Treatwell
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free Treatwell app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.0

57 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Macdonald Houstoun House & Spa
Macdonald Houstoun House & Spa
Macdonald Houstoun House,
Uphall, Edinburgh West, West Lothian, EH52 6JS
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

Macdonald Houstoun House & Spa
Macdonald Houstoun House,
Uphall, Edinburgh West, West Lothian, EH52 6JS
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.0

Chain rating

Based on 57 reviews

5 stars 27
4 stars 15
3 stars 11
2 stars 3
1 star 1
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (8)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (20)
  • Face
  • Beauty Treatments (6)
  • Facials (32)
  • Facials - Men's (1)
  • Skincare Consultation (2)
  • Fitness
  • Swimming (18)
  • Tennis (6)
  • Vibration Plate Training (1)
  • Hair removal
  • Waxing (2)
  • Massage
  • Deep Tissue Massage (25)
  • Foot Massage (2)
  • Hand Massage (1)
  • Hot Stone Massage (5)
  • Reflexology (1)
  • Sports Massage (2)
  • Therapeutic Massage (11)
  • Nails
  • Foot Scrub (1)
  • Manicure (7)
  • Pedicure (6)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 1 year ago
The steam room, sauna and pool were all fine. The deep tissue massage was excellent. The overall day was ok but the massage was spoiled by loud talking in the room adjoining the therapy rooms. Lunch was not only delayed in that they had forgotten about us but savoury and sweet were served in an all in one tray resembling something you might get on a flight not in a hotel. Trying to purchase moisturiser also proved tricky as the chap didn't know how to work the till. Experience was more Fawlty Towers but with a very good massage.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Harmony at Houstoun and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Afternoon Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Spa Getaway and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Fab wee day having a girly catch up. Lunch was lovely and the treatments were lovely. Would happily come again!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Lovely venue and excellent treatments. Staff very attentive. Deep tissue back massage was amazing will definitely be returning again. Would happily recommend to friends.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Autumn Daydream and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Staff were really lovely as were the facilities. Only gripe I'd booked a stone massage for both me & my sister as a treat as she had never had one, there was some mix up & a normal massage was given in error ~ still fantastic but not what I'd ordered.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Room was tiny, and over a bottle dump/kitchen door, so lots of late night noise. Looked onto a blank wall, so not the best. Well appointed and nicely decorated though. Gym was fab, state of the art stuff. Pool/Sauna and steam room were all great. Gardens and setting were beautiful. Breakfast was very good. Treatments were so-so.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Autumn Daydream and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Lovely spa day at Houston House. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The therapists were very professional and the treatments were perfect. We had a delicious lunch and enjoyed relaxing by the pool and using the steam room during the afternoon. Would highly recommend.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Lovely setting, everything prepared for us in advance. We were there for a spa day however there are only a couple of therapists so if you want to upgrade any of your mini treatments to longer ones you need to do this well in advance as they do get booked up. The spa area was nice but the steam room was very very hot and we couldn't stay in for more than a couple of minutes. Lovely pool and nice changing area though shower pressure a bit weak. Bento box for lunch was delicious and filling and the staff were delightful. A lovely day with just a few niggles.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review.
I am glad you enjoyed your spa day with us, I' am sorry to hear you were unable to upgrade your treatments though. We do only have 3 treatment rooms and can get fully booked but sometimes it is possible to upgrade when we are quiet. Hopefully you will come and see us again and can book in advance!
We will take all your feedback on board and hope to see you again.
Emma Jack
Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited September 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Autumn Daydream and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Girls Night In Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Booked a spa day here as a post-wedding treat for a friend and we weren't disappointed!! The staff were all lovely and the facilities were great. We had a massage and a facial and they were both absolutely amazing! The lunch was nice - quite an acquired taste though so maybe check that beforehand! I would recommend this to anyone who is need of a bit of pampering and de-stress! Will definitely be back!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

1 year ago
Thank you so much for your feedback Hayley. I am glad you enjoyed your spa day with us and hopefully we will see you again. If the lunch is not to your taste we can easily change for something to your liking, if you come again just simply request and its not a problem. Emma Jack, Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited August 2014
Posted 1 year ago
Lovely relaxing time. Facial and foot massage were amazing. Hotel were very accommodating when one of our party had to change treatment dye to injury.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your treatments and I am glad we were able to help. Emma Jack, Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 2 years ago
We had a wonderful day, Jana who did my facial was very professional and explained all the products and I felt totally relaxed after my treatment, my skin felt re-newed.
Lunch was also very tasty and reasonably priced too.
The Hotel and Grounds are also of a very high standard
Will definately be going back.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback Gayle, I have passed on the message to your therapist. Glad you had a lovely time and we all hope to see you again soon. Emma Jack, Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited July 2014
Posted 2 years ago
The hotel is lovely and the lunch is really good if you get it included in the price. Just ensure you get the correct information before you book as we read it as in lunch was included in price however we ended up having to pay for it.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback Michelle. I apologise for the misunderstanding with the lunch, it was a special offer at the time which was rectified as soon as you pointed it out. We do have lots of packages for amazing value which do include lunch if you wish to come back. Emma Jack, Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited June 2014
Posted 2 years ago
Very nice day, good treatments and lunch. Only thing that could have been improved is a Jacuzzi would have been good.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2014
Posted 2 years ago
I went for a One Night Gold Spa Break and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel