Treatwell: Beauty Salon Booking & Appointment App
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

3.5

70 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
The Bannatyne Spa Millbank
The Bannatyne Spa Millbank
4 Millbank,
London, Westminster, SW1P 3JA
United Kingdom

Day Spa

The Bannatyne Spa Millbank
4 Millbank,
London, Westminster, SW1P 3JA
United Kingdom
A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

3.5

Chain rating

Based on 70 reviews

5 stars 16
4 stars 24
3 stars 14
2 stars 7
1 star 9
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Acrylic, Hard Gel & Nail Extensions (1)
  • Bamboo Massage (1)
  • Classic Facials (18)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (2)
  • Hot Stone Massage (1)
  • Indian Head Massage (5)
  • Lava Shells Massage (1)
  • Manicure (3)
  • Spray Tanning and Sunless Tanning (2)
  • Swedish Massage (28)
  • Therapeutic Massage (24)
Show more
Verified review Visited September 2010
Posted 8 years ago
Although the lady on the phone wasn't really friendly at the time of the booking, the therapist was lovely and I'm very pleased with the massage I had; lovely ambience too.

Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Posted 8 years ago
After reading few articles about the benefits of Lava Shell Massage I decided to book myself for a 30 minutes slot.
When I called the centre to book I wasn't advised that in the 30 minutes massage is included filling in a form at the reception, paying upfront for the treatment and checking my blood pressure which left me with a maximum of 15 minutes of the full treatment.
I was under impression as I was the last appointment that the therapist was very keen to finish her shift that she even gave me 5 minutes to use any of the products in the treatment room and get dressed???!!!
Just to mention also that the receptionist didn't know how to work out the EPDQ so I had to use all may cash to pay for the treatment!!

Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2010
Posted 8 years ago
It was ok. I had phoned earlier in the week to ask if the restaurant was open on the weekend and was told it was open and to find out it wasn't when I got there ...... It's a very small spa/gym and for half a day it would have been perfect. My therapist was excellent and thoroughly enjoyed the massage.

Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Posted 8 years ago
We had booked day packages, mine for a massage and facial, and my husband for a massage. We had originally booked for Maida Vale but we were called a few months later to be told that Maida Vale had closed and our nearest one was now Millbank. But that there wasn’t a therapist currently at Millbank who was qualified to do facials, so I would have to wait until someone was installed there. I was indeed called back when a therapist was installed but they were getting really booked up moving people there from the closed branches, so we had no choice on the timings of our treatments. There was no leeway in the closing date on the vouchers even though they had closed down more than one branch, and they didn’t have the necessary therapists in situ. That was a pain.

We have a small child so we were not able to get to the spa until the afternoon, so we were keen to use the pool/Jacuzzi facilities before our treatments. The spa is in a building that houses other offices and restaurants/cafes, but these were all closed when we visited on the weekend so there is no food available in the venue. If you are spending the day there on a weekend you will need to dress and pop out to Westminster to eat.

We were welcomed in and asked to take a seat and told that we would be seen to shortly. Half an hour later we were still sat in the same spot while staff milled around getting drinks, chatting, and having their lunch in the back room. There were NO other customers that they were seeing to. After 30mins I went to the man at the front desk (who was the same person who had told us to sit down and that we would be seen to shortly). He had been at the reception desk the whole time and he had not dealt with any other customers apart from a couple who were also told to sit and wait. I asked him if anyone was coming for us, as out treatments were due to start soon and we had wanted to use the pool beforehand. He looked surprised and said “didn’t I give you a form to fill in?” So I said “no, you asked us to sit and wait so that is what we have done” so he said again “didn’t I give you a form to fill in?” so I said “no, we have had nothing, nobody has spoken to us, we have just been sitting here for 30mins”. He said “oh, let me just get you some forms” (no apology…) and asked us to fill them in, which we did, and handed them back to him. His colleague then came over to give us our towels and slippers and show us the treatment rooms and pool area etc. HE apologised, saying his colleague was really “overworked” (ie, standing at reception for 30 mins looking at a screen and doing nothing else…). I was a little peeved by this point. We had to arrange childcare to attend together on the day, and had travelled over an hour to get there.

There are loos and showers in the changing rooms and shower gel and hairdryers/brushes are provided as well as a swimsuit dryer (out of order on our visit). The changing room was a little chilly and was fully open-plan. There is a pool, tow mini Jacuzzis, a steam room, a gym and two treatment rooms at Millbank. The pool was warm and graduated in depth, and there were two loungers beside the pool as well as two mini Jacuzzi pools that were nice and warm. There is also a shower in the pool area. The floors are VERY slippery either with their slippers or my pool flipflops on, I was skidding about. There was just one bench in there and no other seating area.

By the time we changed and put our things in the lockers (you need a £1 or 50p coin for the lockers) we only had about 10 mins to go before our treatments. So we had a super-fast dip. There was a woman in the Jacuzzi, and as we stood on the side about to get in, she yelped at us not to stand on the side, we would break the plastic edging and hurt ourselves and then she told us she was the general manager. I wished that during the induction we were told about not standing on the sides of the Jacuzzi, it would have been a lot less embarrassing. But maybe I should have known that already – probably my fault. The general manager in the Jacuzzi was the same person who was having something to eat while we were sat being ignored in reception for 30mins. I have no problem with staff using the facilities, but when paying guests are not being looked after, it was a bit annoying.

The massage and facial were done in a side room that was dim, warm and relaxing. Tinkly music and a nice comfy adjustable massage table. There was not too much excess noise apart from staff chatting outside the room at times. The therapist was nice and chatty and the massage was fine, not too firm. The facial was good, using Elemis products and my skin felt really good afterwards. They sell the Elemis products at the venue. We then went back to the pool for a swim but the pool closed at 5:30pm even though the venue closed at 6:30pm so apart from using the gym (no thanks) there was nothing else we could do once the pool closed. Again, we weren’t told about the pool closing early when we were shown around. I wouldn’t have bothered getting all wet again had I known. And it meant that we felt we hadn’t got a lot out of our “day passes”.

We were not wished goodbye or asked if we had enjoyed our time when we left, we were just shown the door. All in all I wont be going back as a trip to One Aldwych is markedly better on all fronts especially CUSTOMER SERVICE and their pool/spa/steam facilities are also free to use if you have a treatment over 1hr long, and they stay open much later.

Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited June 2010
Posted 8 years ago
well, I felt like I was in council's public gym for start... the place had very dated decor and the ceiling had some big holes and the floor looked needs proper limescale removing. Also at the drink bar, there was no clean saucer (all been used but piled up in clean saucer corner!). I've been to lots of other spa within the similar price to this and I always had a "special teat-myself-day" every time but not at Bannatyne's. We could stay whole day but we've decided to stay just 1hr and left as soon as we finishes the treatment. the massage was nothing special, in fact I'd get better one from the small Shiatsu place nearby my office. Overall, i wouldn't go there again because my local gym in Clissold park is definitely more modern, clean, and affordable!

Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel