Treatwell
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free Treatwell app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

3.8

307 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
Falcon Wharf,
34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

River Wellbeing Spa at Hotel Rafayel at The Hotel Rafayel
Falcon Wharf,
34 Lombard Road, London, SW11 3RF
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

3.8

Venue rating

Based on 307 reviews

5 stars 79
4 stars 121
3 stars 62
2 stars 31
1 star 14
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Acupuncture (1)
  • Backcials (1)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (9)
  • Body Treatments (4)
  • Body Wraps (37)
  • Hydrotherapy (3)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (2)
  • Face
  • Beauty Treatments (2)
  • Eyebrow and Eyelash Treatments (1)
  • Facial Rejuvenation Acupuncture (1)
  • Facials (74)
  • Facials - CACI (1)
  • Fitness
  • Personal Training (2)
  • Hair removal
  • Brazilian Waxing (1)
  • French Bikini Wax (1)
  • Hollywood Waxing (1)
  • Waxing (2)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (11)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (38)
  • Face Massage (1)
  • Foot Massage (1)
  • Herbal Compress Massage (3)
  • Pre and Post Natal Massage (1)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (2)
  • Swedish Massage (20)
  • Thai Massage (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (115)
  • Nails
  • Foot Scrub (1)
  • Manicure (32)
  • Paraffin Wax Treatments (1)
  • Pedicure (25)
  • Yoga & Pilates
  • Meditation (1)
  • Power Yoga (1)
  • Yoga (2)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 5 years ago
My girlfriend took me to this and well... I enjoyed spending time with her, but there are too many buts!
Place was too small. Steam room too hot. Sauna not hot enough. Whirlpool tiny (only for 2 people).
Therapist awfully uninterested, but tea and cupcakes were yummi.
Would I go back? No way.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 5 years ago
The location was alright. I was told by the receptionist at booking time that there were not parking spaces in the area but that they did a valet parking for the day for £15. I took my chances and it paid off as around the corner there were many free parking spaces!
On arrival, the receptionist (who is also one of the therapist, blonde lady), was having a very loud private conversation over the telephone regarding her medical appointment, which it was very unprofessional. Fortunately, I had another therapist (brunnette lady) for my treatment, but unfortunately for my partner, he had that same unprofessional therapist and his treatment was rather poor and sloppy. However, my therapist, on her first day at the salon, did a magnificent job which I would be happy to recommend.
Overall, treatment was good for me, the cupcakes and tea were delicious, the spa facilities too small (for only 2 people at the time really, so we had to wait for other couples to vacate the facilities before using). Keep this in mind if you are taking the day off for this experience as 2 hours is more than plenty!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 5 years ago
The cupcake day offer was great value, and we had a lovely day. The staff were friendly and relaxed and we felt very welcome. They didn't always get orders right (eg we got the wrong tea and they had some trouble on who was having which treatment) but were always very nice and responsive.

The atmosphere was progressively more relaxed throughout our day as the spa became more empty. Actually when there was another group in any of the areas, it could feel too crowded - there were only limited spaces in each area.

The facilities were lovely - everywhere was spotlessly clean and well maintained. The jacuzzi overflowed a bit so it could be a bit wet but that really wasn't a problem. We could have done with more drinking water available throughout the area, but the staff at reception did bring more on request. And the cupcakes were lovely!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 5 years ago
I am going to be looking forward to visiting this place again, it was lovely, and as a cup cake lover i wasnt disappointed with the after noon tea either! i recommend this highly, you will not be disappointed.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 5 years ago
I visited the Spa with my husband and we both had a 30 min massage. The Spa is quite pleasant although very small. There aren't enough facilities for everyone. Because we arrived a couple of minutes after a group of three friends we missed out on using the jacuzzi. The receptionist and theraptists were very nice and polite and genuinely tried to make our visit enjoyable. I thought it was really good value through the deal but because of its size and location I wouldn't go with the normal prices.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 5 years ago
the massage was nice but short; the place is really great, good for a relaxing Saturday afternoon. The pool area and the changing room was really nice and clean, but there are only 3 people allowed in the jakuzzi at one time. we liked the cupcakes and the tea as well, it was a good value!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 5 years ago
I had a very refreshing and professional massage. The cupcake was very nice in the hotel's restaurant overlooking to the river. Deffinitely recommended to everyone. I also might go back again. :)

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 5 years ago
The reception staff were very dis-organised and didn't seem to know what was going on, they were running very late which meant we didn't get our facials till an hour after we had booked them. It was very annoying as people who had booked their treatments after us went in before us even though we were all sitting in the reception area and the reception staff knew our booking time. Saying that though the facial was amazing and the therapists me and my friend had were brilliant, would definitely go back again for the facial but will allow more time for late running appointments.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 5 years ago
Well worth the discounted price. The wellbeing experience was great and cupcakes after in the restaurant was the icing on the cake so to speak. spa facilities are ok, jacuzzi, sauna and small gym so similar to what you'd find to a regular gym.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 5 years ago
This is my second visit to River Wellbeing and on both occasions have found the staff and facilities to be top notch. Would highly recommend if you feel like escaping the stresses of life and indulging in some self pampering.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2010
Posted 5 years ago
I had a lovely relaxing day at the Spa. It was a shame that they do not have a pool as I missed this. The staff were attentive and friendly and overall I came away feeling relaxed, which was the whole point!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2010
Posted 5 years ago
This is one of those places which better serves regulars than newbies, due to the overall poor communication from staff about what's on offer and how to access it. The jacuzzi typifies this. When I arrived, a woman was using the jacuzzi and had been in it for several minutes. I joined her and wondered why the bubbling was so tame; she was as bemused as me, and we both eventually got out, unimpressed. Then a couple arrived and went through the same farcical headsratching. Eventually a passing member of staff was accosted and pointed out the highly discreet button that makes the jacuzzi spring into action. I feel that the reception could have mentioned the gym facility when I phoned to book, and perhaps prompted me to bring suitable kit to use it; I didn't and got turfed out of the gym seconds after entering it for not wearing the correct attire. The massage was good and very relaxing. And to finish, both of the showers in the gents changing room were out of order and the staff were only aware of one being down, so I had to go elsewhere to shower off. So, a clean place, good facilities, polite staff, a good massage, but poor organisation and poor communication tend to mar the experience.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2010
Posted 5 years ago
My daughter took me for my birthday; I had a wonderful time and would definitely go back again. We had dinner at the hotels restaurant I am a very fussy eater but was so impressed with my food I left a hefty tip. I’m looking forward to my next trip to the Spa and restaurant and have recommended it to friends and family.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2010
Posted 5 years ago
I took my mum for her birthday and we had a fabulous day and my mum loved it. Be sure to grab some lunch in Banyan on the Thames the hotels restaurant the food is amazing as well as the ambiance and staff. I will definitely go back again and again
xx

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2010
Posted 5 years ago
The place was a little hidden it is about 15mins walk from Station. Once there I was really impressed with the place :) The place is very clean & posh - the massage therapist was very nice and the massage was very relaxing. Got taken into the relaxation room after for our tea and cakes before heading to the spa. The only negative is that the jacuzzi is so small - only allowed 3 people and we had 5 so we had to alternate who went into the sauna/steam room etc. Robes and towels were supplied. All in all a very nice afternoon had.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2010
Posted 5 years ago
My lovely friend bought me this voucher so we could have a relaxing spa day and we were really looking forward to it. But unfortunately it wasn't what we'd expected. Massages weren't the best we've had, there was an annoying couple who kept hogging all the facilities, and you had to pay an extra £10 to use the training pool.

Another disappointment was that there wasn't any shampoo in the changing rooms, only conditioner. The quality of the products was not good. Especially for a five star establishment. And one of the two showers was out of order.

At the end of our visit we had to eat our cupcakes in the lobby because the loved up coupled had commandeered the relaxation room. The cupcakes were a key attraction to the spa package but the ones we had were rock hard! They were stale and had been stored in the fridge. We were given replacements but suspect the staff put them in the microwave because they were luke warm , the icing was melting, yet they were clearly not fresh out of the oven. Oh dear! They were pretty toxic creations anyway.

Not a relaxing experience and we won't be going back. It's a shame because the spa facilities were lovely, just poorly managed.


Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2010
Posted 5 years ago
It was a beautiful hotel and spa facilities were lovely and it has the potential to be very good but I think the staff are still learning the ropes so quite a few mistakes were made and they werent as friendly as they should have been. As its new there were quite a few workman walking through to naturally sort out things but this was a little off putting when you are walking around in your bathrobe! The cup cake and tea were delicious. I would try it again as the facilities are lovely and the massage a good price and would just hope the teething problems have been ironed out.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2010
Posted 5 years ago
Was a really fab day in a wonderful relaxing environment. Free shuttle provided from the tube station which was really welcome as hotel was a bit out of the way (only downside really). Were not many people there which was great as cant imagine what it would be like with many more as although great facilities space is limited. Absolutely loved the decor! Will definitely go again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2010
Posted 5 years ago
I wouldn't attend another event, to be honest, the receptionist was rude and unhelpful (Rocio). The location I was given was not at all close, and it was compounded by her not understanding simple directions. She was curt and needs hospitality training. Not recommended at all.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Posted 5 years ago
It is a very well-designed place, facilities are in great shape. The Gym has every machine one can needs, post work out a great 4 seated steam room, a good sized well maintained sauna and a 4 person Jacuzzi. Users overlook the requirement that they should wait 30 seconds instead of entering one after the other, the Jacuzzi is most likely fully primed and designed as top filed Jacuzzi, it needs patience, spill over by the clients lead to some spill , it is al lovely well designed and a has ambient lighting. SPA has four treatment rooms I have been to all, well appointment and very graciously selected. I like the place small but beautiful where you feel a part and not an 'object' in a enormous place.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

5 years ago
i agree with that.
i think people feel good outside when they feel good inside.
its a small place but very cozy and friendly.

Report as inappropriate