Treatwell
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free Treatwell app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

3.8

305 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
Falcon Wharf,
34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
Falcon Wharf,
34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

3.8

Venue rating

Based on 305 reviews

5 stars 78
4 stars 120
3 stars 62
2 stars 31
1 star 14
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Acupuncture (1)
  • Backcials (1)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (9)
  • Body Treatments (4)
  • Body Wraps (36)
  • Hydrotherapy (3)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (2)
  • Face
  • Beauty Treatments (2)
  • Eyebrow and Eyelash Treatments (1)
  • Facial Rejuvenation Acupuncture (1)
  • Facials (73)
  • Facials - CACI (1)
  • Fitness
  • Personal Training (2)
  • Hair removal
  • Brazilian Waxing (1)
  • French Bikini Wax (1)
  • Hollywood Waxing (1)
  • Waxing (2)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (10)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (38)
  • Face Massage (1)
  • Foot Massage (1)
  • Herbal Compress Massage (3)
  • Pre and Post Natal Massage (1)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (2)
  • Swedish Massage (20)
  • Thai Massage (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (115)
  • Nails
  • Foot Scrub (1)
  • Manicure (32)
  • Paraffin Wax Treatments (1)
  • Pedicure (25)
  • Yoga & Pilates
  • Meditation (1)
  • Power Yoga (1)
  • Yoga (2)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited January 2014
Posted 2 years ago
Fantastic service- very attentive receptionist who made sure we were taken care of. Great views of the Thames from the relaxation room. Overall the spa is a little small and the steam room was not working however we still had a fantastic afternoon.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2014
Posted 2 years ago
I went for a Perfect Treatment for You Half Day Spa Getaway and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2014
Posted 2 years ago
I visited for my birthday, with my mum.

The receptionist was never on reception and a lot of unnecessary time was wasted waiting for her but other than this the experience was great. We were told to ask for our drinks when we were ready for it. The massages were excellent. The relaxation room had a beautiful view of the Thames and the steam room and sauna were empty, so my mum and I got to spend some real quality time with one another. The sauna and steam room are very small but everything was nice.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2013
Posted 2 years ago
I went for a 2 for 1 Exotic Coconut Ritual Wrap Spa Day Getaway and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2013
Posted 2 years ago
I went for a 2 for 1 Exotic Coconut Ritual Wrap Spa Day Getaway and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2013
Posted 2 years ago
The spa is brilliant. Everything you need and the staff really look after you. Overcrowding isnt a problem at all. Highly recommended

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2013
Posted 2 years ago
I went for a 2 for 1 Exotic Coconut Ritual Wrap Spa Day Getaway and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Posted 2 years ago
We came here for a spa day booked for my wife's birthday by our sons. The whole experience aside from the actual treatment was totally underwhelming. The girl behind the spa reception seemed bored and uninterested. She told us we could use the facilities during our day and then proceeded to show us - a tiny jacuzzi, a non-functioning small resistance pool and a mini steam room and sauna. Hardly a day's worth of activity! The changing rooms were small and none of the lockers had keys so we had to take all out belongings back to the reception for them to put our stuff in their room behind the desk. It was, quite frankly, a bit of a shambles. The only good thing, and what we actually came for, was the treatment itself. That was well carried out and we thoroughly enjoyed it. I wouldn't bother coming back here though.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2013
Posted 2 years ago
The abience was not very great so that was quite disappointing . The steam room was out of order. The package was worth it as the treatment was very good and well worth the amount paid. Can tend to get very busy as it is a very very tiny spa :(

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Posted 2 years ago
The spa is situated in a hotel 10 mins bus ride (170) from Clapham Junction . On arrival was pleasantly greeted and updated on the arrangements for the day. As my treatment times were deferrred I decided to go to the relaxation room for short while. To my surpise the room was more of a lounge , well decorated and pleasant but not the type of set up I was expecting. One could not elevate their legs, the room had glass walls to had plenty of natural light not condusive for really chilling out. After my complimentary refreshment i decided to have lunch and was told that I would get 50% off. On entrance to the restaurant the offer was confirmed with signage and by the waitress. I was totally surprised that when I tried to place my order for lunch (burger and Chips) and pudding that my choice was not eligible as was deemed a snack! I decided not to get into a debate and took myself back to Clapham Junction and enjoyed Scampi and chips. I reluctantly returned to the hotel to salvage my day. Found that the locker did not lock (new ones on order) and whilst there was the offer of the spa receptionist sticking it in a cupboard I did not feel comfortable as the girls were busy and area not always manned. The jacuzzi was nice and hot but only had capacity for 3 people. The steam room and sauna took 5 -6 people. Neither had egg timers. There were no loungers in the jacuzzi area of shower to rinse of between sauna etc.

What really saved the day for me and why the overall mark is so high was my therapist (Billy Jean) and my treatments. She really looked after me . My feet were unrecognisible after the pedicure. Despite being the last customer she took her time and was very thorough and professional. It is really down to BJ that I would reconsider going back for more treatments (not the facilities). On another note the other spa staff were pleasant and the place was clean and they used very good products. With tweaking the owner can turn that place around to make it a true spa experience but as it i now not really on par with some of the spa experience offered by many.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Posted 2 years ago
The musleaese massage was out of this world but sadly the venue was a huge let down, the towels and
robes were discoloured, my disapointement started as soon as I saw how the robes and towels were stored
untidily behind the spa reception, for a five star hotel spa the cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired, wholes around the jacuzzi was filthy, the showers were not properly cleaned, the tables in the relaxation area were dirty.

I would definetly book the therapist if she is working somewhere else as they are the only good thing about
the spa.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2013
Posted 2 years ago
I found the day thoroughly relaxing and it was great value for money. I would consider going again and trying out further treatments that are on offer. Definitely worth a visit.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Posted 2 years ago
I felt the whole experience was really worth the money. The staff both at main reception & the Spa reception were polite & very keen to help.

The facilities were really nice & every thing was clean and just a pleasant environment to be in.

I would recommend the day to any of my friends or family.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited June 2013
Posted 2 years ago
This was the second visit, and the ambience and facilities are just great when you go on a weekday. Started off in the gym and then wanted to use the steam room which was apparently working this time, but it didn't actually seem to work. However, the jacuzzi, sauna and hydro pool all were and were great.
I had a massage and mini facial, then stay in the bath filled with salts and light therapy with a glass of champagne and aloe Vera juice. My therapist wasn't as strong as the therapist I had before, as when even when I asked her to apply more pressure, it was milder stronger from feeling as if she was simply stroking my back. My boyfriend, however, said his therapist was amazing and managed to reduce all the knots in his back. The mini facial was great as my skin felt really smooth even days afterwards, and the stay in the bath was perfectly romantic.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2013
Posted 2 years ago
Best massage around.

Was offered champagne instead of cake as I have a nut allergy and the only cake they had included nuts. Great swap!

Staff friendly, facilities good. Will go back.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2013
Posted 3 years ago
Very nice, quiet laxing day. Good facilities, River view realxation room is particularly nice. Helpfdul and attentive staff. all in all - a real treat and a very good value for money with the Wahanda voucher.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Posted 3 years ago
I booked the "Exotic Coconut Ritual Wrap Spa Day" as a birthday gift. The treatments and therapist was great. Unfortunately, the front of house staff and facilities really let it down. When i initially called the lady on the phone booked us in for the wrong month so there was some confusion and as a result we couldn't get the time we wanted on the day of our choice. They did offer a further glass of champagne as an apology. However, I had to constantly remind staff that we were due our glasses of champagne and juice. There's a sign at reception stating that if you "don't ask you don't get", which felt like the wrong attitude for something I had booked in advanced. I wanted a care-free and relaxing day and not to have to keep reminding staff what drinks we had as part of our deal. They then arrived all at once which meant the champagne became warm by the second glass.

If you're planning a day of it and to use the restaurant you cannot stay in your robes, like in some Spa's, or get food delivered from the restaurant to the relaxation room, so you have to leave the facilities when you get hungry! We went on a Saturday and the place is quite small, so with around 8 couples it felt crowded. The Jacuzzi can only hold 3 people at a time, as can the steam room and sauna. To get to the relaxation room you have to walk through the gym, which is used by hotel guests too, so the whole feel isn't particularly relaxing.

The relaxation room is nice with views of the river. However, you are quite close to other guests and again it doesn't really feel like it can accommodate more than 8 people. I found the whole experience quite embarrassing as this was supposed to be a birthday treat for my friend and instead it felt like we were being rushed and not looked after.

I think if i lived closer and could book on a weekday then perhaps the experience would have been better. The treatments are really well executed but it doesn't work as a package. You certainly can't spend the day here, a couple of hours at most.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Posted 3 years ago
I went with my sister on a Tuesday. It was pretty much empty so we had the whole place to ourselves. We spent an entire day here 10:30-6pm.
The staff were great and the place, although small, was quaint. There was a Buddhist theme to it which was 'relaxing'.
The deep tissue massage was great. The body wrap was OK. The food at the Banyan on Thames was great. Views out of the relaxation room were fabulous as were our nutmeg and vanilla teas!
I think if we had come on a different day we would have been disappointed if we had to share the space with other people.
I was determined to stay there as long as possible but I can imagine if you were only there for a couple of hours you'd be disappointed. For the price we paid we saved at least £80 on treatments but I don't think they should have been priced as heavily as they were. On the whole I would recommend on a weekday morning with an open mind as it can be great when your only one of a few people there :)

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Posted 3 years ago
Worst experience I have ever received in a place where customer service is meant to be their foremost concern, I arrived at the spa maybe 10-15 minutes late, one of the staff I think her name was Mellissa behind the reception came over after asking me to sit down and explained that I couldn’t have my treatment as it would be two hours and they were fully booked, I was shocked when hearing this as I had come a far distance for these treatment, I wasn’t informed on any timing issues prior to arriving. I was upset about this to start with and said I would like to go ahead with the treatments regardless of the lost time, I also had someone accompanying me who was a little late, whilst waiting for my company they were on their computers trying to justify their mistakes, another rude woman called Christina eastern European lady with a very bad attitude told me to look at a screen in which said I was to arrive at the spa at so and so time and it would be 2hours…I never received any of this information, the information I was going by was the one I had received on the phone which did not entail this. I studied the screen for a while and realised that that my name for my email address was spelt incorrectly, this bemused me as I had spelt my email address out to the same lady over the phone, she had not only made one mistake but two, this infuriated me even further, she then went on to say that I had fabricated my booking in not so many words, I was shocked beyond words, I told her I needn’t lie, it was unnecessary, I then showed her my phone and my emails and how my name should have been spelt, she then pulled up my telephone number and said I should have received a text….i received no text message, I told her to show me the number, upon inspection I saw that they had negligently put 12 digits instead of 11, I had had enough at this point, I asked for a refund, she told me I couldn’t get one, I knew this was a myth as she had made not one mistake but two mistake causing several losses on my behalf, they told me to call the agency in which I had booked through, but they didn’t think I would receive a refund, Mellissa then went on to say I could have my 2hour treatment after 20mins, I refused, she had lied initially in saying she was fully booked, these people could not be trusted around my body or belongings, all in all I did receive a full refund, however I would not recommend this place to anyone, simple jobs could not be executed to the efficiently expected at, I could only imagine what the actual spa would have been like, this is a god forsaken place.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2013
Posted 3 years ago
River Wellbeing Spa at The Hotel Rafayel is well located and has a great ambiance. The facilities are well looked after and clean. Their staff is attentive and polite so I definitely recommend a visit.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel