Treatwell: Beauty Salon Booking & Appointment App
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.4

199 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
The Spa at The Mere Golf Resort & Spa
The Spa at The Mere Golf Resort & Spa
Chester Road,
Mere, Knutsford, WA16 6LJ
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

The Spa at The Mere Golf Resort & Spa
Chester Road,
Mere, Knutsford, WA16 6LJ
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.4

Venue rating

Based on 199 reviews

5 stars 120
4 stars 51
3 stars 20
2 stars 4
1 star 4
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Body Treatments (15)
  • Body Wraps (1)
  • Rasul and Mud Treatments (83)
  • Spray Tanning and Sunless Tanning (1)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (99)
  • Face
  • Facials (88)
  • Fitness
  • Swimming (36)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (77)
  • Indian Head Massage (9)
  • Swedish Massage (5)
  • Therapeutic Massage (23)
  • Nails
  • Manicure (1)
  • Pedicure (2)
Show more
Verified review Visited October 2016
Posted 4 months ago
Very enjoyable and relaxing

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2016
Posted 4 months ago
We love our trip here we we will be defiantly returning.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2016
Posted 4 months ago
A very enjoyable spa day, the massage was first class. Just a little disappointed with the food, the 2 courses used to have be a choice of starter or dessert but now is only main and dessert which isn't what we wanted.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2016
Posted 4 months ago
I went for a Luxury Spa Day for Two and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2016
Posted 4 months ago
A bit of confusion with contradictory email confirmations regarding treatment times but eventually sorted.
Staff all very friendly and welcoming throughout.
Great treatments and facilities, although the aroma steam room was closed for maintenance and the experience showers didn't seem to be working properly.
My only real complaint is the time it took to be served in the restaurant. This was the same issue last time I went. The staff are working their socks off, but clearly need more people serving and in the kitchen. It took 1 1/4 hours to be served a set 2-course meal.
But overall a lovely day and I would certainly go back with a deal, although I'd hesitate to pay full price.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2016
Posted 5 months ago
The Spa is luxurious and we were well looked after with complimentary drinks and sorbet. The massage was divine! The health club facilities are excellent. I enjoyed every part of my spa day. The fixed menu for lunch was very limited and of average quality.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2016
Posted 5 months ago
I went for a Luxury Spa Day for Two and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2016
Posted 2 months ago
Excellent..... Welcoming, relaxing and great value too.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2016
Posted 5 months ago
I went for a One Night Break Spa Break and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2016
Posted 5 months ago
I went for a Luxury Spa Day for Two and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2016
Posted 5 months ago
I went for a One Night Pamper Break and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2016
Posted 5 months ago
Good but not Excellent. Pool and thermal areas a touch too crowded, staff are disorganised and sloppy. However the therapists were very good as were the treatments. Food in the spa lounge and bar was excellent but the service was poor.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2016
Posted 5 months ago
We booked a spa day for two and had a 1 hour treatment each. We also dined in the spa lounge, ordering off the menu rather than the two course lunch or afternoon tea. It was an excellent day overall but could be so much better if The Mere would employ decent staff on proper salaries. The Mere charge enough so the fact that you feel the service and general organisation is worse than the minimum standard you'd expect from a Travel lodge is disappointing.

For example, on arrival at the spa we were given a standard questionaire to fill in which we promptly did and handed back and told to wait. We then enquired about getting a drink fully expecting someone to explain to us about the facilities, where things were etc. But it took for us to prompt them for them then to just sort of throw the robes and slippers at us and point us in the direction of the changing rooms. The theme of the day is "ask and you'll find out", however for the money I would have expected more professional organised service.
If we'd known (ie had they explained) there is actually a poolside drinks service whereby you can use the telephone inside the pool area to order drinks from the menus that are positioned next to each lounger, and we would have taken our first drink by the pool rather than the bar. There is also a free to use water dispenser by the pool and cups, again we found out about this ourselves. We even had to figure out how to get from the changing rooms to the pool ourselves (you must come out of the changing rooms into the reception area and turn right). There also aren't enough loungers for the amount of people and quite a lot of "towel reserving" going on which was frustrating.
Calling to prebook treatment times was an absolute nightmare as the girl had no idea what she was doing so it wasn't a surprise when one of us was called at the wrong time for our treatment. The treatment themselves were very good however. I had the Mere signature facial and my partner the city stress busted massage. We both felt the girls giving the treatments were well trained and organised. As well as our seperate treatments we had 2 25 minute treatments booked together in a twin treatment room. Between us we had the leg reviver, the back neck and shoulder massage and the facial, again all excellent and a lovely experience.
We took lunch in the spa lounge and again found the service shocking. We twice had to ask for menus, the girl serving us had no clue about what the house salad contained or about the existence of the fruit cocktails (the drinks menu on the website was different to the one in the bar, as were the prices on the beer and lager), and it took 45 minutes for a sharing antipasto board to arrive. The food was excellent however, and the ingredients are clearly high quality. It's therefore such a shame it's let down by employing people on £5 an hour to serve it and not training them properly.
After lunch we found the "thermal zone" (located at the bottom of the pool area) and used the pool and jacuzzi. Each room could only hold 3 or 4 people comfortabley so could feel a little crowded but that's a pretty minor gripe. Again the lounger towel hogging was a bit of an issue. I also wish we'd known about the chilling room where they take you after your treatment sooner as we might have used these for a little longer, but again that was another example of the service letting the whole experience down.
I will probably return, especially now knowing a little more about what to expect and where to go but it would have been nice to feel a little more "cared for" on the day!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2016
Posted 5 months ago
Major roadworks on the main road outside the Mere made it very hard to find the entrance as not signed from the opposite side of the road and impossible to spot in between the queuing lorries so we had to go 5 miles round the block to get back to it to avoid the queues and still had to go in the exit way as we couldn't see the entrance the second time around.

Once there all very nice and lovely treatment, certainly needed to relax after the journey!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2016
Posted 5 months ago
I went for a One Night Deluxe Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2016
Posted 6 months ago
Had a lovely day, very relaxed. My daughter left her necklace in her dressing gown pocket, and Sheri, a member of staff, went above and beyond in helping us find it, thank you. We will definately be back.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2016
Posted 6 months ago
I booked this as a birthday present for my fiance. On arriving in the spa we felt instantly relaxed and ready to unwind. The treatment room was peaceful and we were greeted by two lovely therapists. Hayley did a great massage and gave useful feedback after my facial and advised how to keep my skin healthy. The afternoon tea was just right and the service was speedy and efficient. The spa facilities were clean, well maintained and offered a variety of experiences. I particularly enjoyed the heated loungers! We had a wonderful spa day here and are looking forward to our next visit. We have already recommended The Mere to our friends and parents.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2016
Posted 6 months ago
I went for a Luxury Spa Day for Two and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2016
Posted 6 months ago
Thank you we had a lovely Time

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2016
Posted 6 months ago
Excellent hotel. Food very good in the club lounge, although the menu we were given was not the one on the hotel web-site. Breakfast also very good but as the tables were not cleared quick enough we were seated in a small dark function room at the rear of the restaurant - not the same atmosphere as the bright sunny restaurant. Room very comfortable. Spa has a super range of 'sauna' rooms and hydro pool is great. Bar service in the spa a bonus. Would recommend.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel