Treatwell
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free Treatwell app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.3

129 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel,
Parkgate Road, Ledsham, Chester, CH66 9PB
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel,
Parkgate Road, Ledsham, Chester, CH66 9PB
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.3

Chain rating

Based on 129 reviews

5 stars 62
4 stars 46
3 stars 15
2 stars 5
1 star 1
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Backcials (1)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (25)
  • Body Treatments (7)
  • Cellulite Treatments (1)
  • Heat Treatments (5)
  • Rasul and Mud Treatments (6)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (47)
  • Face
  • Eye Treatments (1)
  • Facials (45)
  • Men's Facial (2)
  • Fitness
  • Aerobics (3)
  • Swimming (38)
  • Hair removal
  • Waxing (1)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (3)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (56)
  • Indian Head Massage (1)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (17)
  • Therapeutic Massage (22)
  • Nails
  • Manicure (24)
  • Pedicure (21)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 3 months ago
This was bought as a birthday surprise for my mum, we had a fantastic girly day. The day started with a tour of the facilities, then we spent a few hours enjoying all of the thermal spa and swimming pool (aroma steam room, sauna, foot spa, ice) we had arrived on a quiet day so had the facilities all to our selves our own private spa. Next we had lunch which was two courses of our choosing there was only a small selection to choose from but adequate. After lunch we spent a some time in the tranquility room to relax before going for our treatments. The treatments were 5 star our therapists were extreamly skilled and very attentive. Then it was off to the garden room for some fruit tea/ water and fruit. An amazing day will definitely be booking again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 4 months ago
I went for a Pink Friday Exclusive 50% off Spa Day Incl. 2 Treatments and Lunch and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 4 months ago
I went here for a birthday treat with my sister and couldn't fault it. The spa has recently has a re-furb & is great. The facilities are brilliant with lots of rooms & sauna's/steam rooms/showers/foot spas to try which are just for the use of spa guests, sharing the pool with the hotel guests. I had the back massage & file & polish which were great & the staff really friendly. Lunch & a glass of fizz were included & were great value, we were that full we had to wait awhile before swimming!! Would definitely recommend it. Great value for money!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 4 months ago
I went for a Dreamy Rasul Spa Day and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 3 months ago
Six of us enjoyed a perfect spa day. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable and everywhere was immaculate. We were also given robes , slippers and lockers for the day at no extra charge.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 5 months ago
My friend & I boked our spa day last minute for a girlie carch-up. We had an amazing time very relaxing the back massage was heaven, the staff were very friendly & helpful all day, we managed to switch off & totally relax. Good value for money would definately return. My only grumble is that tea/coffee are very expensive.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 5 months ago
I went for a One Night Celebration Spa Escape and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 5 months ago
A very busy venue, staff unable to give an attentive service, treatments booked for 3pm arrived at venue around 12 got checked in with out too much hassle then sat down at table to complete forms and forgotten about. Around 1pm we must of ordered food, had to ask for a drink as none was offered even though included in the price, leisure manager did apologies at the time. After we eat and now 2pm went to find staff to ask if we could use leisure facilities, leisure manager apologised for having to wait so long and offered us both a free glass of wine after treatments. However by the time we had our treatments and returned the leisure manager was not there. Spa facilities were however very good and the therapist also very good. I did enjoy the day feeling relaxed but slightly annoyed due to the fact from the point of arriving to the point of leaving I had to chase staff a number of times for what I would call the basics of customer care.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 5 months ago
very good nice time

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 5 months ago
What a lovely spa day! Perfect from start to finish, so many facilities to choose from, staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for you a part from one lady on reception who didn't smile once although they did seem slightly understaffed. Rasul treatment was lovely, something a bit "different" from the usual massage my partner and I have. Lunch was ok, not much choice so we both had soup from the starters with extra bread. I left my necklace in my dressing gown pocket and they went out of their way to look for it after I left which was really nice, they found it for me too!! Such good customer service. Would return tomorrow without a doubt - so relaxing - keep up the good work guys!! X

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 5 months ago
Rasul treatment wasnt what we expected, as would have been good to know it wasnt a staff administered treatment like you expect at a spa. Extra facial treatments we booked were amazing as usual though, the elemis trained staff are great here!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

5 months ago
Dear Hazel,
Thank you for taking your time to review our spa venue. I hope that the rasul mud treatment was throughly enjoyable for yourself and your guest. I am pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations with our spa therapists and will be passing on your wonderful comments to the team.
Manny thanks,
Stephanie Parry.
Spa manager.

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 5 months ago
Great value for money,
Beautiful spa facilities, and spacious rooms.
Delicious 3 course evening meal, and breakfast the next day!
Shame about the service in the spa diner.
1 person serving for a full restaurant. Long wait for food and it was an awful wrap as well.
Apart from that hiccup it was an enjoyable weekend.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

5 months ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to review our venue. I am disappointed to hear that our spa food service was not up to satisfactory standards that we as a company strive to meet at all times, I will be passing on your comments to our head chef and hope that this will not effect your decision in returning to our venue.
Best wishes,
Stephanie Parry.
Spa manager.

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 6 months ago
I got the overnight rejuvenating spa experience - The hotel was beautiful. We got a room with a lovely view of the grounds. The reception staff were very polite and told us where everything was. Once we'd checked in, we went to the spa. The new girl on the reception was very polite. She got us to sign our consultations and then showed us around the pool and told us exactly what to do. Then it was massage time - my back massage was actually a good one. The therapist was an older lady who was very polite and asked me questions and built a rapport before starting the treatment. She also asked me about the pressure and if it was ok before proceeding. However, my husband's therapist was a little short young girl who didn't really speak to him at all or ask him anything about how he would like the massage. She also gave a lot of nasty looks afterwards and had a face like thunder so not a nice person at all. The chef at the spa was so polite!! I loved him! Everything else about the spa was great but wished it had a jacuzzi as that was the only thing missing. Overall a great stay. We had to have the vegetarian option at the hotel as nothing was halal so the food wasn't the greatest but we expected that because the vegetarian stuff was limited. I would recommend this stay to everyone.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

5 months ago
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time to review our venue. I will most certainly to be pleased to pass on your wonderful comments to Mike from our spa food and beverage team. I am please to hear that you were thrilled with your spa experience and therapist, as for your husbands massage I will be looking into the matter and address this with my team to ensure that this will not impact on and future spa visits. I hope to see you again in the near future.
Best wishes,
Stephanie Parry
Spa manager.

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 6 months ago
I visited the MacDonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa with a group of friends. The staff are amazing, the spa facilities are some of the best I've ever seen and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. I booked the One Night Rejuvenate Spa package, which included a 30 minute spa treatment, three course evening meal, overnight stay in a twin room and breakfast the next morning. We absolutely loved it! The staff couldn't be more professional or accommodating. The only issue I had was my manicure was dreadful and I had to remove the nail varnish up in my room before dinner. My friends however, raved about their treatments including the body glow scrum, back massage and facial. I raised the issue with my manicure the next day and received brilliant customer service and an immediate refund. I'd definitely go there again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

5 months ago
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time to write us such a wonderful review, I am pleased to hear that you were happy with the way the spa staff dealt with your disappointment with your manicure treatment and glad to hear that this did not impact on a return visit, we look forward to welcoming you back at the spa in the near future.

Thanks again,
Stephanie Parry
Spa manager.

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 6 months ago
Positive, nice bar area, lunch was lovely, facial was great, robes, towels and slippers provided, cannot knock venue beautiful grounds and hotel, ambience of the place was good plus relaxation areas were nice, fresh fruit, water and tea provided. Overall not a bad day enjoyed parts but due to a few negatives probably would not visit again. Massage felt rushed and only lasted 20 minutes instead of 30, showers did not work there was no water it had been turned off whilst we were in the thermal room, steam room did not seem to be working properly did not feel hot at all perhaps due to the water being turned off, foot spa when operated gave off a bad drain smell which was off-putting, pool felt cold and there was only one shower in the changing room which mean't my sister had to wait in damp clothes whilst I showered first.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 6 months ago
Very busy particularly at lunchtime and early afternoon
Only one main waiter at lunch for over 40!
Felt that far too many allowed for comfort by the hotel

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 6 months ago
I went for a One Night Indulge and Revitalise Spa Break and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 6 months ago
Need a Jacuzzi but thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Would recommend but need to do it on some kind of deal because evening meals are quire expensive although are very nice!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 6 months ago
Took my daughter and her friend for a overnight stay for her birthday as a surprise , we all had a hot stones massage , all were done different by each therapist but still enjoyable , hotel room was very nice , with fruit and a bottle of prosseco in , the evening meal was lovely and the service was excellent , we had two more guest join us and we were given an other glass of prosseco free , we would definitely stay again and would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and spa .

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 7 months ago
The spa and hotel were all amazing however massive let down with the food spa menu ok if you like salmon (7 items on it 3 of them salmon) the food and service in the restaurant was disappointing food cold and un cooked risotto service was very slow

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel