Treatwell
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free Treatwell app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.0

223 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
The Spa at The Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa
The Spa at The Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa
Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa,
Cobblers Cross Lane, Cheshire, Tarporley, CW6 0DJ
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

The Spa at The Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa
Macdonald Portal Hotel Golf & Spa,
Cobblers Cross Lane, Cheshire, Tarporley, CW6 0DJ
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.0

Chain rating

Based on 223 reviews

5 stars 89
4 stars 75
3 stars 43
2 stars 9
1 star 7
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (22)
  • Body Treatments (13)
  • Cellulite Treatments (7)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (65)
  • Face
  • Facials (70)
  • Fitness
  • Golf (6)
  • Swimming (65)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (6)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (76)
  • Hot Stone Massage (22)
  • Indian Head Massage (15)
  • Sports Massage (1)
  • Swedish Massage (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (15)
  • Nails
  • Manicure (30)
  • Pedicure (35)
Show more
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 8 months ago
The overall all spa experience was very nice but the spa needs to do better on cleanliness:
Toilet roll on the floor in the toilets all day (no one must clean/check, bins in treatment rooms & toilets were full & could not be closed, items (including a razor) left disguarded on shower area floor.

The treatments themselves were lovely however I feel the therapist may have benefited from a massage bench that had an adjustable height as she seem to struggle reaching me at some points.

The spa lounge area didn't have much character & left more like a works canteen. The relaxation on the other hand was lovely & relaxing.

The food in the lounge was nice but the menu choice was a little limited if you are a fussy eater like myself.

Overall I would return but the hotel needs to improve its cleanliness.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 8 months ago
I went for a One Night Rejuvenate Spa Break and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 8 months ago
I went for a Cream Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 8 months ago
Very good value for money. Staff very helpful and facilities were good. Scones a little overcooked which was a shame, but ciabattas which we bought outside the deal were delicious. An enjoyable day.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 8 months ago
I went for a Cream Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 9 months ago
Lovely treatments by friendly staff. Good value package through wahanda. Nice facilities and quite quiet on a weekday when we went which was great.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 9 months ago
The spa staff where very good, the treatment I had was a hot stone massage it was excellent. The shower cubicles had mild/slime on the screens, the shower area in the main pool also had brown slimy mild in the floor as you entered.
The relaxation room was lovely but the music being played was Christmas music, we would of preferred quite relaxing music, my sister also said during her treatment lively Christmas music was playing, this really was not suitable during a relaxing facial.
We enjoyed the day but it would of been better if the above things hadn't occurred.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 9 months ago
A lovely relaxing day, really recommend this experience to everyone.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 9 months ago
I went for a Tranquillity Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 10 months ago
I went for a Cream Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 10 months ago
We have used the portal before and we weren't as impressed as first time. We didn't get a choice of time for treatment and it was booked early. It was a rush to get there and get changed as we had to travel quite far in bad weather. When we where rushing to get ready I realised on my dressing gown the belt was fraide at the back and on the arm was stains of makeup that where not my own. There was no time to ask to change it as we had to get to appointment. My friends treatment was good and therapist ask lots of question and explained a lot to her and gave good advice on her skin. Mine however didn't and hardly spoke to me through process. Massage and facial on whole was good definitely felt relaxed after rushing to get there. The lunch was lovely and a bento box was good value. The staff were on a whole lovely and welcoming especially girl walking round tidying place up all the time. Would I try it again, yes but the offer would have to be very good.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 11 months ago
Lovely relaxing break. Staff were very good.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 11 months ago
I went for the Afternoon Tea Spa day with a friend and really enjoyed it. Having already had the chosen treatment before I didn't find it matched up to previous occasions, but this did not make the day any less enjoyable.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 11 months ago
I went for a Cream Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 11 months ago
Really happy with our experience, great facilities, lovely lunch. Really good value for money.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 11 months ago
A really enjoyable birthday treat, attentive staff and great amenities. Would recommend to a friend and look forward to enjoying future special offers.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 11 months ago
I went for a Cream Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 11 months ago
Lovely spa day for myself and my daughter - the treatments were excellent with lovely staff, though the pool is a bit utilitarian. However the day was marred by the inadequacy of the bar area where we were required to eat - got the feeling they didn't want us in their restaurant! The service was terrible, staff surly, food not very good - though the manager Jon tried to assure us that steps would be taken to improve things. I do hope so or we will not be returning.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I can for a cream tea spa day with my mum and sister, we had a lovely time, I can't really fault anything with the hotel and spa. The grounds surrounding the hotel and golf course are beautiful! We all had a deep tissue back massage, which was great! All the facilities are clean and well looked after. The only small thing we were slightly disappointed about was there was no jacuzzi, and there wasn't many spa facilities. The aroma steam room is great though! All together it was a cheap and cheerful day out

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 1 year ago
Had a cream tea spa day, the treatments were great. Really let down by the bar staff they were terrible the food was off and made one of my friends sick, we haven't even heard back from the hotel. I would not recommend.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel