn't asked if everything was ok during the massage or if the pressure was ok (which I felt wasn't, having had many massages I would prefer a little firmer). My knotted shoulder which I had previously mentioned wasn’t really touched. Half way through, the music turned off. About 5 minutes later, another track came on for about 5 seconds, and then a different track came on for about 10 seconds before going off completely. The massage room itself was very dark, which I didn’t think was an issue but I couldn’t find the chair to put my robe on. After my massage the therapist got a glass of water for me, turned the light on and waited outside of the room, so I felt I had to rush. There wasn’t anything placed on my back to remove excess oils either (my friends had a different therapist where they had a warm/damp towel). Having turned the light on I noticed what looked like robes/towels on the floor next to the chair in a messy pile.

I just felt, little things could have made the treatment experience much more positive. But unfortunately they let the day down.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2012
Posted 4 years ago
Yes I would recommend to my friends. It was the nicest spa I've been to in terms of relaxation areas - there are so many. I loved the water beds with warm water, smoothing music and a water feature. My treatments were very relaxing although my Indian head was not focussed on my head as much as I would have liked and more on my arms and chest. Also my Swedish massage was a lot more stroking then deep massage to get rid of knots, although I do like a firm massage and did ask for this during and it it improved. Also would have liked rough skin removal from the feet a little more but I think honestly I'm a little fussy if I pay for something I like the works! My friend whom came had never been to a spa before or had a treatment and was blown away! The staff here are all really helpful and lovely!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2012
Posted 4 years ago
Fantastic venue, the room was exactly as described on the website, very clean and modern too..the Spa experience was just so relaxing,and worth every penny, i would recommend the whole experience to anyone. I will deffinatel ybe returning...regards Teresa

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2011
Posted 4 years ago
Lovely night 's stay in lovely surroundings and lovely clean rooms, with restful day in spa on following day. Staff were friendly and competent and spa experience was extremely pleasant. Good value all round.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2011
Posted 4 years ago
We arrived at 10 am and wasn't expecting our room to be ready until 2pm. We were delighted when our room was ready. It was a lovely spacious room with good views. We had a fab time at the spa and a delicious lunch. We especially loved the water beds and "sleep room" that we used after our massage's. The treatments were lovely and the therapists were good. The steam, sauna and Jacuzzi were lush and the overall experience was just so relaxing. The meals in the bar were reasonably priced and delicious. The breakfast was lovely. Overall had a great time and we are looking forward to going back in Jan.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

4 years ago
I also went for an overnight spa break and had a great time.

Report as inappropriate

3 years ago
WHEN WILL THERE BE ANOTHER OFFER LIKE THIS?? , PLEASE LET ME KNOW -I MISSED IT. THANK YOU X JOANNA

Report as inappropriate

Posted 8 months ago
Best

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel