Treatwell: Beauty Salon Booking & Appointment App
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.2

301 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
The Spa at The Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
The Spa at The Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa,
Tarporley Road, Whitchurch, Shropshire, SY13 4HA
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

The Spa at The Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa,
Tarporley Road, Whitchurch, Shropshire, SY13 4HA
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.2

Chain rating

Based on 301 reviews

5 stars 121
4 stars 117
3 stars 45
2 stars 13
1 star 5
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Back Facials (2)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (32)
  • Body Treatments (1)
  • Body Wraps (4)
  • Cellulite Treatments (6)
  • Rasul and Mud Treatments (30)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (29)
  • Face
  • Facials (71)
  • Facials - Men's (11)
  • Fitness
  • Golf (3)
  • Swimming (36)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (4)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (94)
  • Foot Massage (22)
  • Hot Stone Massage (26)
  • Indian Head Massage (2)
  • Lava Shells Massage (1)
  • Sports Massage (3)
  • Therapeutic Massage (46)
  • Nails
  • Manicure (34)
  • Pedicure (47)
Show more
Verified review Visited October 2016
Posted 2 months ago
Great visit to the spa, booked as part of the luxury escape package. Overall great value for money. My hot stone massage with Sophie was one of the best I've ever had, she ensured she asked about the pressure and paid attention to the areas I told her I had tension problems with. The afternoon tea that was included was great and there was far too much food provided just for one person. It was delicious and such a shame there was food that went to waste. The only 2 small complaints I had would be that there are children's swim times throughout the morning, so if you are trying to relax by the pool it can sometimes be a little noisy. Maybe they could post the times so you can avoid the pool at these times. My other issue was the limited amount of beds in the relaxation room. After my treatment I was told to go lie down and take it easy, however people who had gone for treatments had placed books on the only loungers that were in there, which meant I was unable to go and lie down as I wished. I'd already changed out of a wet swimming costume so didn't want to go back poolside plus it was too noisy. It just meant that instead of being able to lie down and relax I was left trying to snooze in a uncomfortable chair. I appreciate it's not the spas fault that people 'reserved' the beds, however if someone is being collected for a treatment lasting an hour I do believe the therapists should advise clients they cannot hold onto the beds, especially as there are so few. There is plenty of room to add more though, so perhaps this is something they should consider. Overall I was generally impressed with the staff, the food and especially my treatment. I would not hesitate to visit again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2016
Posted 2 months ago
Can't fault the spa. Staff and treatments were lovely. Only slight criticism is that the floor in the pool was very slippy with the slippers from the spa on, the steam room was out of action and a bike and rower were not working in the gym but not a major inconvenience. Checking into the hotel however was a different experience and comedy of errors. They did not have a record of our reservation so gave them my printed off copy and said they would sort it out whilst we went for a drink and lunch. We thought we would have a nice gin and tonic with our lunch to celebrate my sisters birthday. Wrong again, they had run out of tonic! With a wedding that evening that could look bad on the hotel with such a popular drink. Other than that the lunch was nice if a little overpriced for sandwiches. Went back to reception and our room was ready to check in. We had booked the celebration spa weekend for my sisters birthday which was supposed to include prosecco and fruit in your room. Guess what, there wasn't any. The hotel seemed extremely understaffed although the staff who were present were trying their best. We had to ask three times for thus before it was finally brought at around 6pm. My sister had rung the hotel in advance to book a table for dinner but again when we went down there was no record of our reservation. The lady said we are very busy but will see what we can do to squeeze you in! There was only two of us. As we arrived early and first to an empty restaurant, we got our food. Some big groups who arrived after us were waiting over an hour for starters till the restaurant manager stepped in. Took them ages to take our payment for drinks and the bill was wrong. They had charged us for the food that was supposed to be included in the package. The food was okay but my chicken was quite dry so I left most of it. We paid the drinks bill and went back to our room. Breakfast was ok but not much choice. Came to check out at the end of our stay and someone had added their drinks to our room bill to top if off as we had paid cash all along for ours it off but the lady on reception said that it had just been a comedy of errors and let us off. Lovely location, spa and grounds. The weather was really good which helped as you could sit outside but not sure we will return. Hotel needs more staff and better management on a busy weekend.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2016
Posted 2 months ago
I went for a One Night Rejuvenate Spa Break and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2016
Posted 2 months ago
Great facilities and brilliant facial, would definately recommend it

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2016
Posted 2 months ago
Lovely relaxing day.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2016
Posted 2 months ago
I went for a One Night Rejuvenate Spa Break and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2016
Posted 3 months ago
In general fabulous day, fantastic value, beautiful setting, would definitely go again

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2016
Posted 3 months ago
I went for a Strawberries and Cream Rasul Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2016
Posted 4 months ago
We arrived and the hotel were unaware of our booking. We had booked elsewhere and when calling to book our treatments the spa was full. As we had booked a spa deal we called the customer services team and after a lot of hassle we were transferred to this hotel, hence why I think they didn't know about our booking.They gave us another room but we could tell it was down hill from there.
The hotel was obviously struggling with the large parties that were in the hotel and as a party of two we felt quite low in priority.
Many of the waiting staff in my opinion were either new or poorly trained; it took 20 mins to get two glasses of champagne- firstly being told we couldn't have it by the glass even though we specifically picked one that was advertised by the glass, then no glasses were available and the bottle ran out. The server was even unsure how to open the bottle.
The service at dinner was nothing short of comical- we ordered and waited 40 minutes for someone to bring over the bottle of wine he had requested (and this was after me getting up three times and requesting someone brings out drinks over). Parts of our meals were missing as advertised on the menu and we were just told "it's all on three darling"- was honestly one of the poorest meal experiences I have ever had, only saved by the fact the food we had was nice.
The check out was painful; queued for ages and then our bill was completely wrong, which we knew would happen because of our experience at check in.
On the plus side, our treatments were lovely but the sauna was out of order and we didn't feel the facilities were that great at all (no hot tub, people walking in on you changing in the spa changing room).
I would also say the young girl who had a trainee badge on whilst we were checking in was probably the most friendly useful staff member we encountered.
I won't be rushing back at all, and to be quite frank it's out me off booking through last minute.com all together.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2016
Posted 4 months ago
I thoroughly enjoyed my spa day, the treatments and therapists were absolutely lovely and I felt completely relaxed.
It was a shame that the sauna was out of action but these things can not be helped.
Unfortunately the spa changing rooms were not necessarily how I would have expected to find them, On arrival at 1030 there were gowns and towels left on the changing room floor and when I left at 1645, they were still there, I returned them to the drop off area with mine as I left because it did not look very professional.
I also noted that my gown had a hole in the sleeve and the right arm was hanging off, I'd like to think that these things woud be checked by the laundry or spa staff.
My Bento box lunch was beautifully presented and gluten free to suit my dietary needs, I enjoyeed it very much.
All in all, a pleasant day with jut a few minor issues that can easily be resolved. Many thanks to all of the staff, very pleasant, welcoming and helpful.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2016
Posted 4 months ago
Unbelievable value for a Rasul mud treatment with full use of facilities and afternoon tea. Lovely day.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2016
Posted 4 months ago
I went for a Escape Pure Indulgence Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2016
Posted 4 months ago
What a super day, my sister and I were very pleased with the venue and the treatments, it could not have been better, five stars all the way.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2016
Posted 5 months ago
I was pleasantly surprised

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited June 2016
Posted 5 months ago
lovely location, very relaxing.
all staff was very friendly
the dinner options are limited unless you pay extra. the food was very good.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited May 2016
Posted 6 months ago
We had such a lovely day here! We came as a party of 8 and loved every minute of it! the facilities were excellent and the relaxation room was so lovely! my treatment was amazing! I had a hot stone massage and the therapist listened to me when I said firm pressure and she did indeed! I was so nice i fell asleep! The only thing that stopped me giving this a 5 stars is that there was no jacuzzi! Other than that no complaints at all! it was just what we needed!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited May 2016
Posted 6 months ago
Great venue and facilities. Could do with a water station pool side as it was a faff to go to the relaxation room/lounge every time I needed a drink.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited May 2016
Posted 6 months ago
I booked through Treatwell & attended a spa day at the Hill Valley golf club. The booking experience was easy & I received confirmation of booking immediately. The spa day was lovely! The hill valley is set in beautiful grounds & the spa & leisure facilities are excellent. The treatment was very relaxing ( deep tissue massage) & the therapist was very professional. The pool area is spacious & a lovely place to sit & relax. I would definitely recommend this spa & booking with Treatwell.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited May 2016
Posted 6 months ago
Thank you to Sophie for my treatments, just what I needed to calm me down two days before our wedding.
Beautiful facilities, lovely, calm atmosphere and the surroundings were paradise.
All of the staff I spoke to could not have been more helpful,especially Sophie and Deborah the lady who brought my delicious lunch box.
I will definitely return.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2016
Posted 7 months ago
Excellent value food and staff , very clean and great surrounding, really enjoyed whole day

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel