Treatwell
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free Treatwell app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.3

120 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
The Spa at Hanbury Manor, A Marriott Hotel & Country Club
The Spa at Hanbury Manor, A Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Hanbury Manor, A Marriott Hotel and Country Club,
Ware, Hertfordshire, SG12 0SD
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

The Spa at Hanbury Manor, A Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Hanbury Manor, A Marriott Hotel and Country Club,
Ware, Hertfordshire, SG12 0SD
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.3

Chain rating

Based on 120 reviews

5 stars 59
4 stars 44
3 stars 15
2 stars 1
1 star 1
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (1)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (15)
  • Face
  • Facials (56)
  • Facials - Men's (6)
  • Fitness
  • Swimming (15)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (1)
  • Foot Massage (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (69)
  • Nails
  • Manicure (17)
  • Pedicure (23)
Show more
Verified review Visited February 2016
Posted 7 months ago
The spa experience is very good.the facilities are excellent, the treatment staff professional and the facial I had was very relaxing. Our day included a two course lunch and, while the food was lovely, the service was incredibly slow. Having left two hours for lunch and having ordered a third course, we had to cancel it because otherwise we would havebeenlate for our facials. We were invited to return afterwards,which we did andthenwereleft waiting a further30 minutes before our desserts were served. A relatively minor irritation but certainly something that could be improved. Beware the automatic 12.5% service charge!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2016
Posted 7 months ago
Sadly our experience wasn't as good as anticipated. Mum had a 'petite pedicure ' which involved trim of nails and painting of nails. The therapist didn't even keep 'within the lines ' and painted onto the skin. Would have expected a foot bath as well. Variety of colours weren't great so had to buy a new polish. Mum had to redo her nails when she got home.

My shoulder,neck, back massage didn't last even 10 minutes! Expected at last 30/40 minutes. Was okay but feel I've had better.

Facilities were OK. Shower pressure weak. No labels on the containers to decipher shower gel/shampoo/conditioner. Guessing game.

Felt like a lot of hanging around before going to tea. The sun loungers were dirty. Could have been even put in the washing machine!

Tea was delicious, staff in this department were lovely and polite.

Overall an okay experience but won't be in a hurry to go again or recommend.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2016
Posted 7 months ago
I went for a Hanbury Relax & Unwind Spa Day and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 8 months ago
Warm friendly reception, pleasant surroundings, relaxing day.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 8 months ago
Had a fantastic and extremely relaxing day. The treatments we had (facial, massage and manicure) were great and we really enjoyed the spa facilities and variety of exercise classes on offer (we loved the pilates class). Would love to visit again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 9 months ago
Trying to get to my locker whilst people sitting at the mirror was difficult. The back massage needed to cover the whole back and not just the centre, main focus appeared to be on left side when I had specifically indicated right side needed attention, also 3 treatments were finished about 15 minutes earlier than expected. Soup served in a saucepan was a big no, didn't like that at all. But rest of facilities were excellent.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 9 months ago
Lovely day with my mum at the spa. Beautiful venue. This is a hotel and the health club can be used by non residents so the swimming pool was quite busy especially after school. Gym very small but nice. Lunch was lovely. The treatments were nice - a small point in the pedicure was my mum was not asked if she wanted nail colour on her toes and did them clear whilst I had lovely pink ones so she was a tad disappointed with that. One thing that stands out is the happy and professional staff. They all seem to love working there and give a very positive experience.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 9 months ago
I had a lovely massage at Hanbury Manor. Lovely spa with the best products

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 9 months ago
Enjoyable day of pampering and relaxation set in beautiful grounds/golf course. Changing area and lockers strangely laid out but cleanliness and facilities good. Swimming pool full size but spa small for 4 or 5. Steam room and sauna good. Full massage and well presented lunch were the highlights.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 9 months ago
Hidden gem, in a beautiful setting. The spa staff and ambience were superb. We LOVED the quiet area, which offered selection of coffee teas chilled water and fruit. The staff were accommodating, led us to our lockers and explained where everything is.
At the spa we only used the jacuzzi as we found the pool slightly too cold. The sauna/steam room were located inside the changing room.
Showers were a bit tricky but once you had figured out how to use, than there's plenty of hot water, also supply with shower gel, shampoo and conditioner.
We were led to our treatment rooms by our therapists, please keep an eye on the time, as my friend felt her treatment was shorten by about 5 minutes.
The afternoon tea was delightful, with an offer of topping up your coffee or tea.
Generally a lovely experience, will return.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 9 months ago
The staff, treatments and over all day was brilliant given the price we paid for it. The afternoon tea was lovely too with the friendly staff happy to help and refill throughout. The one downside of an otherwise amazing day was about an hour or so of children having swimming lessons in the pool in the early evening. One was running and diving and being quite loud but other than that a relaxing and enjoyable day! Thank you.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 10 months ago
A lovely relaxing afternoon. The treatments were amazing. I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 10 months ago
welcoming staff, great treatment and a very relaxing time.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 10 months ago
I went for a Afternoon Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 11 months ago
I went for a Hanbury Relax & Unwind Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 1 year ago
It's a beautiful place to visit and the spa does look lovely. A few things caused me to feel it could be much better. Unfortunately the changing rooms whilst obviously having been upgraded were not kept clean hour to hour and during my experience I could see other people's forgotten undergarments discarded towels on floor and paper cups on windows which does not need to be the case. These items were there when I arrived at 12 and were still there when I went back to change at 4pm. I would expect an hourly inspection of the changing rooms to ensure the standard if I were them. Also staff are well-meaning but not very well trained. It would seem that when ever you needed something at the counter it took forever to be served despite their only being one person ahead of you. Also upon arrival there was no locker for one of us because they had not checked that we were two females and they had assumed one of us was male and set up a locker in the men's changing room. I assume because they were not clear based on the non-English names provided. Would be better to ask for a title upon booking to avoid this kind of silly error. Other things include the fact that we were asked to pay despite the fact we paid already via last minute.com why hadn't the booking been emailed across to them at the Manor? Also if one is booking on last minute.com for an experience that includes spa mini treatments and high tea, my expectation that I can book all of those elements upon booking at last minute.com. I do not expect to be asked to phone the venue to check whether there is any availability at the times that suit me after I've booked the actual experience. What if we had discovered that they didn't have any slots for a mini treatments or high tea at the time we required? It's all just not very well thought out at the moment and could be much better.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Afternoon Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Hanbury Time For Two Spa Day and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Hanbury Time For Two Spa Day and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went to Hanbury Manor for a birthday celebration for my friend, with 4 others. We were in time for lunch, so went to the Oakes Grill. The service was slow and a little unorganised. We arrived about 1.10 pm and had to push to get served our lunch an hour later as 3 of us had treatments at 3 pm, and didn't want lunch on top of the treatment. When lunch did arrive they had missed one of the 4 orders - so not a great start to the stay. However the restaurant staff were friendly enough. We had our evening meal in the same restaurant and couldn't fault the service. But again, for lunch the following day, we were outside on the terrace and the service was slow - it was a buffet lunch and we were finding that our plates weren't being collected - I wonder if it was because there didn't seem to be specific staff waiting in specific areas? We couldn't fault the spa - both the pool area and changing rooms were lovely and clean and the changing rooms were particularly plush. The lady who did my treatment was very friendly and when finished I felt relaxed and pampered. The bedrooms seemed a little old fashioned (probably the patterned carpet) but great to have 2 double beds for a twin room booking and again all very clean and well kept. We were lucky to have great weather so were able to spend some time outside - walking around and lying outside the spa area on sunbeds. We found Sunday was a lot quieter than the Saturday, especially in the pool area - not so many children. I definitely would recommend Hanbury Manor - it was my second visit and not my last!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel