Treatwell
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free Treatwell app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.0

212 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa
Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa
Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa,
Cobblers Cross Lane, Cheshire, Tarporley, CW6 0DJ
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa
Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa,
Cobblers Cross Lane, Cheshire, Tarporley, CW6 0DJ
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.0

Chain rating

Based on 212 reviews

5 stars 85
4 stars 70
3 stars 41
2 stars 9
1 star 7
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (17)
  • Body Treatments (13)
  • Cellulite Treatments (7)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (59)
  • Face
  • Beauty Treatments (1)
  • Facials (63)
  • Fitness
  • Golf (6)
  • Swimming (58)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (6)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (68)
  • Indian Head Massage (15)
  • Sports Massage (1)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (22)
  • Swedish Massage (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (15)
  • Nails
  • Foot Scrub (2)
  • Manicure (26)
  • Pedicure (30)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 6 months ago
Lovely relaxing break. Staff were very good.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 6 months ago
I went for the Afternoon Tea Spa day with a friend and really enjoyed it. Having already had the chosen treatment before I didn't find it matched up to previous occasions, but this did not make the day any less enjoyable.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 7 months ago
I went for a Cream Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 7 months ago
Really happy with our experience, great facilities, lovely lunch. Really good value for money.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 7 months ago
A really enjoyable birthday treat, attentive staff and great amenities. Would recommend to a friend and look forward to enjoying future special offers.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 7 months ago
I went for a Cream Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 7 months ago
Lovely spa day for myself and my daughter - the treatments were excellent with lovely staff, though the pool is a bit utilitarian. However the day was marred by the inadequacy of the bar area where we were required to eat - got the feeling they didn't want us in their restaurant! The service was terrible, staff surly, food not very good - though the manager Jon tried to assure us that steps would be taken to improve things. I do hope so or we will not be returning.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 7 months ago
I can for a cream tea spa day with my mum and sister, we had a lovely time, I can't really fault anything with the hotel and spa. The grounds surrounding the hotel and golf course are beautiful! We all had a deep tissue back massage, which was great! All the facilities are clean and well looked after. The only small thing we were slightly disappointed about was there was no jacuzzi, and there wasn't many spa facilities. The aroma steam room is great though! All together it was a cheap and cheerful day out

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 7 months ago
Had a cream tea spa day, the treatments were great. Really let down by the bar staff they were terrible the food was off and made one of my friends sick, we haven't even heard back from the hotel. I would not recommend.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 8 months ago
I went for a Spa Day Incl. 60 Minute Treatment for Two and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 7 months ago
The bar/lounge area is very bland, and geared more towards groups of golfers.
we reserved a dinner table for each evening in advance, only to be told when we arrived that nothing had been reserved and the restaurant was now fully booked.....
the bottle of bubbly & fruit in the room that we paid for wasn't there.....and our inclusive lunch in the Spa, they forgot to do.....
The swimming pool was being used for an aqua - aerobics classes.....so couldn't use for some time....all in all very average

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 8 months ago
Had a great spa day overall, treatment was good, staff were friendly and helpful and amenities were great. The only thing i would of liked is to have known how long it would have taken to register at the reception and be shown around. As the confirmation said to arrive 15 minutes prior to your booking time which we did, however it took about 5-10 minutes for reception to check us in/register us and show us where everything was. We were then told we would be collected 5-10 minutes before our treatment was due to start but by this point we only had 5 minutes spare and still had to get changed and to the waiting area. This then meant we lost over 5 minutes of our massage time if not more. I would suggest advising guests to arrive 30 minutes before! But apart from that everything was great!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 8 months ago
Basically when we arrived they did not have the booking, had to scrabble around on my ipad to get it and despite them saying that it could have been the other hotel nearby when we could prove it was at Portal they did not even apologise. Told that we had to eat at 6 pm or half six (too early for us) and that we absolutely had to - my husband went to the staff in the dining room and asked would half 8 be ok - "absolutely fine" they said....we noticed that the dining room was empty at 8 when we walked past so lord knows why we were told that. The girl seemed to take delight in the power ..bizarre / would not go back

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 8 months ago
Aromatic Steam Room, Ice Room and Sauna were out of order when we went. Swimming facilities good and staff were very friendly. Food was limited but good for the price. Massage tables were a bit thin and I never felt fully relaxed whilst trying to keep my arms from falling off the sides.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 8 months ago
I went for a Cream Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 8 months ago
This was a delightful birthday treat for me with my sister. We had a wonderful time indulging in a bit of luxury, enjoying the beautiful surroundings and feeling so relaxed at the end of the day!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 8 months ago
Pool area dull as dishwater, very industrial looking. Fragrance shower lacked fragrance! Sauna room broken/not in use. We were served coffee in the empty restaurant then had to wait 40mins for our cream tea, the staff outnumbered the customers at this time but were too busy yapping!
However the massage was pleasant and relaxing

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 8 months ago
Enjoyable couple of hours. Shame there is no jacuzzi in the swimming area and one-off the Saunas was broken. Enjoyable experience during treatment. Unable to find toilets within the spa area and had to go to the gym. At times during treatment could hear doors opening and people talking loudly which was off putting. Nice surprise getting a glass of prosecco with lunch and they accommodated requests to change parts of the set lunch which was nice. Could have had more food for the main part of lunch.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 8 months ago
Had a wonderful day, staff were very helpful from the time I booked until we left. The only thing I would have liked extra was the Rock Sauna working and it would have been nice to have a Jacuzzi but apart from that everything was great.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 8 months ago
I went for a Cream Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel