Treatwell
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free Treatwell app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.2

143 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
The Spa at The Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
The Spa at The Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel,
Parkgate Road, Ledsham, Chester, CH66 9PB
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

The Spa at The Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel,
Parkgate Road, Ledsham, Chester, CH66 9PB
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.2

Chain rating

Based on 143 reviews

5 stars 66
4 stars 53
3 stars 15
2 stars 8
1 star 1
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Back Facials (1)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (31)
  • Body Treatments (9)
  • Cellulite Treatments (1)
  • Rasul and Mud Treatments (9)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (52)
  • Face
  • Facials (53)
  • Facials - Men's (2)
  • Fitness
  • Aerobics (3)
  • Swimming (43)
  • Hair removal
  • Waxing (1)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (3)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (64)
  • Hot Stone Massage (20)
  • Indian Head Massage (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (26)
  • Nails
  • Manicure (27)
  • Pedicure (24)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited March 2016
Posted 4 months ago
Lovely hotel. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Restaurant staff efficient and welcoming. Treatments were relaxing and professional.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited March 2016
Posted 4 months ago
I went for a Escape Relax & Refresh Spa Day and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited March 2016
Posted 5 months ago
I went for a One Night Rejuvenate Spa Break and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited March 2016
Posted 5 months ago
Me and my mum came here for a relax and refresh spa day as a treat for her birthday, and we were more than impressed! The decor throughout is absolutely stunning i wanted to take all the furnishings home with me!! Our spa day included lunch and although the menu was very small it was a nice selection and was a lovely light lunch that made us feel rejuvenated rather than stuffed. The glass of fizz was a great way to celebrate my mums birthday too! And it was lovely sitting overlooking the pool and open space behind the building. My only niggle would be that when I rang after I made the booking I was told I could choose the treatments we wanted on the day, which was ideal because it was a surprise for my mum and I wasn't telling her until the morning the we were going however when we got there they had booked us in for our treatments anyway. I explained that to the lady and she was extremely nice and apologetic and offered to see if we could swap our treatments but we did not bother, and thoroughly enjoyed the treatments we had none the less! Overall this experience was an absolute delight, it was the perfect day for my mum to relax and everyone was so nice. I must also say Jess who did my massage and facial was ever so friendly and the facial was unbelievable. Could have happily lay there for days. We will definitely be returning and would most definitely recommend this gorgeous spa!!!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2016
Posted 5 months ago
I went for a One Night Rejuvenate Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2016
Posted 6 months ago
This was my second visit to Craxton Wood and it was as good as I remembered. The spa is new and modern, the food was lovely (service is a little slow but we were relaxed so didn't mind), and the staff were very friendly. The two relaxation rooms are a highlight, we spent ages snuggled under blankets reading. There's no jacuzzi but the pool is a decent size so you can have a proper swim. My massage was also very good. I've already booked my next visit - an overnighter this time.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2016
Posted 6 months ago
Really lovely spa, better than expected. Very clean and good treatments.
Two course meal that was included was also nice and good value overall.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2016
Posted 4 months ago
I booked the spa as a treat for my husbands birthday as a surprise. Firstly, I would like to say we really enjoyed your facilities, they were of a very good standard and very clean.

However, my husband was very disappointed with his massage. My husband was really looking forward to his massage. Steph was his therapist, we both completed forms regarding our skin and firmness of massage, my husband asked for firm to very firm pressure. My husband during the massage asked Steph on two occasions to be firm and to go deeper with the massage and she did not. My husband in the end thought that there was no point in telling her again.

Later on that afternoon we were asked how our day was going so my husband mentioned that he was a little disappointed with his massage. I wouldn't normally give the feedback as I felt that there was no point due to the therapist being the manager but the receptionist was adamant that all feedback is good.

I would not have normally have said anything but due to it being my husbands birthday I feel really disappointed for him as my massage was great. I would have gone to a different spa if I had known that the massage would not have been satisfactory I would not have come for the day. On a positive note my massage was with Hayley and it was truly amazing, she listened to all my concerns and worked really hard to ensure that all my knots were taken out.

In addition to all the above I have emailed all the above to the leisure manager on two occasions after being given the email address and I have still not received a response. We visited on 1st Feb 2016, due to not receiving a response I felt I was not given any other option but to leave this review.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 6 months ago
I went for a One Night Rejuvenate Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 6 months ago
The venue was beautiful and naturally relaxing. The back massage was not 30 minutes. I was in there for just about 20 and everything felt very rushed. My friend had a facial and said that was great though. We both had a manicure, the polish came off my nails the next day so i was not impressed with that. Very clean, some facilities like one of the foot spas was broken. The food is very pricey so i would suggest you try and get a package that includes something. I would perhaps return but most certainly have different treatments. Have been to much better spas!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 6 months ago
I went for a Thermal Experience and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 6 months ago
I went for a One Night Indulge and Revitalise Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 6 months ago
me and my friend went for a teat and we arrived at 9.30am and left at 7.30pm we had two treatments and had an absolutely lovely day thank you.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 7 months ago
I went for a Girls Day Out Spa Day and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 7 months ago
This was bought as a birthday surprise for my mum, we had a fantastic girly day. The day started with a tour of the facilities, then we spent a few hours enjoying all of the thermal spa and swimming pool (aroma steam room, sauna, foot spa, ice) we had arrived on a quiet day so had the facilities all to our selves our own private spa. Next we had lunch which was two courses of our choosing there was only a small selection to choose from but adequate. After lunch we spent a some time in the tranquility room to relax before going for our treatments. The treatments were 5 star our therapists were extreamly skilled and very attentive. Then it was off to the garden room for some fruit tea/ water and fruit. An amazing day will definitely be booking again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 8 months ago
I went for a Pink Friday Exclusive 50% off Spa Day Incl. 2 Treatments and Lunch and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 8 months ago
I went here for a birthday treat with my sister and couldn't fault it. The spa has recently has a re-furb & is great. The facilities are brilliant with lots of rooms & sauna's/steam rooms/showers/foot spas to try which are just for the use of spa guests, sharing the pool with the hotel guests. I had the back massage & file & polish which were great & the staff really friendly. Lunch & a glass of fizz were included & were great value, we were that full we had to wait awhile before swimming!! Would definitely recommend it. Great value for money!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 8 months ago
I went for a Dreamy Rasul Spa Day and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 7 months ago
Six of us enjoyed a perfect spa day. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable and everywhere was immaculate. We were also given robes , slippers and lockers for the day at no extra charge.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 9 months ago
My friend & I boked our spa day last minute for a girlie carch-up. We had an amazing time very relaxing the back massage was heaven, the staff were very friendly & helpful all day, we managed to switch off & totally relax. Good value for money would definately return. My only grumble is that tea/coffee are very expensive.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel