Treatwell: Beauty Salon Booking & Appointment App
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

3.9

233 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
The Spa at The Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa
The Spa at The Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa
Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa,
Cobblers Cross Lane, Cheshire, Tarporley, CW6 0DJ
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

The Spa at The Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa
Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa,
Cobblers Cross Lane, Cheshire, Tarporley, CW6 0DJ
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

3.9

Chain rating

Based on 233 reviews

5 stars 89
4 stars 80
3 stars 48
2 stars 9
1 star 7
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (25)
  • Body Treatments (13)
  • Cellulite Treatments (7)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (74)
  • Face
  • Facials (75)
  • Fitness
  • Golf (6)
  • Swimming (74)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (6)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (79)
  • Hot Stone Massage (24)
  • Indian Head Massage (15)
  • Sports Massage (3)
  • Swedish Massage (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (16)
  • Nails
  • Manicure (33)
  • Pedicure (38)
Show more
Verified review Visited May 2016
Posted 6 months ago
It was our 1st for a spa day and can't say it was that fantastic... I was expecting it to be very relaxing and value for money!!
The all inclusive lunch was awful

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited May 2016
Posted 6 months ago
Lovely staff, venue could do with a bit of tarting up.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2016
Posted 7 months ago
Fabulous professional staff, nothing too much trouble. Afternoon tea the cakes were very warm like they had been left out for quote a while and the scones were rock hard and stale. They did replace the scones though with fresh hot ones which were lovely. Lunch was moved to the refreshment room as they had a big conference in which wasn't as pleasant an experience. The glass on the steam sauna rooms were dirty and the end steam room had a long crack covered in rust above it which spoilt a beautiful area and showed lack of care and attention. I had visited previously so new what to expect and my friend didn't receive the welcome to your feet nor the head massage like I had received previously and I myself did on this occasion as we both had the same treatments

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2016
Posted 7 months ago
I booked this spa day to celebrate my daughters 21st. I have since made a complaint direct to the hotel. The hygiene is awful, the steam room, showers filthy. We could not even shower as the showers were full of lime scale and smelt dirty. There was hair stuck in the drains, it was absolutely shocking. The facial & afternoon tea was excellent and it was a good job or I would have walked out! The relaxation room was untidy and dirty glasses had not been collected or replaced from the morning so we couldn't have a drink in the afternoon. I was completely let down by this experience and hope to hear from the hotel in due course.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2016
Posted 7 months ago
Just a shame we weren't warned that from 3pm the pool was open to children, the place suddenly became very loud and not very relaxing! We would have arranged our treatments for later in the day and enjoyed the morning in the spa had we known!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited March 2016
Posted 8 months ago
I went for a One Night Rejuvenate Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited March 2016
Posted 8 months ago
I went for a One Night Rejuvenate Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 10 months ago
I went for a Cream Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 10 months ago
Another fantastic spa day at the Macdonald Portal. definitely my favourite place to spend the day chilling out.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 10 months ago
Sauna, steam rooms were lovely. Unfortunately the pool side and pool were very cold, with a leaky roof, meaning most of the seats were out of use and it was too cold sit and relax on the poolside. The showers in the changing room were also cold. Changing room and facilities were very clean. Relaxation room was very nice. There were 5 of us and most had good treatments although some were rushed and cut 10 mins short. Sadly it was not the relaxing treat we had hoped for.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 10 months ago
The overall all spa experience was very nice but the spa needs to do better on cleanliness:
Toilet roll on the floor in the toilets all day (no one must clean/check, bins in treatment rooms & toilets were full & could not be closed, items (including a razor) left disguarded on shower area floor.

The treatments themselves were lovely however I feel the therapist may have benefited from a massage bench that had an adjustable height as she seem to struggle reaching me at some points.

The spa lounge area didn't have much character & left more like a works canteen. The relaxation on the other hand was lovely & relaxing.

The food in the lounge was nice but the menu choice was a little limited if you are a fussy eater like myself.

Overall I would return but the hotel needs to improve its cleanliness.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 10 months ago
I went for a One Night Rejuvenate Spa Break and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 10 months ago
I went for a Cream Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 10 months ago
Very good value for money. Staff very helpful and facilities were good. Scones a little overcooked which was a shame, but ciabattas which we bought outside the deal were delicious. An enjoyable day.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 11 months ago
I went for a Cream Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 11 months ago
Lovely treatments by friendly staff. Good value package through wahanda. Nice facilities and quite quiet on a weekday when we went which was great.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 11 months ago
The spa staff where very good, the treatment I had was a hot stone massage it was excellent. The shower cubicles had mild/slime on the screens, the shower area in the main pool also had brown slimy mild in the floor as you entered.
The relaxation room was lovely but the music being played was Christmas music, we would of preferred quite relaxing music, my sister also said during her treatment lively Christmas music was playing, this really was not suitable during a relaxing facial.
We enjoyed the day but it would of been better if the above things hadn't occurred.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 11 months ago
A lovely relaxing day, really recommend this experience to everyone.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 11 months ago
I went for a Tranquillity Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Cream Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel