Treatwell
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free Treatwell app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.6

151 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Book now
Please select the service you’d like to book.
That Hair Place
That Hair Place
143 Green Lanes,
Stoke Newington, London, N16 9DA
United Kingdom

Hair Salon

That Hair Place
143 Green Lanes,
Stoke Newington, London, N16 9DA
United Kingdom

Opening hours

Mon - Thur 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Fri 9:00 am - 7:00 pm
Sat 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Sun 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

That Hair Place   Off-peak
This venue offers discounts on off-peak appointments.

That Hair Place, found at the heart of up and coming Newington Green. Experience the latest hair styles by our hair stylists and enjoy a complimentary drink (coffee, wine, beer, freshly squeezed juice) or fruit, and be mesmerised by our décor.

See more

Services

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews (written by customers after their visit)

4.6

Venue rating

Based on 151 reviews

5 stars 99
4 stars 36
3 stars 12
2 stars 2
1 star 2
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Face
  • Eyebrow Waxing (1)
  • Hair
  • Balayage (12)
  • Blow Dry (10)
  • Hair Colouring and Highlights Treatments (31)
  • Hair Conditioning and Scalp Treatments (5)
  • Haircuts and Hairdressing (64)
  • Men's Haircuts and Hairdressing (35)
  • Permanent Waves (2)
  • Massage
  • Deep Tissue Massage (1)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited February 2016
Posted 1 day ago
Always so cool and friendly.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2016
Posted 3 days ago

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 1 week ago

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 1 week ago
I love That Hair Place, the staff are always really nice and make it a great experience. I also had a great conditioning treatment there and my hair feels amazing after it.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 2 weeks ago

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 2 weeks ago
I had a Men's Haircut and Finish and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 2 weeks ago
That Hair Place is always a fantastic experience - the staff are very friendly yet professional and it's great to be offered a drink or two on arrival. Klaudia's give a very meticulous and thoughtful cut and spent plenty of time explaining her thinking and checking everything was ok. Thanks again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 2 weeks ago
Let me start by saying this is my third visit to this salon. I had previously been really impressed with the colour and service I recieved from Anita and have left very positive reviews on here. I have just left the salon from my latest appointment and am really disappointed.

Firstly on arrival my colourist tutted at the condition of my hair ( my hair is quite badly damaged) if this had been said in a constructive way or sympathetic I would have been fine but it just made me feel embarrassed. She asked me how to apply my highlights (vertical vs horizontal and whether bleach, colour or toner was used) this was after referring to my colour card at the salon, so not the most reassuring question to be asked.

At no point did she ask me what I was looking for from my visit or colour. I wasn't offered a drink until 40 mins in to my appointment, when the other stylist offered her client a refill. My coffee arrived cold. The next hour a mix of dance and drum n bass played loudly in the salon, I don't mind either genre but not the best for an early Saturday morning appointment.
Whilst applying my colour the stylist asked "why don't you just apply one colour instead of damaging my hair with highlights" not the best question when we are halfway through highlights. Coincidentally that was the only conversation the stylist made.

Obviously none of these things will make or break a hair salon appointment the most important thing is the result.

After washing my highlights off I was bought back to the chair, my hair was partially dried and the stylist started to apply toner to my hair. I asked why toner was being applied to dry hair. The stylist said that it makes no difference, I said I have never had this before and she said 'fine come to the sink'. At this point I was so frustrated with being treated like an inconvenience rather than made to feel welcome I just said "fine ok I just want to leave". The stylist was obviously aware that I was unhappy and the rest of the appointment was tense.

My highlights are, not to the root (it was a roots appointment) and slightly ginger. I will now have to book another appointment somewhere else to rectify this costing me time and money.

I left the salon feeling angry, unhappy with my colour and embarrassed about the condition of my hair, certainly not great customer service.

I thought I had found my new regular salon but this visit has ensured I won't be returning. If you visit, especially for a colour, specify Anita.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

2 weeks ago
"Zoe" we are sorry that you feel this way, perhaps if you had voiced your disatisfaction at the salon and not 4 days after your appointment we could have made things better. I feel that we are all great reviewers in heinsight but based on your comments now and our reviews found posted on Treatwell your reviews stand alone unfortunately; without bosting we even have employee/s from Treatwell frequenting our salon.

We would be willing to talk to you and make good any issues you may have with your hair, please call 02034906500. We will keep our Trealwell clientele posted regarding this matter, I am sure they will also like to read "Zoe's" reply as much as we would.

Report as inappropriate

2 weeks ago
Hi 'Jem'

My reviews is an honest reflection of my experience. As I have stated, I have previously been impressed by the salon but this was not the case on Saturday.

The reason I did not voice this on the day is because my appointment had already overrun by 45 minutes so I was running late and I did not feel my stylist would have cared anyway. The tone of your comments are defensive, rather than making any attempt to address the concerns raised you've simply said 'everyone else likes us'. I rely heavily on people's reviews when choosing a salon and as such feel it's important to be honest. I have previously given your salon great reviews because I had a great experience. On Saturday I didn't, whether I had a bad stylist or she was having a bad day I don't know but that was my experience. If I was in your position is consider how you can improve that experience for others in the future instead of writing passive aggressive responses.

Report as inappropriate

2 weeks ago
I was just about to book an apointment when I read your comment and even though I read your comment I might have still booked it anyway if it wasn't for the reply you got from, I assume, the salon manager...I found that to be rude and inappropriate! I am sorry you had such an upleasant experience but thank you for your review...now I know not to go there!

Report as inappropriate

1 week ago
I thank you you for your reply and I have taken your review into very careful consideration. I was at the salon on the day that you made the review and I did not sense that you were disatisfied with your stylists service rather I saw an irritated person who complained about everything but her hair. I am sorry but one has to draw the line when it comes to "cusotmers always being right", if you had voiced your disatisfaction on the day of your appoinment then we could have made amends. As I mentioned in my message previously, we would be willing to talk and make things right if you are able to call us.

As per the other reviewer if you really are swayed by reviews then maybe you should judge us on all our reviews and not just this one. I was not rude..... I merely made an observation based on my eye witness account of the events on the as did "Zoe".

Jem

Report as inappropriate

1 week ago
Jem, is there anything in my review that is untrue? If you were at the salon you must have witnessed that everything I said was true. I welcome you correcting any of my statements.

Please remind me how I "complained about everything but my hair" any example would be fine. I suspect you don't have one because it's simply not true. The only comment I made on my visit was that the coffee was cold, which it was. If you don't like getting feedback then don't put the salon on a review website. It's simple.

Report as inappropriate

1 week ago
Hi Zoe

I feel like conversing with you is futile as we are simply bickering and not addressing the problem at hand.

You were asked for a coffee or any other drink and you choice not to have one. It was you had changed your mind and you asked for a coffee some time later. If you simply said that your coffee was served cold then we would have made amends... you must realise that we can only help you if you speak out aloud and not just in your mind or in your reviews.

Your hair was not ginger nor did it resemble a slight ginger tone on the day of your appoinment. We do not claim to be perfect and we can only better ourselves with constuctive criticism on the day of your appointment and not in heinsight 4 days later.

I ask you kindly to call me and let us talk....bickering on the review board only makes good reading but does not solve your greivance. let us help you.

Jem

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 2 weeks ago
I had a Deep Tissue Massage and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 2 weeks ago
Perfect

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 2 weeks ago
Claudia was the girl who coloured and cut my hair and she did a marvellous job. Great attention to detail.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 3 weeks ago
I have received a hair cut and blow dry and have awarded 4 starts

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 1 month ago
-

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 1 month ago
I had a Men's Haircut and Finish and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 1 month ago
Best haircut experience in a long time, made to feel comfortable from the moment I walked in, with refreshments for both myself and my friend who popped in to say hi. Klaudia was amazing and spent a long time helping me with a total hair restyle which I am so far very happy with the outcome. Well above and beyond my expectations; I will be returning.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 1 month ago
relaxed atmosphere, good hair cut

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 1 month ago
Another excellent haircut from "That Hair Place". Anita and her colleagues are very calm, thorough and meticulous - it's a very relaxing experiencing that always delivers a great cut. I have recommended the salon to both friends and family.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 1 month ago
I had a Ladies Cut and Blow Dry and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 1 month ago
Klaudia did a great job! Highly recommend. Thank you.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 1 month ago
I had a really great blow dry which looked great all day. The place is lovely and I was offered a drink with nice nibbles.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Show earlier reviews