Treatwell
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free Treatwell app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.4

118 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Rookery Retreat & Spa
Rookery Retreat & Spa
Rookery Manor,
Edingworth Road, Edingworth, Somerset, BS24 0JB
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

Rookery Retreat & Spa
Rookery Manor,
Edingworth Road, Edingworth, Somerset, BS24 0JB
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.4

Venue rating

Based on 118 reviews

5 stars 65
4 stars 37
3 stars 11
2 stars 5
1 star 0
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Back Facials (8)
  • Body Treatments (1)
  • Body Wraps (4)
  • Hydrotherapy (10)
  • Spray Tanning and Sunless Tanning (2)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (8)
  • Face
  • Facials (34)
  • Facials - Men's (1)
  • Fitness
  • Swimming (4)
  • Tennis (1)
  • Massage
  • Deep Tissue Massage (3)
  • Foot Massage (2)
  • Hand Massage (1)
  • Hot Stone Massage (3)
  • Indian Head Massage (4)
  • Lava Bambu Massage (1)
  • Lava Shells Massage (4)
  • Swedish Massage (30)
  • Therapeutic Massage (22)
  • Nails
  • Foot Scrub (8)
  • Manicure (13)
  • Pedicure (15)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 8 months ago
The staff in the hotel and the spa were very helpful and the spa treatments were very good. However there was building work going on next to our room and on two of three mornings we were awoken by a delivery van or similar, out side our window (engine ambling) at 6.15am.! The Spa deal stated that you could have two 3 course dinners and 2 lunches at the restaurant . However, be aware that you cannot have any course on the menu as you can only have up to £25 per person. So if you wanted say, scallops for a starter, lamb main and cheese and coffee to finish you would have to pay the difference, as this came to about £35/40 per person. Also an automatic service charge is added to your bill, which I don't agree with and didn't notice until I looked at the bill again after we left. We sort of thought we would be staying in the lovely looking Manor House, but that seems to be out of bounds for non-wedding people. Also the motorway noise is constant , so if you like to have a window open (like me) expect the lovely hum of traffic. Although the treatments were very good, I don't think it was good value for the money we paid, so won't be returning.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

8 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback regarding your recent visit to the spa. I can assure you that all feedback is very important to us to ensure we continually offer the highest level of customer service to all of our guests at all times.
I am disappointed to hear that you feel that you would not return to us again and that you feel our Spa Breaks are not value for money. We are currently in the process of up dating our Spa Breaks including making the allocation for dinner clearer and I would like to apologise if this was not explained to you clearly. It is common practise for a service charge to be added to a dinner bill however if you feel that this charge is not justified in can be removed from the bill.

The rooms in the manor house are all Suites therefore are available if booked in advance to all guests at a supplement charge.

I do wish that your concerns were raised whilst you were at the Spa as I would have certainly have done my up most to ensure that the issues raised above were resolved to ensure they did not effect your experience.

I hope that once all of our changes have been completed you would consider returning to the spa as I do believe that all your concerns raised are what we are currently working towards changing.
I hope to welcome you back to the spa in the future and again thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback.

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 9 months ago
Brilliant experience, will definitely be going back. The deep tissue massage booked as an extra treatment was very worthwhile and was discounted as had already pre booked this package. The hot tubs were fantastic too. The meals included in the package were of good quality and the service provided by the staff was consistently friendly and helpful throughout the weekend.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

8 months ago
Hi Anthony,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I will ensure that your comments are passed onto the team.
We look forward to welcoming back in the future.

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 9 months ago
We had a great time and the Spa was amazing and we were very well looked after. The treatment was fine and enjoyable but, and this is just personally saying this, it did not do much for me! Maybe I should have done the body wrap! The staff could not do more for us, they are so friendly and so helpful. The food was unbelievable and well done to the chef. The gardens are so beautiful and the only thing that was not quite right was the noise from the motorway which unfortunately does not encourage anyone to go and relax in the beautiful landscaped gardens which we really wanted to enjoy but I guess this cannot be helped! Other than that, it is 5 star all the way! Thank you!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

9 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, your comments are very much appreciated and we will ensure they are passed onto all members of staff and departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 9 months ago
Really enjoyed our spa day, staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and treatments were great. Good facilities and not over crowded. Wish they had a steam room but you can't have everything. Food was lovely.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

9 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us.

As I am sure you noticed on your visit we currently have some building work taking place at the front of the spa. Part of the work is to install a Steam Room!

Please look out for details on our Website and Facebook page of when work is complete and we hope to welcome you back to enjoy this new addition.

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 10 months ago
The spa was absolutely wonderful, the staff were so welcoming and always ready to answer any questions. I think the mains at dinner could have been better, but everything else was brilliant. I have already recommended it to friends and family. I would particularly recommend the lava she'll massage they offer, never had a massage like it, went into a completely different state of mind and body, truly a relaxing experience.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

10 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am please you enjoyed your visit and especially the Lava Shell Massage.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 10 months ago
The spa is clean, and comfortable. The staff very friendly and helpful. The treatments were relaxing and very good value.
The hotel/restaurant environment is a little strange- weddings are obviously the main business activity and the twinkly star lights and 80s pop songs added a bit of nostalgia! The food was superb, particularly considering what we paid for our sweet dreams package. We were extremely happy with the package we received- thank you!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

10 months ago
Hi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and will ensure your comments are passed onto the team.

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 10 months ago
Fantastic experience, friendly and welcoming staff and fabulous treatments. Just wish we could have stayed for longer! Will definitely be returning.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

10 months ago
Hi Lois,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 11 months ago
A brilliant day, felt very pampered and relaxed in a lovely environment! Staff very friendly. Excellent value for money! Coming back next month for my daughter's birthday!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

10 months ago
Hi Julie, Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited July 2015
Posted 11 months ago
Very disappointed to discover that lastminute.com was no cheaper than booking direct with the venue even though it had a percentage off which indicated it would be - I found this quite misleading.

The venue was spot on and the staff were very helpful with nothing too much trouble - this is what I was after as this was a birthday treat for my wife.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

10 months ago
Hi Howard,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit.

All of our discounts represent the savings of the package against the individual items being purchased separately and alongside our Third Party Offers we also run in Spa offers.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited June 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Escape Spa Day and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited June 2015
Posted 1 year ago
Rookery Manor is everything you want from a day visit to a spa - visually impressive, relaxing with staff who cannot do enough for you and make you feel 'spoilt' for the day. The restaurant reception area, where weddings and celebrations are catered for is amazingly smart and you feel like you've treated yourself to a very special place. The grounds, if you take the time to walk around the old Manor House are beautiful, with gardens and a fountain. Best bit - sitting in a hot tub in glorious sunshine. The therapists recommend products but do not push you to buy. A very good 18th Birthday treat, we will be back.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

1 year ago
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It is always lovely to hear that our guests have enjoyed their visits.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sophie - Assistant Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited June 2015
Posted 1 year ago
this was the second time we have been and enjoyed it so much booked for the 3rd time while we were still there. The staff and facilities are excellent and we came away relaxed and chilled:)

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

1 year ago
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
All feedback is greatly received.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the spa soon.

Kind Regards,
Sophie - Assistant Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited June 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Stress-A-Way Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited May 2015
Posted 1 year ago
Great value and lovely day out. Staff were friendly and treatment was very good. Some areas of the spa were a bit tired and there was a lack of sunlight and real flowers - I'm not a fan of the plastic sort! Lunch room had no windows! Outside hot tub area needed some TLC - not an inspiring place to relax. Cleanliness was very good.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited May 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Luxury Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 1 year ago
The staff were really helpful and I really enjoyed the morning. At times I found some of the areas a little noisy, some of this was from other guests talking really loudly whilst others trying to relax but some was workman the other side of the door in the hydrotherapy pool room and I could hear people in the corridor sounding they were cleaning an adjacent room
Whilst having my treatment. The changing rooms were immaculate and great choice of magazines in the relaxation lounge.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 1 year ago
Fabulous treatments and facilities. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The treatment rooms are very relaxing. I loved the hot stone massage.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 1 year ago
My mum and mother in law had a fantastic day, thank you to all the staff for making it so nice for them. They enjoyed it so much they are planning another visit sometime soon.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 1 year ago
Summary - some good treatments and nice bedroom. Some pleasant staff members but lots of disorganisation and disappointments. At times we felt like cogs in a money making machine.

The first disappointment was that although this was billed as a 20% off experience, we discovered upon arriving at the venue that the price we paid was exactly the same as their standard price for the package.

There was a disappointing lack of information given to us. We were only told when we arrived at the spa that it was shutting an hour early on Bank Holiday Monday, so we weren't able to use it on our first day, though we had planned for an hour there. We weren't told that dinner and lunch were only included on two of the three days until we got there. We had to ASK about what we were allowed for dinner and there was a £30 cap on what was included without extra cost, but we weren't told this until we asked. When we arrived we were shown the facilities available in the spa, but one of the rooms we were looking forward to using was unavailable for the whole duration of our stay due to that room being used as a spare tea room to make up for the fact that functions were occurring in the usual restaurant room.

Three times I was not served a breadroll with my meal although it was listed as being included in the menu, and once my salad was missing olives. Another time my Kir Royale was served in a wine glass (not too much of a problem really) and with a tiny amount of cassis. The lead member of staff apologised, after I spoke up about it, that his colleague wasn't experienced and didn't know how to make the drink properly. It was frustrating that I had to keep pointing out things that were missing as I like to keep a good atmosphere.

When in the spa I could see through one of the doors a whiteboard showing members of staff's daily targets for the amount of money they were aiming to earn. This was a little uncomfortable.

The second evening dinner was extremely compromised as there was a wedding held in the hotel earlier that day and the guests left far later than they intended. Our dinner were served very late, the members of staff were visibly exhausted, stressed and harassed and we didn't have candles or mood lighting or comfy chairs (which sounds like a small thing but considering what we were paying...). We were also privy to audible conversations between staff about the chaos of the evening which was not conducive to our relaxing evening. These should at least have been conducted out of ear shot of the guests.

On the other hand, our room was lovely. It was cleaned every day and the tea and biscuits refreshed. The shower was lovely and the french windows led onto a delightful terrace with table and chairs. The treatments were wonderful and those spa facilities which WERE available were good (the sauna, jet pool and jacuzzi). Some very nice members of staff were lovely and friendly, but others were less good at putting us at ease, especially with the problems that arose.

I would recommend doing your research about what will be going on at the hotel for the time of your stay and what you are entitled to before you decide to book.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent visit to Rookery Retreat and Spa. All feedback is important to us to ensure we are continually offering the best possible service to all our guests. I am pleased to hear that you were happy with your accommodation and the facilities that we have to offer at the spa.
I would like to take this opportunity to offer a response on some of the issues you have raised in your review. Unfortunately these points were not raised during your visit so we were unable to assist to help to rectify some of the more minor issues.
Firstly I would like to explain the confusion in regards to the discount advertised alongside the spa break. The discount represents the saving against booking the package individually (Room, Spa Treatments etc) which is why the price is the same as in our Spa Brochure. All of our Spa Days and Spa Breaks are discounted at the time of putting together.
I would like to apologise that you feel that you were not given the correct information in regards to Bank Holiday opening times, We do advertise Bank Holiday Opening times on our Website however I will look into this further to ensure that Wahanda are also giving the correct information to clients. Spa facilities are available from 9:00am on your Check In day through to 12:00pm on your Check Out day to ensure guests have as much time as possible to use the spa facilities.

(Continued in next Comment)

Report as inappropriate

1 year ago
(Continued from previous Comment)
From time to time we have pre-booked functions in the Iris Restaurant, during these times we use the Tranquillity Room as this is our smallest room and the area that usually causes the least disruption to spa guests, again I would like to apologise that you felt disappointed that you could not use this area of the spa, however all other areas of the spa where available during your stay including our large Relaxation Room with complementary Herbal Teas.
Our staff room is behind a door with frosted windows so I am unsure as to how this area was left exposed to you. I apologise if you were made to feel uncomfortable by the white board detailing therapist achievements over the last few months this is purely a motivation tool to encourage therapist performance as I am sure you can appreciate all businesses work to targets in order to run successfully and profitably in order to continue and grow.
Your comments regarding restaurant service and food will be passed onto the appropriate Department Manager to ensure that your comments are used in a productive manor to ensure we can continue to strive to deliver the high standard of customer service we aim for.
I can assure you that all your comments have been taken on board but do hope that we have given explanation to the issues raised in your review. We pride ourselves on Customer Service and as is clear from our previous review's these are not comments we come across often. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 1 year ago
My partner and I were looking forward to a relaxing few days away after a very busy few weeks in work.
Upon arrival there was a wedding taking place which obstructed the reception and we were unsure as to where we needed to go to check in. There was no staff to be found to help direct guests and we felt as though we were lost and unwelcome guests at a wedding.
Eventually, we found someone to check us in, and our room was beautiful.
We were not informed as to what we needed to to do next in relation to our time at the spa, simply given our room keys and sent on our way. When we got to the room we attempted to ring reception a number of times but to no avail.
We found our way to the spa and waited for instructions as to how we would collect our robes, get our treatment etc. Although the staff were very helpful, my partner and I both shared the opinion that we felt in the way and rushed, as all the staff seemed to be doing 3 jobs at once. This of course did not add to the 'stress-free' and relaxing atmosphere you would expect at a spa.
We both ordered our lunch at 2pm ready for 4pm when we both would have had our treatment. The lunch was great, however, due to the busy wedding we had to wait for 10 minutes to get cutlery after we had been brought our lunch.
We were both very excited to get to dinner, as we had viewed the menu online and in our rooms. Upon arriving at the Iris Resteraunt we realised that it was still full of party guests. Staff were running around frantically and no-one could tell us where we needed to go. Eventually, another couple informed us that the wedding party had run over and the restaurant was not available for dinner. At this point my partner and I were very hungry and annoyed. There were both spa and wedding guests everywhere, the place was a mess and no member of staff seemed to know what was happening.
We were eventually taken into another room and told that it was not the staff's fault and that we must wait. When we eventually were served our dinner, it was great. However, the whole evening was brought down by the constant noise of a hoover trying to tidy up the foyer, wedding guests coming in and room and the clearly stressed staff.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

1 year ago
Yes, we know exactly what you mean! It's good to know that other people shared the same experience. Our review is listed above yours.

Lucy

Report as inappropriate

1 year ago
We always appreciate feedback that can help us continually improve the service that we offer and I would like to thank you for taking the time to offer a review on your recent visit.
Unfortunately these points were not raised during your visit so we were unable to take action at the time.
All guests are important to us and I would like to apologise if you felt that this was not the case during your visit. Although not an excuse the event in question was on a much larger scale than we are used to, Your feedback will be looked into to ensure that future events held cause as little disruption to all guests as possible.
We do hope to welcome you back to Rookery Retreat and Spa in the future and can assure you that this is not feedback that we come across often.

Report as inappropriate