Treatwell
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free Treatwell app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.2

767 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Cucumba
Cucumba
12 Poland Street,
London, WIF 8QB
United Kingdom

Salon

Cucumba
12 Poland Street,
London, WIF 8QB
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

Cucumba   Off-peak
This venue offers discounts on off-peak appointments.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.2

Venue rating

Based on 767 reviews

5 stars 315
4 stars 286
3 stars 118
2 stars 26
1 star 22
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Backcials (1)
  • Cellulite Treatments (1)
  • Spray Tanning and Sunless Tanning (29)
  • Sunbeds and Tanning Booths (1)
  • Face
  • Eyebrow and Eyelash Treatments (73)
  • Facials (155)
  • LED Light Therapy (3)
  • Makeup Treatments (10)
  • Men's Facial (1)
  • Skincare Consultation (1)
  • Hair removal
  • Brazilian Waxing (10)
  • Hollywood Waxing (7)
  • Threading (40)
  • Waxing (120)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (3)
  • Ayurvedic Massages (2)
  • Chair Massage (15)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (10)
  • Foot Massage (67)
  • Hand Massage (3)
  • Indian Head Massage (7)
  • Lymphatic Drainage (1)
  • Lymphatic Drainage Massage (1)
  • Pre and Post Natal Massage (1)
  • Reflexology (2)
  • Sports Massage (2)
  • Swedish Massage (2)
  • Therapeutic Massage (85)
  • Nails
  • Fish Pedicure (3)
  • Foot Scrub (63)
  • Gel Nails (14)
  • Manicure (139)
  • Minx Nails (1)
  • Nail Art (4)
  • Nail Extensions & Overlays (1)
  • Pedicure (127)
  • Two Week Manicure (4)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
I really needed a facial after a stressful week at work and I do not splurge that musch on one as they can be so costly.
I found a great deal on Wahanda and booked last minute. It was absolutely one of the best facials I've had. The facial expert that gave me an exfoilation dermalogica facial was so good. I really felt like my face was cleaned and de-stressed by the end of it.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

4 months ago
Thanks for the lovely feedback. Glad you enjoyed... Regards........

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
Staff were great and attentive - the lady who did my treatments was very friendly and made sure I was perfectly happy. Quite expensive waxing treatments but nothing surprising considering it's based in Soho.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
Cucumba is fab! The staff are really friendly, keen to help and are very good at what they do. I'll be back next time I'm in town.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

4 months ago
thanks for thelovely feedback. Glad you enjoyed. Regards

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
Unfortunately Cucumba isnt set up for pedicures. They do not have proper pedicure chairs with foot baths, but rather a foot massage bowl is placed in front of your chair. Staff then sit on the floor in front of you to give the manicure. I found the whole experience very weird - the manicure itself was fine, but I couldn't relax at all, and felt really sorry for the staff. Cucumba should not offer this service which they simply cant provide.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

4 months ago
Thanks for your feedback Hannah and i'm glad to hear that the treatment itself was good. We are one of the oldest salons in the West end so rest assured we have experimented with many different methods before deciding on the techniques we currently use. We prefer using the portable massaging pedicure foot baths with disposable liners - this is the most hygienic way to soak the feet as the liners are thrown away after removing the need to wash the pedicure bowls. We would rather not use the 'proper pedicure chairs' with built in pedi bowls due to the high volume of pedicures we deliver daily. We find that its difficult to clean these so called 'proper pedi chairs' properly inbetween clients (less hygenic - imagine having 50 people using the same bath with only 1 minute to clean the bath before the next client)........ and, it also reduces capacity and flexibility as the majority of our clients like the convenience of sitting side by side or in a circle/square so they can chat etc and this simply would not be possible otherwise. The chairs we use are similar to hair salon chairs or comfy dining chairs in that they are designed to be sat in for long periods of time and clients are never in them for more than 1 hour. We do have therapist chairs but some therapists prefer to sit on the floor as it allows them to adopt a 'yoga style' position to flex their joints whilst treating clients. Even in spa's etc or salons that use the sort of chairs you refer to, please look at the therapists posture and you will notice that it does take its strain when like us, one does a high volume of pedicures daily. I have fedback your comments to your therapist and they have respectfully asked that they be allowed to adopt this position but we will track client feedback to see if its a matter we need to address at some point in future. Thanks again for taking the time to share..... Regards, cucumba

Report as inappropriate

4 months ago
Hi Hannah, i believe my colleague wrote privately to you a few days ago? Just following up on actions taken so far..... We have included images on our website/wahanda page of our pedicure chairs and have asked Wahanda to write an independent piece on the different and equally effective methods of performing pedicures so that their readers are aware of the pro's and con's of each and can make an informed choice that fits with their preference. We have no intention of introducing the 'local nail bar' style of built-in Pedi chairs due to the increased risk of infection and always refer clients who prefer these chairs to a local nail bar just 40 meters away. Rest assured that for pedicures, sitting on the floor (yoga style) Vs on a stool, is a technique preferred by many therapists but prohibited by many salons/spa's. As therapists our bodies and hands are essential tools of our trade and so we will continue to allow our staff the freedom to choose the most comfortable position for repetitive movements so long as the effectiveness of the treatment is not compromised - which it was not in your case. This freedom is extremely important given the long hours of back breaking movement all pedicure therapists perform and the stools offer little to no support..... However next time, please let reception know that you are uncomfortable with this and they will ask your therapist to remain seated on the therapist stool instead. I hope this helps. Regards....

Report as inappropriate

4 months ago
SarahDedat
A few seconds ago
Hi Hannah, i believe my colleague wrote privately to you a few days ago? Just following up on actions taken so far..... We have included images on our website/wahanda page of our pedicure chairs and have asked Wahanda to write an independent piece on the different and equally effective methods of performing pedicures so that their readers are aware of the pro's and con's of each and can make an informed choice that fits with their preference. We have no intention of introducing the 'local nail bar' style of built-in Pedi chairs due to the increased risk of infection and always refer clients who prefer these chairs to a local nail bar just 40 meters away. Rest assured that for pedicures, sitting on the floor (yoga style) Vs on a stool, is a technique preferred by many therapists but prohibited by many salons/spa's. As therapists our bodies and hands are essential tools of our trade and so we will continue to allow our staff the freedom to choose the most comfortable position for repetitive movements so long as the effectiveness of the treatment is not compromised - which it was not in your case. This freedom is extremely important given the long hours of back breaking movement all pedicure therapists perform and the stools offer little to no support..... However next time, please let reception know that you are uncomfortable with this and they will ask your therapist to remain seated on the therapist stool instead. I hope this helps. Regards....

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
I booked a 1 hr massage for my girl friend when I needed to do something else after lunch before meeting up with her again. To be honest I wasn't receiving the service myself, but she told me that her experience was a delight, and would want to visit this venue again in the near future. The reception was really helpful in explaining to us what service they provide, and it all seemed very professional. The price is decent, and the service she received as amazing. I'm looking forward to book a massage myself soon.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

4 months ago
Thank You Johnny-C... its always so lovely to hear from those who were happy with the service as whilst they always let us know on the day most forget to leave a review online so much appreciated from all the team !
We very much look forward to also taking care of yo......

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 3 months ago
My manicure was really kind and she did a great job! The staff is very kind and they have excellent option of nail lacquers colors. Easy access.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
Great massage. Very good pressure and a lovely lunchtime treat. Would recommend if you are short on time. Fab location.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
Very lovely staff working when I was there. Everyone was happy to share a smile and clients were all happy and smiling as well, a good sign!
A good, quick pedicure.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
The treatements were done alright. However it started with about 20' delay. The staff was friendly, wifi worked. I've had more passionate and accurate nail-stylists at other places but all-in-all it was fine. I booked multiple treatements. The order of the treatments wasn't the same as the Wahanda booking confirmation -but I didn't mind. I can recommend it.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
Overall my Dermalogica facial was good, however, when it came to extraction, I had my blackheads extracted after my face was cleaned, but without first steaming the face or with any tools. I don't think that's the best way to extract them and it is generally known to irritate the skin. It also left scabs on my blackheads for a few days. The staf was very friendly though, and it was a thorough and relaxing facial. just wasn't keen on the extraction methods

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
Very friendly venue and was able to fit me in last minute. Lady who took care of me was lovely and I felt lovely and relaxed and the facial was great too - skin was glowing after!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

4 months ago
thank you Aisling... Glad we could accommodate. Regards,......

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
Great facial! Relaxing (despite the extraction) and effective. Manicure was basic (no frills with filing and polishing) but that's what I asked for. Thanks, I will come back

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
Perfect Saturday afternoon pedi!
Was able to book a last minute appointment on the day. Staff were lovely and always made you feel comfortable.
Thanks!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
It was a decent manicure in a nice setting, the staff were friendly, maybe a bit absent minded at times

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 5 months ago
I had a Love Waxing, Lashes & Brows and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 5 months ago
I had a Dry Skin Busting Foot Package Incl. Massage and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 5 months ago
Great spa with lovely staff and an excellent relaxing experience. The massage was one of the best I have ever had the manicure superb. I will definitely be going back. Thanks Cucumber.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 5 months ago
I had a Love Feet and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 5 months ago
I had a Dermalogica Extraction Facial and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
One of the worst spray tans I've ever had. I was bright orange, it went down after a few days luckily!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

4 months ago
Sorry to hear that. Have you called or emailed in to let us know? We take client feedback very seriously so please let us know what happened so that we can investigate and put it right. We have just purchased a new, more powerful machine and spray gun but the Urban Tan solution is the same so perhaps you were one of the first clients we used the machine on? In any case please rest assured that you can always talk to us directly about anything you are dissatisfied with or that has gone wrong. Sending us pictures etc helps with our investigations. Please make yourself known to us so that we can credit you with another spray tan as a way of saying 'sorry' and to demonstrate just how great the URBAN TAN range is.... Regards, .....

Report as inappropriate

4 months ago
Sorry to hear that. Have you called or emailed in to let us know? We take client feedback very seriously so please let us know what happened so that we can investigate and put it right. We have just purchased a new, more powerful machine and spray gun but the Urban Tan solution is the same so perhaps you were one of the first clients we used the machine on? In any case please rest assured that you can always talk to us directly about anything you are dissatisfied with or that has gone wrong. Sending us pictures etc helps with our investigations. Please make yourself known to us so that we can credit you with another spray tan as a way of saying 'sorry' and to demonstrate just how great the URBAN TAN range is.... Regards, .....

Report as inappropriate