Treatwell: Beauty Salon Booking & Appointment App
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.3

206 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
The Spa at The Mere Golf Resort & Spa
The Spa at The Mere Golf Resort & Spa
Chester Road,
Mere, Knutsford, WA16 6LJ
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

The Spa at The Mere Golf Resort & Spa
Chester Road,
Mere, Knutsford, WA16 6LJ
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.3

Venue rating

Based on 206 reviews

5 stars 124
4 stars 53
3 stars 20
2 stars 4
1 star 5
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Body Treatments (20)
  • Body Wraps (1)
  • Rasul and Mud Treatments (85)
  • Spray Tanning and Sunless Tanning (1)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (100)
  • Face
  • Facials (92)
  • Fitness
  • Swimming (36)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (79)
  • Indian Head Massage (10)
  • Swedish Massage (6)
  • Therapeutic Massage (25)
  • Nails
  • Manicure (1)
  • Pedicure (2)
Show more
Verified review Visited December 2016
Posted 3 months ago
Had a really lovely spa day at The Mere with three of my friends. We booked the Moment of Bliss spa day, which included a 25-min treatment and afternoon tea. I was a bit nervous after reading some of the negative reviews on here, but our experience was brilliant. Our treatments were excellent, the pool area was relaxed and quiet with plenty of seating/loungers. The best part was realising we could order and drink prosecco by the pool!! The facilities were immaculate and there were two cleaners there all day making sure everything was as it should be. The afternoon tea was pleasant and a good size. The only hiccup came later in the day when my friend booked an extra treatment (20% off if you're already there for a spa day) and they mixed up the timings so she had to wait for an hour. It was a pedicure and she wasn't that happy with it, but it could be because it was a bit rushed due to the mix up. The staff were apologetic and had been really helpful and friendly all day. We agreed we'd all definitely go back in a heartbeat!

Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2016
Posted 4 months ago
It was a lovely day! The treatments and staff were fantastic.

Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2016
Posted 4 months ago
Thoroughly enjoyed our spa evening, very relaxing.The only snag was that the twilight spa came with a platter for 2 and the spa restaurant closes at 5.30, so the staff at Mere were not aware of this deal including food.
It wasn't an issue as we ate over in the club lounge. Food was excellent.

Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2016
Posted 4 months ago
THe meal was disappointing a long wait and couscous had a bad smell, I had a bad tummy the day after.
Loved the spa facilities and the treatments were excellent.

Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2016
Posted 4 months ago
They had changed the 2 course meal we were expecting to a 3 course one which was smaller & less options without paying extra. The staff in the kitchen were then rude when I queried the noodles being completely plain when they were supposed to have a Pad Thai sauce with them. We heard them in the kitchen talking about us. Overall we were very disappointed with the dining experience & the spa facilities need some decorating. There is mould in the showers, the steam room in the changing rooms is fairl disgusting really too. The whole changing room area & showers were unclean & needed mopping. I wouldn't return again.

Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2016
Posted 4 months ago
I went for a Moment of Bliss Spa Day and have awarded it 5 stars.

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2016
Posted 5 months ago
We didn't feel that "special" from the moment we arrived. The receptionist was pleasant but treated us like we knew exactly what we were doing (which wasn't the case) and felt she was too busy to help us so we worked things out ourselves. It was evident that the forms we filled out weren't passed on to the Spa staff either as later we were asked again to state our medical conditions etc which was fine but just seemed a waste of time.

When we went into the spa the staff were huddled around chatting and didn't greet us. We didn't know where to go so waited in the quiet room but were ignored a few times until I got up to ask that we were definitely in the right place. As we seemed to be interrupting the staff from chatting, we felt like we were an annoyance, rather than feeling like we'd paid a decent amount of money to be pampered.

The Rasul Mid treatment was misleading (neither of us knew we'd be doing this to ourselves), so again this lead to us feeling disappointed as it was one of the main reasons we chose the Mere over other spa offers. The member of staff that took us through the instructions seemed to be rushing through the directions of the DIY treatment in the same way the receptionist seemed to want to get rid of us. Nevertheless, we made the most of it and our skin felt wonderful afterwards. The steam room lighting and showers were not working properly which was a bit rubbish.

We were then taken to have our chosen 30 min treatments which we both thoroughly enjoyed.

Unfortunately the feeling of relaxation was over quickly when we were lead to the 'relaxation room' where my 60year old mother was asked to sit on a bean bag because there weren't any loungers available. There was only four available in the room to be fair but ridiculous to have so few beds when you are able to welcome that many people in for spa days/treatments. You can't really relax on a plastic beanbag, feeling like a spare part - what a joke! We were then left with our sorbets on the bean bags. There was no communication about what we should do next or a request for feedback. Again we weren't made to feel special or that our custom was appreciated.

The lunch was fantastic though and a highlight of the day (thankfully!).

The pool area was very nice however all the rooms (steam room/sauna etc) were generally too busy to use. What made up for this was the fact you could order drinks to the pool - a lovely touch!

All in all I wouldn't go to the Mere again for a spa day after this experience, we both felt a bit shortchanged and disappointed.

I was comparing this whole experience to the Quay Spa Hotel in Llandudno, Wales. I'd been to the spa there the previous weekend and spent £65 (far less than I was paying for the Mere package) and received a VIP welcome, 50 minute treatment, afternoon tea and full use of their spa facilities. The relaxation room didn't have any bean bags but about 16 loungers and a very relaxing atmosphere. It was much better value for money and we felt really special and pampered there.

Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2016
Posted 5 months ago
Very enjoyable and relaxing

Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2016
Posted 5 months ago
We love our trip here we we will be defiantly returning.

Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2016
Posted 5 months ago
A very enjoyable spa day, the massage was first class. Just a little disappointed with the food, the 2 courses used to have be a choice of starter or dessert but now is only main and dessert which isn't what we wanted.

Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2016
Posted 5 months ago
I went for a Luxury Spa Day for Two and have awarded it 3 stars.

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2016
Posted 5 months ago
A bit of confusion with contradictory email confirmations regarding treatment times but eventually sorted.
Staff all very friendly and welcoming throughout.
Great treatments and facilities, although the aroma steam room was closed for maintenance and the experience showers didn't seem to be working properly.
My only real complaint is the time it took to be served in the restaurant. This was the same issue last time I went. The staff are working their socks off, but clearly need more people serving and in the kitchen. It took 1 1/4 hours to be served a set 2-course meal.
But overall a lovely day and I would certainly go back with a deal, although I'd hesitate to pay full price.

Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2016
Posted 6 months ago
The Spa is luxurious and we were well looked after with complimentary drinks and sorbet. The massage was divine! The health club facilities are excellent. I enjoyed every part of my spa day. The fixed menu for lunch was very limited and of average quality.

Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2016
Posted 6 months ago
I went for a Luxury Spa Day for Two and have awarded it 5 stars.

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2016
Posted 3 months ago
Excellent..... Welcoming, relaxing and great value too.

Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2016
Posted 6 months ago
I went for a One Night Break Spa Break and have awarded it 5 stars.

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2016
Posted 6 months ago
I went for a Luxury Spa Day for Two and have awarded it 5 stars.

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2016
Posted 6 months ago
I went for a One Night Pamper Break and have awarded it 5 stars.

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2016
Posted 6 months ago
Good but not Excellent. Pool and thermal areas a touch too crowded, staff are disorganised and sloppy. However the therapists were very good as were the treatments. Food in the spa lounge and bar was excellent but the service was poor.

Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2016
Posted 6 months ago
We booked a spa day for two and had a 1 hour treatment each. We also dined in the spa lounge, ordering off the menu rather than the two course lunch or afternoon tea. It was an excellent day overall but could be so much better if The Mere would employ decent staff on proper salaries. The Mere charge enough so the fact that you feel the service and general organisation is worse than the minimum standard you'd expect from a Travel lodge is disappointing.

For example, on arrival at the spa we were given a standard questionaire to fill in which we promptly did and handed back and told to wait. We then enquired about getting a drink fully expecting someone to explain to us about the facilities, where things were etc. But it took for us to prompt them for them then to just sort of throw the robes and slippers at us and point us in the direction of the changing rooms. The theme of the day is "ask and you'll find out", however for the money I would have expected more professional organised service.
If we'd known (ie had they explained) there is actually a poolside drinks service whereby you can use the telephone inside the pool area to order drinks from the menus that are positioned next to each lounger, and we would have taken our first drink by the pool rather than the bar. There is also a free to use water dispenser by the pool and cups, again we found out about this ourselves. We even had to figure out how to get from the changing rooms to the pool ourselves (you must come out of the changing rooms into the reception area and turn right). There also aren't enough loungers for the amount of people and quite a lot of "towel reserving" going on which was frustrating.
Calling to prebook treatment times was an absolute nightmare as the girl had no idea what she was doing so it wasn't a surprise when one of us was called at the wrong time for our treatment. The treatment themselves were very good however. I had the Mere signature facial and my partner the city stress busted massage. We both felt the girls giving the treatments were well trained and organised. As well as our seperate treatments we had 2 25 minute treatments booked together in a twin treatment room. Between us we had the leg reviver, the back neck and shoulder massage and the facial, again all excellent and a lovely experience.
We took lunch in the spa lounge and again found the service shocking. We twice had to ask for menus, the girl serving us had no clue about what the house salad contained or about the existence of the fruit cocktails (the drinks menu on the website was different to the one in the bar, as were the prices on the beer and lager), and it took 45 minutes for a sharing antipasto board to arrive. The food was excellent however, and the ingredients are clearly high quality. It's therefore such a shame it's let down by employing people on £5 an hour to serve it and not training them properly.
After lunch we found the "thermal zone" (located at the bottom of the pool area) and used the pool and jacuzzi. Each room could only hold 3 or 4 people comfortabley so could feel a little crowded but that's a pretty minor gripe. Again the lounger towel hogging was a bit of an issue. I also wish we'd known about the chilling room where they take you after your treatment sooner as we might have used these for a little longer, but again that was another example of the service letting the whole experience down.
I will probably return, especially now knowing a little more about what to expect and where to go but it would have been nice to feel a little more "cared for" on the day!

Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel