Treatwell
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free Treatwell app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

3.8

315 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
River Wellbeing Spa at The Hotel Rafayel
River Wellbeing Spa at The Hotel Rafayel
The Hotel Rafayel,
Falcon Wharf, 34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

River Wellbeing Spa at The Hotel Rafayel
The Hotel Rafayel,
Falcon Wharf, 34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

3.8

Venue rating

Based on 315 reviews

5 stars 81
4 stars 123
3 stars 66
2 stars 31
1 star 14
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Acupuncture (1)
  • Back Facials (1)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (10)
  • Body Treatments (4)
  • Body Wraps (42)
  • Hydrotherapy (3)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (3)
  • Face
  • Beauty Treatments (2)
  • Eyebrow and Eyelash Treatments (1)
  • Facials (79)
  • Facials - CACI (1)
  • Facials - Rejuvenation Acupuncture (1)
  • Fitness
  • Personal Training (2)
  • Swimming (1)
  • Hair removal
  • Brazilian Waxing (1)
  • Hollywood Waxing (1)
  • Waxing (2)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (14)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (42)
  • Face Massage (1)
  • Foot Massage (1)
  • Herbal Compress Massage (3)
  • Hot Stone Massage (3)
  • Pregnancy Massage (1)
  • Swedish Massage (23)
  • Thai Massage (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (115)
  • Nails
  • Foot Scrub (1)
  • Manicure (33)
  • Paraffin Wax Treatments (1)
  • Pedicure (26)
  • Yoga & Pilates
  • Meditation (1)
  • Power Yoga (1)
  • Yoga (2)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Posted 3 years ago
We booked in the Express Spa Day and had a Massage, facial and pedicure each. The treatments we had at the same time (except the pedicure). We had our massages in a nice treatment room and the massages were amazing. As was the facial which we had straight afterwards and felt really relaxed and refreshed afterwards. Both our therapists were lovely and really good. We both had a pedicure and were really happy with that too. I prefer a bit more of a foot massage but was really good and for the deal we had, was great value to have 3 treatments.
The facilities at the spa are quite small and basic. The jacuzzi was nice but then didn't work when we went in the second time. The hydrotherapy pool wasn't explained to us so woudl be good to be shown the facilities and how they work. Steam/sauna were standard. It was a bit cold in the communal areas. The receptionist at the beginning wasn't that helpful but I think she was covering someone. The relaxation room had a lovely view over the river and we had really nice fresh peppermint tea in there. A lovely day and amazing treatments. Great value and would go again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2012
Posted 3 years ago
The treatments themselves were very good, especially the massage and the therapists were very polite and knowledgeable. However, the spa itself was not as clean and tidy as it has been on previous visits. The pool was out of service. The changing rooms appeared to be left unchecked during my visit and I actually had to tidy it as it had been left in a horrible state by other guests - towels, dressing gowns and slipper discarded around the room, a filthy shower mat and rubbish left lying around. The relaxation area was also left in a mess for much longer than it should have been, with dirty plates and tea cups lying around on all tables. Several other guests commented quietly that other rowdy groups should have been asked to be quieter - a spa is meant to be relaxing and loud shouting and running around is disruptive and does not help with the atmosphere. The spa itself was very busy when we went and I think that the staff were overstretched, but in the future I would recommend that they keep a closer eye on the ambience.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2012
Posted 3 years ago
This experience was not as good as we expected. We went as a group of 3 females and on arrival were kept waiting in the spa reception for a while before we were eventually taken through to use the facilities. Considering we were only there for the day and came from far therefore arrived after 11am, this time felt wasted, we just wanted to be shown to the changing rooms so we could start using the facilities.

The first disappointment came when we were told that the hydrotherapy pool was not working (!)....why not give us a reduction then or a voucher to make up for that? Secondly, the steam room wasn't big enough to swing a cat in, it had only 4 'seats' in it, one of which had a sign saying 'do not use', therefore only 3 people at a time could just about fit in it and the door had approx. a 1inch gap at the bottom so the steam wasn't powerful in the least!

The sauna was small but reasonable, fit about 6 people at a squeeze but hot and effective. The jacuzzi too was small (a sign said no more than 3 people at a time), but very nice. However, it got busy later in the day as there was a combination of voucher users and hotel guests using the facilities so it was a game of watch out for a space so you could dash in and use one of the facilities before it got 'full' with 3 people!

The best part for me was the free 25min massage, the lady was very good and I felt very relaxed and all tightness in my neck relieved, she was great.

We then ate a meal in the hotel's restaurant (not part of the deal, just thought we'd check it out as there was a 'top table' discount of 50% - of an already expensive menu). However the food was absolutely excellent! Extremely pleasant and knowledgeable staff, they knew what each dish consisted of. I'd recommend the ravioli and lobster bisque, absolutely delicious, but then for the 3 of us we agreed that all our courses were fantastic, much appreciation goes out to chef and restaurant staff.

I suppose you get what you pay for and at £25 for the day each this could and should have been better.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2012
Posted 3 years ago
This was my first solo visit to a spa and the staff made me feel at ease at the get-go. I had a massage followed by tea and cake. I asked for a hard massage and the therapist obliged which was great. I had full use of the spa facilities included in this great deal which included the gym. My one criticism is that there was no concept of pool-side loungers as there was no pool, only a jacuzzi. There was a separate relaxation room with music and a great selection of magazines but the lighting was very bright. Had it been dimmed it would have been a more relaxing spot to relocate to after the massage. Didn't stop my enjoying a lovely slice of cheesecake though :)

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2012
Posted 3 years ago
As I wanted a day to utterly spoil myself I read the reviews first. There were some that were not too great, but others were fantastic. I only used this as a guide, as I like to find out first hand for myself. And I'm so glad I plumped for River Wellbeing Spa. I was there early and had the place to myself. The receptionist was very pleasant and showed me around, apologising that the hydro pool was not available. I changed into my robe and relaxed until my first treatment which was a lovely deep tissue massage. The therapist was lovely, and checked the pressure she should apply. It was very relaxing and I almost fell asleep :-/ next was a lime and ginger body scrub, followed by a shower with Elemis products. My skin was gorgeously soft, and feels just as soft 2 days later. My paraffin manicure was lovely, and relaxing. I then used the facilties in between having Champagne, tea and cakes in the relaxation lounge overlooking the river. This was absolutely what I needed after having a stressful few weeks with work. Would definitely recommend River Wellbeing Spa, and I have plans to go back on a regular basis for 'me' time.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited June 2012
Posted 3 years ago
Was well worth the money. An incredible experience with excellent service. They used a wax I had never used before but will now definitely be visiting the River Wellbeing Spa again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Posted 4 years ago
I don’t get all the negative reviews, most sound like nitpicking. Anyway, my experience at River was great! View from relaxation room was lovely and the Swedish massage was sooooo good. My therapist was a very polite soft-spoken girl, who gave me the full course of treatment even though I was 10 minutes late. The spa may be small, but it checks all the boxes in excellence. My refreshing tea and 10-minute rest before leaving wasGood job, River girls!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

4 years ago
Oops...trigger happy fingers! My refreshing tea and 10-minute rest before leaving was just the finishing touch I needed. Will definitely go back. Good job, River girls!

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited May 2012
Posted 4 years ago
On arrival the staff weren't very inviting. They looked at you fairly blankly which made you feel that you were'nt expected. They seemed uncomfortable as to who would show us around as though it wasn't in their jurisdiction. The water provided in the reception area was really warm like it had been sat there for days. Very unpleasant! One of the lockers did lock and both the toilets were dirty until my friend flushed them both which we both thought...YUK!!! We used the gym but as we had no headphones and they didn't have any available; we could listen to the music. We had to instruct them when we wanted our tea and they brought us a small box with 4 chocolates in as a complimentary gift (we thought). Our invitation offered tea and cakes! When we asked for tea in the afternoon they made one pot of english breakfast although we asked for both EB and Earl Grey. Twice they ignored us on that. We were told our chocolate was instead of our cake and because I made a fuss the poor girl had to speak with the manager and we were brought a cup cake each We also had to ask for clean cups and a fresh jug of milk as they hadn't cleared away the pot from the morning and expected us to drink from the same cups We didn't order food from the hotel because the service was terrible There was no swimming pool but a plunge pool, sauna and Jacuzzi. The steam room wasn't working properly and the maintenance manger didn't appear to fix it so we didn't get to use that. It is based on the 3rd floor so is only accessible by lift. Anyone who has a phobia of lifts best choose another venue.
The facials we had were lovely but as neither of us have had a facial before we can't compare.
The girls were lovely though! Although mine spoke limited english, she was really kind and very good at ther job.
We probably wouldn't go here again as we had travel a fair way and were dissapointed.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Posted 4 years ago
Enjoyed my day at the River Well-being spa, Arrived at the spa and was offered valet service for my car. The receptionist was friendly and was talked through the different treatments available. Wasn't given a tour however, the spa is small enough for you to find things by yourself.
The therapists were polite and talked through what the treatments were for and the benefits of having them done.
Was offered an Aloe vera drink which was tasty and champagne in the relaxation room which boasts views of the river.
Enjoyed my day thoroughly and will be coming back for the 2 4 1 offer, worth the money!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2012
Posted 3 years ago
I had made my booking by email but when we arrived our reservation hadn't been noted (even though I had received a response). This was particularly disappointing when it was a treat for my sister's birthday. However, the staff tried there best to make it up to us and squeezed in a treatment (although not what we'd booked). Therapist was very good. Facilities were disappointing - the pool was closed and the hot tub only big enough for two people. As there were already two people in there we couldn't use it. We didn't even get offered the tea and cake.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2012
Posted 4 years ago
I can understand the mixed reviews. I went on my own and, for me, the steam, sauna and jacuzzi was fine, but it would have been too small if I went with friends, or if anyone else was using it. The relaxation room is a joke - little bigger than my wardrobe. I was glad it was full (with 2 people) so I didn't have to sit in there. The gym was really well equipped for a hotel gym - overall, its by no means a 5* spa, but its quite good hotel facilities. I wouldn't go there for anything other than the gym, steam, spa and a treatment or two. My pedicure and therapist was lovely, but the two receptionists were terrible - brusque, rude.....awful. There also was a children's party in a function room on the same floor which was REALLY noisy. The tea and 'cakes' was also a box of 4 chocolates - I like chocolate so it didn't bother me, but the impression given was like a mini-afternoon tea - which this most definitely was not.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2012
Posted 4 years ago
Spa was rather much smaller than we had imagined in the pictures and the pool was not working at the time. Sauna room was nice although did not fit many people and the steam room only fitted 6 people and was a little dirty. However, we were most impressed by the therapists who carried out lovely facials which left us glowing afterwards. The front of house receptionist was also very nice and answered all of our queries. Overall, the experience was more simple than we expected and we are very glad that we did not pay full price for our experience, as we would have been very unhappy otherwise, but for the deal, we can't complain too much!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2012
Posted 4 years ago
Very disappointed with whole experience, from the start of the booking process with the hotel to be greeted, (or not) as the case was!! The very small facilities, the lateness of my appointment no apology. No tea and no cakes were offered!
So disappointed and upset about the whole experience-I had been ill for while and my husband had bought me the voucher!


While I was there waiting in reception, there was 3 people complaining about the small facilities and the false advert to a 5* spa, it's more like a gym. the relaxation room was a shoe box.
Need I go on...

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited March 2012
Posted 4 years ago
Great spa and facilities. Really enjoyed my day there and had a nice relaxing time. My therapist was very professional and took the time to make me feel comfortable and relaxed.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited March 2012
Posted 4 years ago
I would definitely go back to this spa. My friend and I had a wonderful experience and would strongly recommend it. All the staff were really friendly and helpful throughout our treatments. As it was my friend's birthday, I had requested champagne twice, which staff agreed to, but it wasn't provided. This would be my only complaint! Overall I would recommend this hotel/spa!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited March 2012
Posted 4 years ago
Highly recommended venue with a great atmosphere and amazing therapists!
For a deal which costs £90 for two, my expectations were not that high but this spa surpassed them by far!
An hour of tranquility with a friend in the jacuzzi before an hour of relaxing massage and facial. We were not rushed to leave as soon as our treatments ended and we ended up spending another hour just gossiping in the relaxation room with a glass of champagne. Perfect Sunday.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Posted 4 years ago
The Spa facilitites were dissappointing. The shower smelt mouldy. We were not given adequate info about the treatments available to us. Compared to other deals on the market it was over priced. Credit to the therapists they were good in the actual massage but i expected much more.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2012
Posted 4 years ago
This is a nice venue, the staff were ready for us when we arrived and the treatments were very good (I had a facial, my 3 friends had pedicures). The only downside to the experience was the fact that the spa area really wasn't big enough for the number of people wanting to use the facilities. Next time I would choose a day/time when there is likely to be less people (we went on a Sat afternoon). The tea and cake were a nice end to the experience.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2012
Posted 4 years ago
I have bought this deal for a present to my friend, so she told me it was quite easy and quick to arrange an appointment and the lady at the reception was very courteous over the telephone .My friend told me the hotel is really luxurius and the spa was very peaceful but small although she hasn't used it, she had a little tour around .She was very pleased with the therapist from Lithuania who was very professional and friendly.The only thing i wasn't very happy, she has just been offered tea in a very inapproriate time when her nail polish was drying altough the voucher stated that tea and cake were also included but she has not even received any offer for a cake slice! I found very bizarre that before the manicure, while she was waiting for a long while,she has just been offered a glass of tap water but no one approched her to offer the tea and cake then! It will be nice that personnell will look at this attention to details as they make a quite big impact !

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2012
Posted 4 years ago
Nice afternoon tea though no dining area as such so had to have this in front of reception! The relaxation room was nice with two comfy beds, heaters and some magazines. The pedicure was okay though no cuticle work done. The facilities were a bit dated. Overall a pleasant enough day.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel