Treatwell
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free Treatwell app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.5

89 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
Moddershall Oaks
Moddershall Oaks
Moddershall,
Stone, Staffordshire, ST15 8TG
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

Moddershall Oaks
Moddershall,
Stone, Staffordshire, ST15 8TG
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.5

Venue rating

Based on 89 reviews

5 stars 51
4 stars 28
3 stars 8
2 stars 1
1 star 1
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Body Wraps (2)
  • Hydrotherapy (4)
  • Spray Tanning and Sunless Tanning (2)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (10)
  • Counselling & Holistic
  • Aromatherapy (1)
  • Face
  • Facials (17)
  • Facials - Men's (1)
  • Fitness
  • Biking (2)
  • Swimming (11)
  • Tennis (6)
  • Hair
  • Haircuts and Hairdressing (1)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (8)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (7)
  • Face Massage (2)
  • Hot Stone Massage (3)
  • Indian Head Massage (3)
  • Lava Shells Massage (2)
  • Pregnancy Massage (1)
  • Swedish Massage (3)
  • Therapeutic Massage (12)
  • Nails
  • Gel Nails (1)
  • Manicure (4)
  • Pedicure (3)
Show more
Verified review Visited January 2014
Posted 2 years ago
"I Stayed at Moddershall Oaks this weekend with my Husband as a birthday treat! It defiantly was a treat and can guarantee that we will be visiting again soon. We checked in at 3 and we were shown to our room by very friendly member of staff, the relaxation started almost immediately. The rooms are truly 5* they're clean and full of luxury treats, with everything you should need for a relaxing break. The spa facilities are great, the spa pool and jets are so lovely! I had a exotic body scrub, which was expertly done and made my skin feel wonderful, thanks Rebecca. My husband had a deep tissue massage and said he felt like he had floated out of the treatment room. We finished our spa day in the outdoor hot tub located outside our room, great way to finish a relaxing day with a glass of bubbly under the stars! The restaurant is truly fabulous, the best spa restaurant Ive ever been to by far. Service was wonderful and the food was truly scrummy! We had wonderful spa break, from great service (with a smile), fab food and great facilities. We will be visiting again....hopefully very soon. Thanks to all at Moddershall for a fabulously relaxing break!!!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2013
Posted 2 years ago
I went for a One Night Exclusive Treat a Friend Spa Break and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2013
Posted 2 years ago
Lovely secluded location. Food was lovely but lunch time menu wasn't suited to small bites to eat. Staff were very friendly and helpful especially those on reception. The room was large, clean and relaxing.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2013
Posted 2 years ago
I went for a Revitalising Spa Day Getaway for Two and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2013
Posted 2 years ago
I went for a One Night Spa Break Getaway and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2013
Posted 2 years ago
I went for a One Night Spa Break Getaway and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2013
Posted 2 years ago
I went for a One Night Spa Break Getaway and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2013
Posted 3 years ago
My wife and I stayed for 3nights and found this place absolutely excellent! The Reception Staff were very friendly and approachable and never stopped smilling.The Room was excellent and relaxing and loved the turn down service in the evenings. Food was excellent and again so was the staff especially Ivan who made us feel at home and chatted with us every day. Facilities here are definitely 5* and we both enjoyed haviing the freedom to just wonder around and use whatever facillities took our fancy.
Would highly recommend this place to anyone wishing to have a relaxing luxury break and we will definitely be back!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited June 2013
Posted 3 years ago
Lovely place with beautiful views over the lake from the bar for indulging in a post treatment drink. Very professional and helpful staff carried out the treatment with good results.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Posted 3 years ago
had this treatment and I enjoyed it (when I was awake) Bought for a friends birthday

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Posted 3 years ago
Stayed very recently and left far from impressed! Bought their couples luxury spa retreat weekend product - 2nights, bkfast, lunch, dinner and 1 treatment each included. As this was my partners treat for her birthday, we bought another treatment each ready to make it our special weekend.
Not cheap!
We recieved all info' and began planning what we wanted for our special weekend, being quite particular about which treatments we both wanted e.t.c. Then rang their reception and booked it all.

My partner goes for first treatment, is asked to enter a room and strip ready for her seaweed thingy, while the staff wait outside, they then come in and say that they havent got any seaweed, how about a facial?
Bearing in mind we'd planned everything, had been there 2hrs and no-one said anything, waited until my partner was virtually naked to say anything, putting pressure on my partner in a vunerable position to make a snap decision. Great start to our 'special weekend' eh!
Reception girls said that a manager would come and find us to resolve the issue before we checked out, but never did, we had to chase her up, which leads to this review, but more on that at the end.
We were very briefly shown to our room, which was nice enough, but showing its age and with only 1 plug socket?! Take an extension lead if i were you.
We pop to Spa pool, for a sauna, steam and soak, again looking aged, we use the spa jacuzzi and my partner steps on something, picks object off bottom to find its part of the surrounds.!
Hmm...
On way back after dinner, we stop at reception for some cartons of milk and Tbags, the girl rummages through some draws to scrape together some old bits from the back of the draw, which turned out to be 'off ' ! Can you see a pattern forming here?
If you need anything after 9pm forget it, once reception finish for the day, its just the bar and restaurant staff who are busy as it is.
No management onsite or night guard to deal with any issues.! Fingers crossed theres never a fire.

Were pretty easy going and laughed off most of the things that happened over the weekend until, we finally did get to speak with a manager,(re- lack of seaweed issue) who tried to tell us that because my partner refused an alternative treatment offered that we werent entitled to a refund. Oh really.!
What she should've done, was to get the full details about our issue before trying to fob us off with not a very well put ' company policy response', as the seaweed treatment was 1 of the extra treatments we booked beside the spa package, which didnt fit into their 'company policy response ' and they had to refund.
Shame really, so much of this could've been avoided, but we'll certainly NEVER go back! Better off at centre parcs.
Bad News Travels Further, For Longer!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited June 2013
Posted 3 years ago
Food was not bad. Went for a hot stone massage. Was not worth the money. Rooms aare lovely, t he view is nice. Staff is nice and friendly. I feel they can improve the SPA facilities.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2013
Posted 3 years ago
was bought as a present - really enjoyed the day. staff were very friendly and is in a lovely location' Felt I had a lot of benefit from the treatment and would definitely recommend the whole experience

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2013
Posted 3 years ago
I would have awarded top marks if the staff were more attentive in the restaurant and treatment reception.

Afternoon tea was part of the package. We'd advised them that I was a vegetarian and requested the sandwiches separate to the meat ones and without chutney; however, this was not complied with. Also, they forgot to bring the milk and sugar, so I had to search for a staff member. It took the shine off a special Birthday tea.

The therapy room reception was very dark and the receptionist didn't acknowledge us. They missed a trick by not promoting their products.


Other negatives were that the relaxation lounge was too cold, the changing rooms too small and not enough beds in the pool area. Having said that, I would go back again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Posted 3 years ago
3 friends and I went along to a Spa Event at Moddershall Oaks - What a lovely place!! The staff were brilliant - although a "free" event - we were treated so well. Everything was great - the treatments, the atmosphere and the complimentary refreshments. I have since returned there with a friend for a spa break.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited June 2012
Posted 4 years ago
Had a lovely morning at Moddershall Oaks. Loved the treatments . The staff were very pleasant and friendly. I was very pleased with the results too. Beautiful place in lovely surroundings.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited June 2012
Posted 4 years ago
I HAVE BEEN TO MODDERSHALL REGULARLY AND ALWAYS HAD A FANTASTIC RELAXING EXPERIENCE AND THIS TIME WAS NO EXCEPTION UNTIL WE WENT TO PAY OUR BILL. ANYONE WHO GOES TAKE NOTE... AS ME AND MY FRIEND FOUND OUT THIS TIME, IF THE SPA CHARGES YOU INCORRECTLY WHEN YOU GET YOUR FINAL BILL BEFORE YOU LEAVE, THEY WILL MAKE YOU PAY THE BILL REGARDLESS UNTIL THEY CAN PROVE YOU ARE NOT LYING!! MY FRIEND AND I WERE CHARGED FOR CHAMPAGNE WE NEVER HAD AND DIDNT CHARGE US THE COKE AND BEER WE HAD AT LUNCH. INSTEAD OF BELIEVING US AND APOLOGISING THAT THEY HAD MADE A MISTAKE, THEY TOLD US WE HAD TO PAY THE BILL AS IT WAS AS THE BARLADY WHO SERVED US HAD GONE HOME AND COULDN'T VOUCH FOR WHAT DRINKS WE ACTUALLY HAD. WHEN WE COMPLAINED THE MANAGER ON DUTY WOULDN'T EVEN COME OUT AND SPEAK TO US AND TOLD THE RECEPTIONIST WE HAD TO PAY FOT THE CHAMPAGNE THAT WAS ON THE BILL!! NEEDLESS TO SAY THIS RUINED OUR DAY AND THE SPA RUNG US THE NEXT DAY AFTER SPEAKING WITH THE MEMBER OF STAFF ON DUTY WHO CONFIRMED WE NEVER DRANK CHAMPAGNE AND THEY GAVE US THE MONEY THEY OWED US AND HAD TO SEND US VOUCHERS FOR THE WAY WE WAS TREATED. THEREFORE NOTE TO ANYONE WHO GOES TO THIS SPA- CHECK YOUR BILL AND BE PREPARED TO PAY FOR THE SPAS MISTAKE!!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Posted 4 years ago
I have been to Moddershall Oaks twice in all, the first time i went the hydrotherapy pool was cold and unusable, the staff said nothing about this on arrival. Two ladies in the spa who had come for a spa day, had been given complimentary use of the spa on another day, because of this..but i was offered nothing!!.....the 2nd visit didnt go without a hitch either, with a mix up over treatments,. So much for the relaxation!., selling products and making money seems to come first, Customer satisfaction seems to come second ...Very disappointing.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited May 2012
Posted 4 years ago
This break was perfect for a b-day chill out couple of days.
The staff were excellent, knowledgeable and friendly. The rooms are lovely and were large and clean with an African feel, slept well as quite and rural.
We spent time in the spa, gym, playing tennis and walking. Food and treatments were great this is a fantastic place to recharge the batteries.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2012
Posted 4 years ago
Had a lovely afternoon. Lovely venue. I really enjoyed the treatments I received and will definitely be going back to try the spa, gym and restaurant. Would definitely recommend this to anyone of all ages

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel