Treatwell
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free Treatwell app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.3

107 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
The Spa at Hanbury Manor, A Marriott Hotel & Country Club
The Spa at Hanbury Manor, A Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Hanbury Manor, A Marriott Hotel and Country Club,
Ware, Hertfordshire, SG12 0SD
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

The Spa at Hanbury Manor, A Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Hanbury Manor, A Marriott Hotel and Country Club,
Ware, Hertfordshire, SG12 0SD
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.3

Chain rating

Based on 107 reviews

5 stars 49
4 stars 42
3 stars 15
2 stars 1
1 star 0
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (1)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (15)
  • Face
  • Facials (48)
  • Men's Facial (6)
  • Fitness
  • Swimming (15)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (1)
  • Foot Massage (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (58)
  • Nails
  • Manicure (13)
  • Pedicure (16)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 6 months ago
I went for a Afternoon Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 6 months ago
I went for a Hanbury Relax & Unwind Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 7 months ago
It's a beautiful place to visit and the spa does look lovely. A few things caused me to feel it could be much better. Unfortunately the changing rooms whilst obviously having been upgraded were not kept clean hour to hour and during my experience I could see other people's forgotten undergarments discarded towels on floor and paper cups on windows which does not need to be the case. These items were there when I arrived at 12 and were still there when I went back to change at 4pm. I would expect an hourly inspection of the changing rooms to ensure the standard if I were them. Also staff are well-meaning but not very well trained. It would seem that when ever you needed something at the counter it took forever to be served despite their only being one person ahead of you. Also upon arrival there was no locker for one of us because they had not checked that we were two females and they had assumed one of us was male and set up a locker in the men's changing room. I assume because they were not clear based on the non-English names provided. Would be better to ask for a title upon booking to avoid this kind of silly error. Other things include the fact that we were asked to pay despite the fact we paid already via last minute.com why hadn't the booking been emailed across to them at the Manor? Also if one is booking on last minute.com for an experience that includes spa mini treatments and high tea, my expectation that I can book all of those elements upon booking at last minute.com. I do not expect to be asked to phone the venue to check whether there is any availability at the times that suit me after I've booked the actual experience. What if we had discovered that they didn't have any slots for a mini treatments or high tea at the time we required? It's all just not very well thought out at the moment and could be much better.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 8 months ago
I went for a Afternoon Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2015
Posted 8 months ago
I went for a Hanbury Time For Two Spa Day and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2015
Posted 9 months ago
I went for a Hanbury Time For Two Spa Day and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2015
Posted 9 months ago
I went to Hanbury Manor for a birthday celebration for my friend, with 4 others. We were in time for lunch, so went to the Oakes Grill. The service was slow and a little unorganised. We arrived about 1.10 pm and had to push to get served our lunch an hour later as 3 of us had treatments at 3 pm, and didn't want lunch on top of the treatment. When lunch did arrive they had missed one of the 4 orders - so not a great start to the stay. However the restaurant staff were friendly enough. We had our evening meal in the same restaurant and couldn't fault the service. But again, for lunch the following day, we were outside on the terrace and the service was slow - it was a buffet lunch and we were finding that our plates weren't being collected - I wonder if it was because there didn't seem to be specific staff waiting in specific areas? We couldn't fault the spa - both the pool area and changing rooms were lovely and clean and the changing rooms were particularly plush. The lady who did my treatment was very friendly and when finished I felt relaxed and pampered. The bedrooms seemed a little old fashioned (probably the patterned carpet) but great to have 2 double beds for a twin room booking and again all very clean and well kept. We were lucky to have great weather so were able to spend some time outside - walking around and lying outside the spa area on sunbeds. We found Sunday was a lot quieter than the Saturday, especially in the pool area - not so many children. I definitely would recommend Hanbury Manor - it was my second visit and not my last!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2015
Posted 9 months ago
I had a lovely day at Hanbury Manor Spa. The 1 hour facial was brilliant, my skin felt fantastic afterwards and the therapist was very professional. The Spa is good, but I found the water temperature of the pool too warm for me. It was good value to be able to have a 2 course meal included but the choice for vegetarians was very limited and my main meal was oily and too salty.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited June 2015
Posted 9 months ago
Wonderful hotel in beautiful grounds. Food and massage treatment were exceptional.
Staff were very helpful and friendly. Spa facility is very nice, we wee also able to access the garden from the spa.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited June 2015
Posted 9 months ago
Venue was beautiful, food was fantastic and treatments were great - my manicure is 3 days old and totally unchipped, unheard of! All in all amazing value for £160.

My only complaint, which I said to the hotel too, is that they allow children into the spa pool, which is essentially just the hotel pool - really not very relaxing at all to have them screaming and splashing about, so just to say be aware of that if you want some tranquillity!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited June 2015
Posted 9 months ago
Apart from the limited food options, the hair dryer blowing up, no air conditioning in the room and the oddity that was the steam rooms being in each of the male and female changing rooms it was a very enjoyable stay. Very pleasant staff and lovely grounds for evening walks. Would recommend and go again even though it was pricey for what it was. Very shocked that there was no air conditioning in the room but a fan was supplied as it was roasting hot!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited June 2015
Posted 10 months ago
We had the overnight spa package which included all meals and a couple of treatments. We definitely thought we were going to a spa, but on arriving at the spa area, it was really busy and loud. A few small children were divebombing into the pool repeatedly. It was far from relaxing and actually quite grotty with leftover cups, towels and dirty floors. It got much much better on the Monday with far fewer people and a better ambience, although I'd still say cleanliness was an issue. The staff were very polite and helpful though and the massage was great. The grounds were also beautiful. Vegetarian food options were limited for my companion (same for lunch as dinner) but tasty for non veggies. Overall, hard to know if we went at a bad time, but unlikely to go here again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited June 2015
Posted 10 months ago
We were made to feel welcome from the very first minute and this continued throughout our weekend. The food was amazing and our spa treatments were better than we could have imagined. Overall a lovely relaxing little break.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited June 2015
Posted 10 months ago
Just what I hoped it would be, beautiful old manor house in stunning parkland, really excellent food and polite attentive staff. Exceptional value for money, would highly recommend.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited May 2015
Posted 11 months ago
I went for a One Night Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a One Night Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a One Night Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Afternoon Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 1 year ago
My friend and i visited for her birthday. We spent a very enjoyable few hours in the Spa and having a facial. Finished with a very good meal in the restaurant.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Afternoon Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel