Treatwell: Beauty Salon Booking & Appointment App
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.1

208 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
The Spa at The Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
The Spa at The Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel,
Parkgate Road, Chester, Cheshire, CH66 9PB
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

The Spa at The Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel,
Parkgate Road, Chester, Cheshire, CH66 9PB
United Kingdom
A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.1

Chain rating

Based on 208 reviews

5 stars 96
4 stars 70
3 stars 27
2 stars 13
1 star 2
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Aerobics (3)
  • Aromatherapy Massage (14)
  • Back Facials (1)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (48)
  • Body Treatments (10)
  • Body Wraps (5)
  • Cellulite Treatments (1)
  • Classic Facials (83)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (72)
  • Facials - Men's (3)
  • Foot Massage (9)
  • Hot Stone Massage (23)
  • Indian Head Massage (1)
  • Ladies' Waxing (1)
  • Manicure (35)
  • Pedicure (33)
  • Rasul and Mud Treatments (11)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (60)
  • Swimming (51)
  • Therapeutic Massage (53)
Show more
Verified review Visited March 2018
Posted 2 months ago
Spa facilities are lovely. It’s a really nice environment.
However the massage treatments aren’t that long and despite trying to book longer I was unable to even though I was also staying at the hotel.
During the massage I asked for it to be relaxing and therefore not too much pressure. At one point I think I squealed because it was so hard!

Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited March 2018
Posted 2 months ago
Fantastic value, staff were amazing. Breakfast in bed was great. Spa was lovely.

Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2018
Posted 2 months ago
Not a relaxing experience. Only one person to book in a line of people. The waiting area where the therapists collected us was packed. Difficult to move through the group. The Garden Room where water and fruit was available was littered with dirty glasses. The hot water flask for fruit tea was empty. There were no clean glasses for cold water. The apples were the driest I ve ever tasted. There were at least 4 tables waiting for afternoon tea, and we did wait because there was only one man to serve these tables, make the pots of tea and make coffee for the queue of people who just wanted a drink. The promised prosecco did not arrive inspite of being requested. The ladies shower room in the spa is very disappointing. The one shower had at least 4 old shampoo containers left on the floor in the cubicle. There was no shampoo provided and it was very cold. When I left at 4pm, the bistro area was empty but every table was littered with dirty crockery and cutlery. This was not a luxurious spa day. The treatments were excellent but the rest of the spa was scruffy. Too many people had been booked in for the staff available

Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2018
Posted 2 months ago
Great visit, lovely spa with great facililities. Got the deal online and was excellent value. The cream tea was delicious! We had the Rasul Mud treatment and it was the best we’ve had- beautiful smelling products.

Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2018
Posted 2 months ago
On arrival having driven 60 miles I was told we could not have all the 3 treatments we had booked and that only 1 was available which I find disappointing as I was not given any prior notice despite having talked to the Spa the day before. That said the staff were very apologetic and the offer of a full replacement along side the lesser offer on the day made up for any disappointment.
Everything else was really good apart from the Afternoon tea which was very poor, we are both Vegan and I did make this clear when I spoke to them the day before and in an email so what was offered was well below my expectations looking at the non vegetarian option and looked completely ad hoc with no pre planning.

Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel