Treatwell: Beauty Salon Booking & Appointment App
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.1

67 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
The Spa at The Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
The Spa at The Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa,
Peebles, Cardrona, EH45 8NE
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

The Spa at The Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa,
Peebles, Cardrona, EH45 8NE
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.1

Chain rating

Based on 67 reviews

5 stars 26
4 stars 25
3 stars 13
2 stars 1
1 star 2
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (19)
  • Body Treatments (11)
  • Body Wraps (1)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (24)
  • Face
  • Facials (19)
  • Facials - Men's (2)
  • Fitness
  • Golf (8)
  • Swimming (20)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (1)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (28)
  • Hot Stone Massage (8)
  • Sports Massage (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (4)
  • Nails
  • Manicure (6)
  • Pedicure (8)
Show more
Verified review Visited May 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I had booked this spa day for myself and three friends, on arrival to be told that only 2 of us could get our 2 treatments as a therapist had called in sick. We had already paid in full. The gentleman who was dealing with us to begin with was far from sympathetic and did not seem the slightest bit bothered that two out of the four of us were not to get treatments. We were left sitting for almost half an hour before the head of the spa came to see us, and I feel if I did not speak up to the gentleman to begin with he would not even have asked the spa manager to speak with us. It was booked for a friends birthday and was a disaster from the first moment. Eventually after 30 minutes of waiting the spa manager came in and said a member of staff had called in sick, I argued this was no fault of ours and found it VERY unfair that we had booked and paid in advance but were told only 2 could get treatments. After a short discussion, I SUGGESTED even if two of us could just get the one treatment instead of the two despite being booked and paid for two. After this times were rearranged and were given new times, which left one member of the party sitting for over an hour on her own as all treatments were not done together. Two members of the party only got one out of the treatments paid for... one of the girls who had a full body massage instead of enjoying an hour or relaxation listened to the SPA MANAGER attempting to defend the reasons why there was such a mix up. As we were leaving we were promised a phone call to have a free spa day by the manager considering we did not get anything like we had paid for. The ex-foliation process for the two people who did receive it was approx 15 mins so was rushed and not the 30mins as stated at time of purchase. Over ten days later and still no phone call as promised. I am disgusted at the treatment of us as paying customers on the day and now still not even as much as a phone call. WILL NOT BE BACK!!!!!! only thing I can say positive is the man who served our soup at lunch was lovely and pleasant.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited May 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Spring Getaway Spa day for two and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited May 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Spring Getaway Spa day for two and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Two Night Rebalance and Recharge Spa Break and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Taster Spa Day and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 1 year ago
Went for a spa day with lunch, lovely place, staff are very helpful and pleasant, treatments were fab - Good day

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 1 year ago
Body massage was not a deep tissue massage more like a body rub! The body scrub I received 30 minutes late and was very rushed however was very good. The hotel room is very dated, could do with a paint job! The lamps in our room all had broken lampshades and were squint. The room was also quite dusty and could have done with more of a clean. Finally please get rid of the pressed fish starter on the menu. It was very bland and didn't even taste of fish! Other than that the hotel was good. It was situated in a very nice location with great views! The staff were all very helpful and extremely nice! One of the reasons why the hotel will be popular I'd imagine! The downstairs cocktail bar is nice with a gas effect fire. Cocktails were spot on! Overall it was a nice hotel, but dated and spa treatments weren't that good, definitely not worth the individual price however whole package from lastminute.com was good as we got 3 course dinner each night plus breakfast each morning and a bottle of prosecco. PS apart from the fish starter the food was brilliant!!! The lamb is the best thing on the menu closely followed by the beef medallion! Do yourself a favour and get the creme brulee, it's incredible!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited March 2015
Posted 1 year ago
This was excellent value for money. He spa was fantastic, the staff were brilliant from the initial meeting the Simon who welcomed us and sorted out the day's timings to the massages therapists doing the treatments (Kirsty is awesome). The spa facilities and the treatments were exactly what my wife and I needed. The room was lovely. The restaurant was slightly disappointing in terms of service from the waiters and the backed up kitchen however overall it is definitely worth the visit and I would go again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 1 year ago
Overall the trip was great, and brilliant value for money. The hotel was pretty busy so we didn't get dinner until 9:15pm and found it hard to get a lounger by the pool but for the price we weren't complaining. We also got breakfast included which we weren't expecting, but no prosecco in our room. We didn't complain about this because we prefered breakfast to prosecco anyway, so I don't know if they would have brought it if we asked.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 2 years ago
I went for a One Night Couples Harmony Experience Spa Break and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 2 years ago
I went for a One Night Couples Harmony Experience Spa Break and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 2 years ago
We were really surprised and disappointed to find there was no jacuzzi, but the treatments were amazing, as were the staff.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2014
Posted 2 years ago
Good views from room, felt sorry for the wedding party during drinks reception as anyone could walk into the bar

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 2 years ago
I went for a One Night His & Hers Spa and Golf Break and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 2 years ago
I went for a One Night Couples Harmony Experience Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 2 years ago
We went for the refresher Spa break and as this was our third visit to a Macdonald hotel we had high expectations, unfortunately it did not live up to the North Berwick hotel, the food was below average, we asked for bottled flavored cider but they had no cider at all, the waiter who served us dinner was a little rude, we had no tea or coffee making facilities in our room, the Spa should not be classed as a Spa, I had a facial that was the worst I have ever had, the lady pretty much just put some cream on my face and then wiped it off with a towel whilst running the tap and walking about the room, My husband did enjoy his massage though, Sadly we went to sleep straight after dinner and left well before we were due to check out.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 2 years ago
I went for a One Night His & Hers Spa and Golf Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 2 years ago
A friend and I went along for a spa day treat, our package included a 30 minute tasters and we were both disappointed not to have extended to the hour as it was so good! We made use of the pool and poolside sauna and steam room which were both lovely and very clean.

We also had a fantastic afternoon tea in the cocktail lounge, all day the service was fantastic from all members of the spa team and the cocktail lounge staff too, a top rate day - hoping to go back with my mum this weekend!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 2 years ago
The venue was beautiful set in stunning grounds, the building inside was clean and well kept. Spa and relaxation room well equipped and very nice. Facilities were pretty good although small, could have done with a jacuzzi and steam room wasn't working on our trip. I was disappointed at having booked online and been told arrival of 10am which suited as had distance to travel however on phoning to book treatments was told I was booked in for 9.30am and was no other times available although had stated 10am arrival? Treatments were good and staff friendly and helpful although 'hot stone massage' was stated on deal but was told only entitled to 'deep tissue'? Afternoon tea was very good and plentiful although a bit of a wait for not being overly busy.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 2 years ago
Beautiful setting for this hotel and above average facilities with lovely staff.

The treatments were great although one finished a bit quicker than the booked time. Pool and changing facilities were great but the steam room was unbelievably hot and nobody could stand more than 60 seconds inside, potentially dangerous.

Afternoon was good but not outstanding but all told it was good value for money and would return.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel