Treatwell
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free Treatwell app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.6

173 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Arokaya
Arokaya
557 Barlow Moor Road,
Chorlton, Manchester, M21 8AN
United Kingdom

Massage & Therapy Centre

Arokaya
557 Barlow Moor Road,
Chorlton, Manchester, M21 8AN
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

Arokaya   Last minute & off-peak
This venue offers discounts on off-peak appointments and last minute bookings.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.6

Venue rating

Based on 173 reviews

5 stars 117
4 stars 43
3 stars 10
2 stars 2
1 star 1
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (4)
  • Face
  • Facials (11)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (36)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (46)
  • Face Massage (7)
  • Four Hands Massage (1)
  • Hand Massage (2)
  • Herbal Compress Massage (10)
  • Indian Head Massage (3)
  • Reflexology (8)
  • Sports Massage (6)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (6)
  • Swedish Massage (10)
  • Thai Foot Massage (15)
  • Thai Luk Pra Kob Massage (3)
  • Thai Massage (80)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 5 months ago
The atmosphere of Arokaya makes it feel like you've stepped into a little piece of Thailand in Chorlton.
We were greeted immediately upon entering and sat down on a sofa in the waiting area for no longer than 2 minutes before being taken into the treatment room.
I was in a room that catered for two people having treatments at the same time; which meant my friend and I were able to enjoy the experience together. We both agree that the massage itself was incredibly relaxing and the lady giving the treatment was very good at changing pressure upon request and managed to work out a particularly nasty knot on my upper back! The background music all added to the illusion of being back in Thailand. Afterwards we were given a refreshing glass of water!
The treatment was one of the most relaxing treatments I have had, rivalling the Thai massage I had when travelling in Thailand recently will definitely be returning and would highly recommend to others!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 6 months ago
I had a Couples Massage and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 6 months ago
What a painful experience, I am still in pain now. Went in stressed came out even more tense. Staff were very pleasant & friendly

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 6 months ago
Great massage, calm and very well priced. Will be returning, although booking directly with the spa for the best rates.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 7 months ago
I had a Deep Tissue Massage and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 7 months ago
1st Thai massage i've had. After 90 mins i felt like i was floating home. Awesome! I have already recommended them to friends.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 7 months ago
I've had Swedish and Ayudervic massages before but never a Thai massage. Thought I'd give it a try so booked a 1 hour Traditional Whole Body Thai Oil massage at Arokaya. The treatment room was dimly lit with aromatherapy oils and beautiful ornate satin sheets on the massage couch. My massage therapist enquired about how mush pressure I like and if there were any particular areas I wanted her to focus on. She tailored the massage to my preferences throughout. If you've never had a Thai massage before then be prepared for something a bit different. I was placed in various postures and had my joints stretched out which seemed a bit bizarre to me at first but felt really nice. Every single part of the body get attention from toes to face. I've never had my back clicked before and was a bit apprehensive at first but oh my it felt good! My only criticism is that the room could have been slightly warmer but despite this I felt the experience overall was excellent and very good value for money. I will definitely be going back for another one!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 7 months ago
Highly recommended, will be going back again soon. The owner made us feel incredibly welcome and kindly offered us a nice pot of rare massage tea from Thailand and even a few of his stories of his travels.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 7 months ago
I had a Traditional Whole Body Thai Oil Massage and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 7 months ago
I had a Very Extended Aromatherapy Relaxation Massage and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 7 months ago
Booked last minute a 2hr extended aromatherapy massage with facial- after two hours of a oil massage it turned out the information regarding which treatment was booked through Wahanda was not communicated to the vendor and all they get is a message saying 2 hr massage. It would have been clever to check which massage I had come for if this was known to be the case but the staff there was pleasant and refunded the appropriate amount of money considering the plain oil massage was a cheaper price. Ambience was not great and the facial area of the massage table wasn't the most cushioned and face towel seemed damp to me.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 8 months ago
I didn't get an aromatherapy massage as booked, I got a Thai oil massage which was incredibly painful. I was dragged into stretches and given a very deep massage. I asked several times for a more gentle massage, which never came. After my massage therapist and I established I was getting the wrong massage I was told 'no pain no gain' and the massage continued in the same vain. There was no acceptance that I didn't want a Thai massage and that was not what I had paid for and that. I wanted a more gentle massage. I also was in a shared room with a stranger, divided by curtains, but I found this very odd too, however this ended up being the least of the issues. I was apologised to by the owner and offered and 30 min free massage if I booked and paid for another 60 min massage but after such a difficult experience I have no desire to return. I am a runner and used to being massaged by a physio, but had to take time off for my muscles to recover from such a deep, uncontrolled massage.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 8 months ago
I had a Couples Massage and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 8 months ago
Really enjoyed the couples massage. The staff were lovely, the salon is clean and the massage is good value for money.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 8 months ago
I had a Couples Massage and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2015
Posted 9 months ago
I returned again for another Thai massage (traditional/yoga) this time with a different lady. Very relaxing and didn't disappoint. Would definitely recommend.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2015
Posted 9 months ago
Always love coming here for Thai massage, lady was great, very professional and a relaxing massage. Will come back again soon.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited June 2015
Posted 10 months ago
Wow! I have never had a massage that felt like it got right to the knots and tension. I always leave a salon feeling a little bit disappointed that I've payed good money for someone to lifelessly pat oil on my back. NOT THIS TIME! This massage has CHANGED MY LIFE! I am an absolute convert to thai massage. I don't know where that little lady got her strength from, but she is a legend! I am forever grateful! 😜

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited May 2015
Posted 10 months ago
Have enjoyed and learned about facial massage very much....helped me a lot...next time will know where to go with my friends. Thank you!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited May 2015
Posted 11 months ago
Both staff and treatment delightful, couldn't fault it. The only downside was that I could hear other people having treatments! Bit off-putting, makes it harder to relax

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel