Treatwell
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free Treatwell app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.4

308 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Spa Urban Oasis at Debenhams Manchester City Centre
Spa Urban Oasis at Debenhams Manchester City Centre
Debenhams City Centre,
Mezzanine Floor, 123 Market Street, Manchester, M60 1TA
United Kingdom

Day Spa

Spa Urban Oasis at Debenhams Manchester City Centre
Debenhams City Centre,
Mezzanine Floor, 123 Market Street, Manchester, M60 1TA
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.4

Venue rating

Based on 308 reviews

5 stars 163
4 stars 103
3 stars 31
2 stars 4
1 star 7
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (2)
  • Body Treatments (2)
  • Heat Treatments (3)
  • Spray Tanning and Sunless Tanning (10)
  • Counselling & Holistic
  • Reiki (3)
  • Face
  • Beauty Treatments (1)
  • Eyebrow and Eyelash Treatments (14)
  • Eyelash Extensions (5)
  • Facials (20)
  • HD Brows (21)
  • Men's Facial (1)
  • Hair
  • Blow Dry (22)
  • Hair Colouring and Highlights Treatments (25)
  • Hair Conditioning and Scalp Treatments (13)
  • Hair Consulting (14)
  • Haircuts and Hairdressing (93)
  • Straighteners (8)
  • Hair removal
  • Male Waxing (4)
  • Waxing (36)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (10)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (13)
  • Foot Massage (13)
  • Hand Massage (5)
  • Indian Head Massage (5)
  • Reflexology (6)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (15)
  • Swedish Massage (5)
  • Therapeutic Massage (19)
  • Nails
  • Callus Peel (1)
  • Gel Nails (3)
  • Manicure (14)
  • Minx Nails (1)
  • Pedicure (13)
  • Two Week Manicure (1)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 2 months ago
Excellent service with a light touch. I especially appreciated the tea and relaxing hot wheat pack at the end. It was hard to leave.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

2 months ago
Hello Joy,
Thank you for leaving your review. We like to see our clients relaxing afterwards so please feel free to stay as long as you like!
Kind regards, Rebecca, Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 2 months ago
I had a Vita Liberata Spray Tanning Treatments and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 2 months ago
Fab location in centre of town. Maria was great, really listened to what I wanted and did a superb job. Very happy and have already rebooked

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 3 months ago
This was the most disappointing haircut experience of my life, from start to finish I was just thoroughly unimpressed. Having read the previous reviews I had high hopes but the whole experience was unprofessional and uncomfortable. To start with, the hairdresser I had didn't speak very good English - at first I thought this would be great because I wouldn't have to have awkward chat while she cut my hair - I'm not the type of person who likes a chatty hairdresser. She took my coat and hung it up but I didn't know what to do with my handbag and had to ask where to leave it - not a great start. Then she took me straight over to the sinks without any kind of consultation or discussion about what I wanted with my cut. This was my first visit to this salon but usually when I've had my hair cut in the past the hairdresser will sit and ask you about how you want your hair cut, make a few suggestions etc before having it washed. I had none of this, she went straight in with the shampoo. She joked about how long my hair was when she was trying to comb it in the sink which just made me feel awkward - sorry I have long hair, what an inconvenience for you!
When she took me over to the chair (this is the first salon I have ever been to where the same woman washed, cut, styled and swept up my hair; I don't know whether they are understaffed or just a bit amateurish) there wasn't a lot of conversation, as previously mentioned her English wasn't the best, she asked if I wanted some long layers and I just agreed - I'd planned to have a bit of a change of style but I didn't want anything to get lost in translation and walk out with a bob! I decided a bit of a trim and some framing around the face would be fine - it took a few attempts for me to explain to her that this was what I wanted. Halfway through the cut she actually asked me to stand up(!) so she could cut my hair due to the length, and throughout she commented on the fact that my hair was so long she could hardly reach it. This didn't feel very professional at all, surely she could have adjusted the height of my chair to accommodate this?
When she asked how I wanted my blow dry I asked for it to be curly/wavy as I'm not keen on straight hair. She ran off for a few minutes, I had no idea what was going on, it turned out she was checking the time. She then explained to me that they only allocated 45 minutes for a cut and blow dry and she was worried that she would overrun. She asked repeatedly if I had mentioned that I had long hair when I booked - which I had, I specifically selected the long hair option. I felt like I was an inconvenience due to the length of my hair, which is wholly unacceptable to make a paying customer feel like they are a nuisance just because your booking system is inadequate. A haircut takes as long at it takes, you shouldn't be restricting people to a time limit and making your customer worry about these kinds of things. As it turned out, the appointment after mine had been moved back so she didn't have to be concerned about the time. She then proceeded to blow dry my hair straight with no heat protection or any product whatsoever. I have very thick, long, tangle-prone hair and so the fact she used no product at all was a concern for me. She blow dried it straight and I just assumed she had forgotten what I'd asked for, until she picked up some GHDs and proceeded to curl my hair with these. Now this is purely personal preference but I hate the look of ringlet style GHD curls. It does not suit my hair and looks too fake to me, I'd assumed she would blow dry my hair with a barrel brush to make it look curly and natural (like most hairdressers do). However, after the fuss she had made about the time I felt like I couldn't stop her half way and tell her not to curl my hair - I felt way too awkward. It may seem stupid, but I am not someone who deals with confrontation well, so I had to sit there awkwardly while she curled all of my hair with the GHDs. She also used so much hairspray I knew I was never going to be able to brush the curls out.
When she showed me the back of my head with a mirror all I could think of was getting out as quick as possible, I did not feel comfortable or like I had enjoyed the experience in the slightest. It's not entirely the hairdresser's fault, the atmosphere in the salon was non existent, I was the only person in there and it was just all in all an awful experience. The cut itself was fine, there's hardly any difference to it, it was just a trim if I'm honest. If I'd felt more comfortable or had some trust in the stylist I would have definitely asked for something different but from the first instant I sat at the sink I was thinking about when I could leave. I wanted to stop her so many times, ask for a refund and go elsewhere but I just didn't have the courage to say so.
If you've read that whole review then congratulations and I hope I've saved you from a bad experience like mine!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

3 months ago
Hello Talia
I appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback.
I would like to respond by saying we have had glowing reports of Maria and the service she provides. She is Greek and not fluent in English yes but she manages to understand and communicate with her clients well regardless.
There was a mis understanding where Maria thought she had less time for your appointment than normal, I apologise for this error.
I am assured by Maria that she used heat protect product on your hair before drying and the reason she had you stand up to cut the ends was that she wanted the hair to lie flat, as it was past the bottom of your back. Again I apologise if this was uncomfortable for you.
She used the GHD to create a wave in your hair as with the length and thickness it is a much more efficient way and will last longer. Also when you brush the curls out it creates it a natural looking wave in your hair. I have informed Maria that this should have been explained to you beforehand.
As we are a spa as well, most of the treatments in yesterday were being provided in private treatment rooms. The salon would appear quiet in this case and especially on a Tuesday.
I do wish you would have mentioned that you were feeling so uncomfortable at the time to another member of staff as I not wish any of our clients to feel this way.
Kind regards, Rebecca, Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 3 months ago
Lovely staff. Clean and tidy work areas. You have to go upstairs(but there is a small lift) from the corner entrance close to Piccadilly. Professional. Only one problem my left thumb must not have been quite dry before i left. I am sure they would have corrected this but I was already on my way home when I noticed. Overall experience was great.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

2 months ago
Hello and thank you for leaving your lovely review.
I am really pleased you enjoyed your visit to us.
Sorry about your thumb nail. We would definitely have corrected it for you so such a shame you only noticed when you were on your way home.
We hope to see you again
Kind regards,
Rebecca,
Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 3 months ago
Absolutely the best in Manchester

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 3 months ago
Lovely cozy room and friendly staff. Could be improved by provision of pillows to arrange the body in the most relaxed position.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

3 months ago
Hello Antony
Thank you for your visit to the spa and for your feedback. We will take that on board.
We do hope to see you again

Kind regards, Rebecca, Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 3 months ago
Was great the staff were lovely and enjoyed my time there although i was rushing myself.
Made me feel at home.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

3 months ago
Thank you for your review your visit and I am pleased that you enjoyed it.
We hope to see you again at the spa

Kind regards,
Rebecca, Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 3 months ago
The girls were lovely especially Alisha she knew exactly what she was doing and had a lovely presence. Thanks Ladies!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

3 months ago
Hello Renee
Thank you for your lovely review.
I shall pass your comments on to Alisha also!
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards, Rebecca, Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 3 months ago
Very Friendly and chatty staff, lovely and clean venue, offered refreshments on arrival. Manicure was very easy to book via wahanda.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

3 months ago
Thank you very much Helen for leaving your review, it is lovely to hear.
We look forward to seeing you again at the spa
Kind regards,
Rebecca, Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 3 months ago
I had a Special Occasion Blow Dry with Bubbly and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 3 months ago
At the age of 26 I decided it was time to try my first beauty experience. I opted for a brow shape and nail file and polish at Urban Oasis. The location was very convenient that I could make it part of a shopping trip. The spa itself feels wonderfully private being hidden away on a mezzanine floor at Debenhams. I wanted somewhere that wouldn't be overlooked and this place certainly delivered that. The ladies were very friendly and made my first time a lovely experience. The brow wax was virtually pain free and I was put completely at ease which I am sure helped. Five stars for this lovely spa escape. I will be back :)

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

3 months ago
Hello Katrina, thank you very much for your lovely review.
I am really pleased you enjoyed your visit to the spa. We are very lucky with our location I am glad you felt relaxed.
We look forward to your next visit!
Kind regards, Rebecca, Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 3 months ago
I Loved this treatment!! Wish I could afford to have it regularly!! Will be returning as soon as I can

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

3 months ago
Hello Kim. Thank you for your lovely review!
I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards, Rebecca, Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 3 months ago
I had a Bikini Waxing and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 3 months ago
A bit of a rushed experience, but the cut itself was very good. Excellent value for money ensures my return. Venue a little tricky to find, brief directions would have been nice. Staff very warm and welcoming.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

3 months ago
Hello and thank you for your comments. Apologies you felt rushed that is not how we like clients to feel when they visit us. Directions to the spa should be on the confirmation email you receive from us, again I apologise if this was not very clear.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards, Rebecca, Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 4 months ago
Lovely staff, clean and calm surroundings. Manicure was so great given the price. I will definitely be going again, thank you!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

3 months ago
Thank you for you review, I am very pleased you enjoyed your manicure.
I look forward to seeing you again at the spa.
Kind regards, Rebecca, Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 4 months ago
Treatments were great. Staff we're friendly and chatty. Perfect results would definitely recommend to a friend and will be going back next time

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

3 months ago
Hello and thank you for your lovely review.
I am really pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and I look forward to seeing you again at the spa.
Kind regards, Rebecca, Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 4 months ago
The haircut wasn't as good as I would've like, the hair dresser did not understand what I wanted and there was a bit of a language gap

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

3 months ago
Hello and thank you for your feedback.
I am sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with you visit to the salon.
I know there is abit of a language barrier but Maria does like to perform to the highest standards.
If you could please contact me personally at enquiries@thespaco.com I would like to hear about your visit more
Kind regards,
Rebecca, Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
Really friendly staff, an excellent consultation given beforehand which led to a result which I was more than happy with. I will definetly be returning.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

3 months ago
Hello Claire
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your treatment with Alisha.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Rebecca, Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
I had a Shampoo, Cut and Finish and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel