Treatwell
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free Treatwell app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.2

245 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa,
Tarporley Road, Whitchurch, Shropshire, SY13 4HA
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa,
Tarporley Road, Whitchurch, Shropshire, SY13 4HA
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.2

Chain rating

Based on 245 reviews

5 stars 97
4 stars 95
3 stars 37
2 stars 12
1 star 4
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Backcials (2)
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (23)
  • Body Treatments (1)
  • Body Wraps (4)
  • Cellulite Treatments (6)
  • Colonic Therapy (2)
  • Rasul and Mud Treatments (30)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (12)
  • Face
  • Facials (56)
  • Men's Facial (11)
  • Fitness
  • Golf (1)
  • Swimming (14)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (4)
  • Deep Tissue Massage (83)
  • Foot Massage (22)
  • Indian Head Massage (2)
  • Lava Shells Massage (1)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (16)
  • Therapeutic Massage (44)
  • Nails
  • Foot Scrub (19)
  • Manicure (26)
  • Pedicure (34)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 2 months ago
Amazing experience, great spa, lovely treatments and a fab afternoon tea. Couldn't fault had a lovely time catching up with an old friend with beautiful surroundings.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 2 months ago
I went for a Two Night Ultimate Luxury Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 2 months ago
I went for a Autumn Glow Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 2 months ago
Exceptionally good value and flexible. I would recommend to anyone to go to the Hill Valley hotel.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 3 months ago
We decided in a relaxing break for our 2nd year anniversary and this surely deliver. Staff were brilliant,food was lovely and so treatment was just what we both needed.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 3 months ago
I went for a Afternoon Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 3 months ago
We booked a last minute overnight spa stay on tuesday 27th October for Wednesday 28th October for £129/per person for 2 people through last minute.com. They advised us on the website we had to place our order, receive an order confirmation and then ring up the spa to book our treatments (our package included 2 treatments per person). We rang up and were advised that the spa was fully booked that day so we were unable to book our treatments, despite our order being placed and paid for. The team in the gym and spa were helpful and pleasant and we were offered a mud rasul instead which was pleasant but not what I came for. It sounded like this sort of thing had happened before, and the hotel themselves advised us that the bookings from last minute were a 'nightmare'.

We got to the hotel and were left waiting for 40 minutes for our room to be ready, despite arriving on time for check in at 3pm. When we eventually got checked in, we were not informed about how to book in for dinner or any times for breakfast. We then got to our room, unpacked and went down to the spa to use the facilities to be informed that it was closing at 6pm. I was really disappointed by this, as we were late getting in to our room and then told we only had an hour or so to use the spa facilities.

On our way back we asked at reception what we had to do to sort out our dinner as no one had informed us, to be told at 6pm that there was no availability until 9pm.

At breakfast, the restaurant was fully booked and the staff were quite short and rude to us, making us wait outside for a table to be made up (we were quite happy to sit down at the table whilst this was being done)

Overall I am dissatisfed with our whole visit, especially seeing as we came on our week off of work for a much needed relaxing break all the way from Leeds.

I would appreciate a speedy response, especially in regards to the spa treatments we booked and paid for and never received.

Thanks

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 4 months ago
I went for a Two Night Rebalance and Recharge Spa Break and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 4 months ago
The venue was set in a pretty location but the receptionist was rude to start off with and when we were meant to b collected for our treatment they 'forgot us' huffed when I came to ask where anyone was. They then showed us very quickly what we needed to do and left. Customer service was awful!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
The most 'zen' like experience I've had in a long time! Beautiful relaxation room, fantastic treatments & fabulous afternoon tea. It was my second visit to Hill Valley & certainly won't be my last. Lush 💝

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
I went for a Spa-Tacular Exclusive Spa Day Incl. 60 Minute Treatment and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
Lovely day, i have already recommended to friends and family. Great hotel and surrounding areas and brilliant service. We will be back. Thank you

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
I went for a Chocolate and Strawberries Mud Rasul Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
I went for a Summer Day Dream and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
The hotel is situated in a beautiful setting. On arrival the staff were friendly, professional and welcoming they showed us around and explained all the treatments. The spa day was a birthday present for my daughter and she thoroughly enjoyed her day.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 5 months ago
Great atmosphere, the place is in a beautiful location. Cleanliness however, is not their strong suit. We waited for 30 minutes to check in (check in was meant to be at 3pm), whilst cutting it close to our first treatment at 4pm, which didn't give us much time to relax and enjoy the facilities before it. It was a bit of a rush. When we got to the room, there were hairs in the shower, dust everywhere, holes in bed sheets which didn't even look like they were changed! We mentioned it briefly to the spa staff, they told reception which then gave us a bottle of wine (not a great one by the way), and changed the sheet. All well and good, except I would've preferred a cleaner room rather than a bottle of wine! The food at dinner was great in itself, however, the staff not so much. We waited for about 20 minutes, after we'd ordered for our wine to be served, which the waitress spilt everywhere whilst pouring and didn't so much as say sorry (I cleaned it up). Another waiter then came to tell us he knew we were having problems with our room, essentially embarrassing us in front of the rest of the guests having dinner. When we went back to our room (around 9mp) we called to order another bottle of order. I had to call again at 10:20pm to remind them again for them to bring it upstairs. The spa staff were all great, but the exfoliating treatment was really not worth it, nothing you can't do at home! Overall, we did manage to relax a little and have a good time, but that was no thanks to the hotel itself. I definitely wouldn't recommend it to anyone else.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
I went for a Afternoon Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 5 months ago
Since we had never been to this hotel or a spa before we wasn't shown around or told what to do so we was quite lost.
At dinner which was really nice we had a young male waiter who just threw the plates on the table with a face on him.
Could not fault the stone massage which was very nice. Overall I give the experience 4/10.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 5 months ago
I went for a Summer Day Dream and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 5 months ago
Everything we had hoped for, it was a lovely experience and one I will repeat in the future. Friendly, well organised lovely facilities.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel