Treatwell: Beauty Salon Booking & Appointment App
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.1

65 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
The Spa at The Macdonald Houstoun House Hotel
The Spa at The Macdonald Houstoun House Hotel
Macdonald Houstoun House,
Uphall, Edinburgh West, West Lothian, EH52 6JS
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

The Spa at The Macdonald Houstoun House Hotel
Macdonald Houstoun House,
Uphall, Edinburgh West, West Lothian, EH52 6JS
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.1

Chain rating

Based on 65 reviews

5 stars 29
4 stars 20
3 stars 12
2 stars 3
1 star 1
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (10)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (20)
  • Face
  • Facials (36)
  • Facials - Men's (1)
  • Skincare Consultation (2)
  • Fitness
  • Swimming (18)
  • Tennis (6)
  • Vibration Plate Training (1)
  • Hair removal
  • Waxing (2)
  • Massage
  • Deep Tissue Massage (29)
  • Foot Massage (2)
  • Hand Massage (1)
  • Hot Stone Massage (7)
  • Reflexology (1)
  • Sports Massage (2)
  • Therapeutic Massage (13)
  • Nails
  • Manicure (10)
  • Pedicure (9)
Show more
Verified review Visited May 2015
Posted 1 year ago
Lovely treatments!

Steam room was very hot as mentioned in other posts!

Nice food too, with varied options!
Would return

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited May 2015
Posted 1 year ago
My friend is allergic to like and kiwi which she made the therapist aware of. Unfortunately she spent most of her time checking the ingredients of the products, which is fine, but it ate into the actual treatment time so my friend only got about ten mins of treatment which was very poor. They should not have allowed it to take away from the treatment time and prepare for things like allergies before hand. The pool area also only had about nine seats/beds in total so we had to sit on the pool floor for a time until something became available.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited May 2015
Posted 1 year ago
Had a lovely relaxing day, had 3 choices on menu for lunch which was very enjoyable.
Sa facilities were excellent and I would return again for another visit.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I took my mum for as a late Mother's Day gift. We had a fantastic time, lovely lunch and the treatments (back massage and facial) were great. Will go back.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 1 year ago
Lunch was very tasty, staff were friendly and helpful. Good value for money. This was our second visit and we will be going back again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited March 2015
Posted 1 year ago
Terrible from start to end with lots of mix up and we didn't get the treatments we had booked for

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited March 2015
Posted 1 year ago
My friend and I enjoyed our day. The afternoon tea was lovely and the treatments very good. Slightly disappointed there was no jacuzzi and the steam room was so hot and steamy it caught your breath. Overall it was good value for money.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 1 year ago
This was a good spa. The lunch was really great, really great. Staff welcoming and it was relaxing. The 30 minute treatment paid for on top of the voucher only lasted 20 minutes and the inclusive treatments were different depending on which therapist you got. With the sole delight one person gave a head massage, the other didnt. Other than that its great value and worth it

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 2 years ago
The steam room, sauna and pool were all fine. The deep tissue massage was excellent. The overall day was ok but the massage was spoiled by loud talking in the room adjoining the therapy rooms. Lunch was not only delayed in that they had forgotten about us but savoury and sweet were served in an all in one tray resembling something you might get on a flight not in a hotel. Trying to purchase moisturiser also proved tricky as the chap didn't know how to work the till. Experience was more Fawlty Towers but with a very good massage.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2015
Posted 2 years ago
I went for a Harmony at Houstoun and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2015
Posted 2 years ago
I went for a Afternoon Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2015
Posted 2 years ago
I went for a Spa Getaway and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2014
Posted 2 years ago
Fab wee day having a girly catch up. Lunch was lovely and the treatments were lovely. Would happily come again!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 2 years ago
Lovely venue and excellent treatments. Staff very attentive. Deep tissue back massage was amazing will definitely be returning again. Would happily recommend to friends.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Autumn Daydream and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 2 years ago
Staff were really lovely as were the facilities. Only gripe I'd booked a stone massage for both me & my sister as a treat as she had never had one, there was some mix up & a normal massage was given in error ~ still fantastic but not what I'd ordered.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2014
Posted 2 years ago
Room was tiny, and over a bottle dump/kitchen door, so lots of late night noise. Looked onto a blank wall, so not the best. Well appointed and nicely decorated though. Gym was fab, state of the art stuff. Pool/Sauna and steam room were all great. Gardens and setting were beautiful. Breakfast was very good. Treatments were so-so.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2014
Posted 2 years ago
I went for a Autumn Daydream and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2014
Posted 2 years ago
Lovely spa day at Houston House. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The therapists were very professional and the treatments were perfect. We had a delicious lunch and enjoyed relaxing by the pool and using the steam room during the afternoon. Would highly recommend.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2014
Posted 2 years ago
Lovely setting, everything prepared for us in advance. We were there for a spa day however there are only a couple of therapists so if you want to upgrade any of your mini treatments to longer ones you need to do this well in advance as they do get booked up. The spa area was nice but the steam room was very very hot and we couldn't stay in for more than a couple of minutes. Lovely pool and nice changing area though shower pressure a bit weak. Bento box for lunch was delicious and filling and the staff were delightful. A lovely day with just a few niggles.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

2 years ago
Thank you so much for your review.
I am glad you enjoyed your spa day with us, I' am sorry to hear you were unable to upgrade your treatments though. We do only have 3 treatment rooms and can get fully booked but sometimes it is possible to upgrade when we are quiet. Hopefully you will come and see us again and can book in advance!
We will take all your feedback on board and hope to see you again.
Emma Jack
Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate