Treatwell
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free Treatwell app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

3.7

316 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
River Wellbeing Spa at The Hotel Rafayel
River Wellbeing Spa at The Hotel Rafayel
The Hotel Rafayel,
Falcon Wharf, 34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

River Wellbeing Spa at The Hotel Rafayel
The Hotel Rafayel,
Falcon Wharf, 34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

3.7

Venue rating

Based on 316 reviews

5 stars 81
4 stars 123
3 stars 67
2 stars 31
1 star 14
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Acupuncture (1)
  • Back Facials (1)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (10)
  • Body Treatments (4)
  • Body Wraps (43)
  • Hydrotherapy (3)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (3)
  • Face
  • Beauty Treatments (2)
  • Eyebrow and Eyelash Treatments (1)
  • Facials (80)
  • Facials - CACI (1)
  • Facials - Rejuvenation Acupuncture (1)
  • Fitness
  • Personal Training (2)
  • Swimming (1)
  • Hair removal
  • Brazilian Waxing (1)
  • Hollywood Waxing (1)
  • Waxing (2)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (15)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (43)
  • Face Massage (1)
  • Foot Massage (1)
  • Herbal Compress Massage (3)
  • Hot Stone Massage (3)
  • Pregnancy Massage (1)
  • Swedish Massage (24)
  • Thai Massage (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (115)
  • Nails
  • Foot Scrub (1)
  • Manicure (33)
  • Paraffin Wax Treatments (1)
  • Pedicure (26)
  • Yoga & Pilates
  • Meditation (1)
  • Power Yoga (1)
  • Yoga (2)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited December 2010
Posted 5 years ago
The spa facilities were good with a sauna, steam room and jaccuzi. Two hours was enough time to unwind and chill before a half an hour massage, which was relaxing and got rid of tension. Afterwards you could chill with a tea of your choice and a slice of cake in the relaxation room.
All in all a very nice Sunday afternoon was had.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2010
Posted 5 years ago
When we arrived we had to wait some time to be seen and then shown very quickly around came back to reception to order food which took over an hour to arrive and then was charged £3.50 for delivery of the food as the resturant is in another part of the hotel, no mention of this untill we got the bill. No apologies for the delays we had to keep asking when would the food arrive. When it came time to our treatments they were running 15mins late again no apologies we had to ask again. The therapist then called me in first and had my massage, looked at the clock in front of me before she started and looked up again when she had finished and the clock was gone. Looked quickly at my watch to find that the therapist had given me a 25 minute massage instead of the 45 minutes I should have had which may explain why the clock disapeared. The massage was also very painful and uncomfortable even though the therapist took the time to ask me how i wanted the pressure and I told her relaxing which it was not. i told the therapist i had a problem with my lower back and so she spent the majority of the massage on my lower back where I told her not to. Terrible massage worst one I have ever had. I complained and was offered more treatments and refused as I had had quite enough by that time and felt extremly upset. A girl called Sherry was a very nice and helpful girl who wanted us to come back and try again and would not take no for an answer. She went completely out of her way to offer us extra treatments on the day or 2 free 45 minute massages on another day which I eventually accepted as she was so nice but to be honest if its the same therapist as I had on that day I dont think I would want to go again. My daughter also complained to me that the massage was painful and a few other ladies complained about some of the other treatments so not sure it would help going back, it may have been an off day and will consider going back on the 29th December in the hope that it was.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2010
Posted 5 years ago
The staff were helpful and friendly. The massage was enjoyable and it was good to be able to relax in the relaxation room afterwards with my friend. It would have been better if we were able to use the gym and pool before using the spa facilities.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2010
Posted 5 years ago
Had a really nice afternoon here - very calming atmosphere and yummy cupcakes! The spa itself is quite small so you wouldn't really want to spend a whole day there, but for an afternoon treat it was lovely.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2010
Posted 5 years ago
I've been on a few spa days, and this one was definitely well worth the money and the best of the cut price deal spas i've been on. Staff were really friendly and attentive, and the facilities were plush. I went with a friend and we used the gym, steam room and jacuzzi before our treatments which were all great except the jacuzzi made very strange noises....! The treatments were all great, and I even fell asleep during my massage and facial as it was sooooooooooooo relaxing! Definitely recommended.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2010
Posted 5 years ago
would not go there again. the manicure was the worst i ever got. and i actually stopped her in the middle of it because i did not wanna get my nails ruined. i also was never offered the tea or cupcake..... the staff was not really well trained at all and not professional, nor friendly

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2010
Posted 5 years ago
very enjoyable and very friendly staff - only thing i would comment on would be the changing rooms were slightly untidy (the used towel and robe basket was overflowing...) and the cupcake was more of a fairy cake (delicious but tiny...)

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2010
Posted 5 years ago
I bought my voucher but have not been able to redeem it because the spa seems incapable of having anyone on the end of the phone to actually speak to. The whole booking thing is a bit of a joke and I still haven't managed to book since buying my voucher. Every time I phone the venue and answerphoneis on asking me to leave my number for someone to call me back on. I did that; eventually someone called and left me a message saying to ring them back. I rang back and a man then put me through to another line which turned out to be the answerphone message, so I gave up.

If it's this difficult to book an appointment I don't think I can be bothered. Incredibly frustrating.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2010
Posted 5 years ago
Nice atmosphere, although a little small - only 3 people allowed i the one jacuuzi at a time which could be a problem if there were a few people there. Sauna and steam room, provided towels, slippers and robes and nice toiletries in the bathroom. Also a relaxation room where we had tea and cake which was very nice. Overal would visit again as was great value for money through wahanda

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Posted 5 years ago
Lovely place, very relaxing and the teas were gorgeous. My assage was rfantastc and the rooms for treatments beautiful. My messaus and reception staff were very friendly and nothing was too much.

Only bad thing was that there was no swimming pool and you could only fit 3 people in the sauna (meaning that you had to wait if there were another 2 in there and you were in a couple / with a friend).

Afternoon tea was also just one cupcake so we ordered lunch too.

THe value of £20 was excellent and would use it again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2010
Posted 5 years ago
I ordered a back and shoulder massage for my mum as a treat. The date that was booked was the day after the snow fell in December so public transport was still not 100%. My mum was about 7-10 minutes late and the reception who was qute rude to her said she could not have her massage as they were too busy and she was late!
Ok, yes mum was late. But, the receptionist had not empathy for her having travelled in despite the odds and no understanding , she was quite rude and made my mother feel she did not fit in.
Not the treat I had intended.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2010
Posted 5 years ago
The hotel is in a bit of an out of the way location and there is no public transport nearby. The hotel is also a little bit sterile. The jacuzzi is nice but there is a maximum of three people in it and a cleaner was cleaning around us the whole time! The pedicure was fine though not the best I have had. They didn't have any cupcakes despite it being a cupcake tea. The experience was fine but I would say £20 was about the right price, not a great bargain.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2010
Posted 5 years ago
The Spa itself was lovely, the treatment really relaxing and nice. The only issue was that the spa is quite small. For a group of three of us it was fine, but a hen party was booked in on the same day as us, and I don't think they were told that the facilities were quite small.
However, the cupcake side of this deal was quite a let down. They had run out of cupcakes (which was fine, an alternative was being looked for). We had ours in the restaurant, and the staff there were terrible. Service was so slow, despite the staff outnumbering the customers. No cupcake arrived, but eventually we were given a desert (which must have been sitting in the fridge all night) with no explanation or apology that the cupcakes weren't forthcoming. When we tried the desert it had alcohol in it - not great following a 'mum to be massage'...
Overall the day was lovely, and the staff in the spa very nice. Thankfully we were all so relaxed by the time we went for 'cupcakes' that we found it all quite funny. But we could see that some of our fellow dinners didn't quite share our humour.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2010
Posted 5 years ago
Although we went on a busy day, and didn't have access to the jacuzzi/ sauna for a short while, this was more than compensated by the excellent value of the spa package and the delicious cupcake that came with it. Recommended!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 4 years ago
The venue was clean and well organised. I visited in a group of three but one of our bookings had been missed, but after some negotiation we were all fitted in. The staff were very professional and well trained, and the massage was very good (though not the best I've ever had). The facilities are excellent, particularly the sauna/steam room areas.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 5 years ago
I went with my partner and all i can say is amazing. I loved every minute from start to finish. Facilities are top notch and staff are friendly and professional. We took advantage of the 50% off in the restaurant Banyan on the Thames the food was amazing. I’m looking forward to going back again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 5 years ago
I went with my partner and all i can say is amazing. I loved every minute from start to finish. Facilities are top notch and staff are friendly and professional. We took advantage of the 50% off in the restaurant Banyan on the Thames the food was amazing. I’m looking forward to going back again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 5 years ago
I was 8 months pregnant when I went for my cupcake tea spa day (wow - just needed to get out the house). The staff were lovely and so helpful. The wet spa area is very small and I felt I was more in a gym than a spa. However the changing area, treatment rooms, reception, relaxation room were very spa like and you felt you could relax and get into the ambience.
My facial was fine, the therapist was lovely. Overall my experience was great, just what I needed....the offer for £20 - treatment, spa entry and cupcake....you really cannot go wrong!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 5 years ago
Went with a friend to the spa as a birthday treat. Its quite small and the if it got too busy it would be awful - thankfully there weren't too many other people there when we arrived. the changing rooms are tiny though and someone had stolen/lost most of the locker keys so we had to wait until one was free before we could start our experience (I asked the manager if there was anything he could do but unfortunately not!). Jacuzzi, Sauna and steam room were all good and my facial was ok as well. Overall it was good value but i probably wouldn't go again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 5 years ago
I went with two other girls and we all really enjoyed the afternoon. The only reason i didn't give top scores was that the facilities were very small, and you really couldn't have any more than 3 people in the spa area at any one time. The other slight downside was that they were an hour late seeing me for my treatment and they didn't keep me informed. Once I was seen though, the facial was very good - my skin felt great afterwards. Overall it was still a really lovely experience, finished off with a tasty cupcake in the restaurant area afterwards, which was a nice touch! I'll go back I'm sure!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel