Treatwell
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free Treatwell app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.0

77 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
Book now
Group booking enquiry?
Please select the service you’d like to book.
The Spa at The Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel
The Spa at The Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel
Macdonald Crutherland House & Spa,
Strathaven Road, East Kilbride, G75 0QZ
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

The Spa at The Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel
Macdonald Crutherland House & Spa,
Strathaven Road, East Kilbride, G75 0QZ
United Kingdom

Opening hours

Mon - Sun 9:30 am - 6:00 pm
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

The Spa at The Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel part of Macdonald Hotel & Resorts

The Spa at The Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel is the place for you to lose your stress and invest in yourself. Relax in one of our beauty treatment rooms, illuminated only by candlelight. Listen to natural sounds, while the finest of our products are applied by our professionally trained therapists. Surrender to your personal beauty therapist by reserving time and allow her to create a sequence of therapies and treatments to suit your specific and immediate needs.

See more

Services

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews (written by customers after their visit)

4.0

Chain rating

Based on 77 reviews

5 stars 25
4 stars 35
3 stars 13
2 stars 1
1 star 3
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (5)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (8)
  • Counselling & Holistic
  • Aromatherapy (1)
  • Face
  • Facials (24)
  • Facials - Men's (2)
  • Fitness
  • Swimming (8)
  • Massage
  • Deep Tissue Massage (32)
  • Hot Stone Massage (8)
  • Therapeutic Massage (3)
  • Nails
  • Manicure (1)
  • Pedicure (9)
Show more
Verified review Visited September 2016
Posted 1 day ago
The hotel had mixed up our spa treatments but they sorted it out, luckily being a Thursday it was not too busy. The treatments were fab and the spa was lovely and relaxing. The worst bit was that they had no record from Treatwell that we had booked at all. That was a bit embarrassing on arrival. Again, being a Thursday they had rooms available and thankfully I had an email I could forward on as proof of booking.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2016
Posted 1 week ago
I went for a One Night Rejuvenate Spa Break and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2016
Posted 4 weeks ago
This is a nice place, really good food. Room was nice no complaints, nothing extraordinary just a nice room. They have a sauna and steam room with a pool all were good to a standard you would expect. The Spa massage I had was one of the best. The Spa facilities, the treatment rooms are nice with soft lighting they have a tranquil room which only has water would be nice to have herb teas in there. Overall my wife and I were very pleased with the hotel and spa and would definitely go again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2016
Posted 1 month ago
.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2016
Posted 2 months ago
Nice massage value for the money

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited May 2016
Posted 3 months ago
Would have been even better if there had been a jacuzzi.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited May 2016
Posted 4 months ago
I went for a Escape Relax and Refresh Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited March 2016
Posted 6 months ago
Was a great day. Everything from the place the food the treatments was great. I had both a back neck and shoulder massage and a facial. The facial was probably one of the best I have ever had. The therapist was lovely she done a great job. I would defiantly go back.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited March 2016
Posted 6 months ago
Couls have been better was highly disappointed

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited March 2016
Posted 6 months ago
I went for a One Night Indulge and Revitalise Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2016
Posted 7 months ago
I had booked a spa day for myself and my son's girlfriend as an early birthday present.
We had a half hour neck and shoulder massage lunch and use of the facilities . The staff were very friendly the massage was fab and there was three choices for lunch.
It was a very relaxing day and great value for money

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2016
Posted 7 months ago
I went for a One Night Indulge and Revitalise Spa Break and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 7 months ago
I booked a package of an overnight stay, with dinner, breakfast and 2 half hour treatments (Rejuvination Package) to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. I wish I had taken him anywhere else but here, after the experience I felt I had utterly ruined his birthday. When we arrived the reception staff were pleasant, but had no clue who we were and it took them a while to find our booking. Then they didn't know I had also paid for dinner AND already booked our table time in advance. Our room was lovely. Spotless and with good facilities and the housekeeping staff were fantastic. My only bug bears were that both the window catches were broken, so we could not close the window properly and the power kept shutting off at random intervals over a period of an hour with no explanation from the staff.
Our dinner was less than satisfactory. We showed up to the restaurant at 6pm and the staff there had no idea who we were again AND no clue that we had already paid for dinner in advance. It was ridiculous. Breakfast the next morning was a similar unsatisfactory affair. We arrived for breakfast at 10am, but were not seated until 10.40am. Other people who came down to breakfast after us were seated before us. When we eventually got to breakfast there were no clean glasses for the fruit juice (it took them 40 minutes to fix this), no clean plates for the pastries etc (30 mins to notice this) and no pastries at all (noticed this only after they had noticed the plates). Our breakfast took 45 mins to come and was not as we ordered (white bread instead of wholemeal and no beans or bacon with the 'full' Scottish breakfast).
Now to the spa. I had been trying without success to book our treatments for 2 weeks, constantly calling and leaving messages to recieve no reply as no one ever picked up the phone. When I eventually managed to speak to a member of staff all the times we wanted had been booked up and there was only a space left for one of our treatments. It being my boyfriend's birthday, I booked his treatment and said I would happily take a voucher to get mine at a later date. When we got to the spa we were greeted with an 'alright?' from the receptionist, hardly professional. Then they again had no clue who we were or what we were there for. When I finally got that ironed out they tried to give me a treatment time and not my boyfriend! He did enjoy his massgage, which meant the trip hadn't been an entire disaster. However, if we thought we were free from the MacDonald Crutherland House Spa and Hotel we were wrong. We then had to wait almost half an hour for them to sort out a voucher. The voucher is a piece of card with my name, value and the date written on it in pen. I could have done it in less than a minute.
On top of this shoddy service across the board they have the audacity to charger over £60 for 4 gin and tonics in a bar where the leg on the chair I was planning to sit on was hanging off. Luckily my boyfriend noticed before I went crashing to the floor. This is a 1 star establishment with 5 star pretentions.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 7 months ago
I went for a Luxury Spa Day and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 7 months ago
Such a relaxing night with this one night rejuvenate package great value for money. Staff were excellent food was delicious with generous portions. Would definitely return for this

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

7 months ago
Dear Jade

thank you for leaving us such an amazing review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit

We hope to see you return soon

Kind regards
Natalie
Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 8 months ago
Me and my friends just felt cold the whole day, even during our afternoon tea. We never received slippers so were walking barefooted all day. In the description there was suppose to be a jacuzzi which there wasn't. The massage was nice, however, again I was cold during it. There was also kids splashing about the pool for most of the day so it wasn't a very relaxing day overall.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

7 months ago
Dear Guest

Thank you for giving us some feedback on your day, we pride ourselves in giving the best service that we can and all comments are used to help us provide a better service, I am sorry to hear that you did not receive slippers, we did have an issue with our delivery but this is an unusual occurrence and we are confident will not be the case again, I am glad to hear that you did however enjoy your massage and I hope that this will encourage you to visit us again .

If you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me on spamanager.crutherland@macdonald-hotels.co.uk

Kind regards
Natalie
Spa manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 9 months ago
I went for a One Night Rejuvenate Spa Break and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 9 months ago
Friendly staff, nice environment.
Really good massage and facial.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 9 months ago
My girlfriend and I stayed overnight here with an hour long spa treatment, dinner and breakfast included. The location was wonderful, especially looking out of the all glass pool area since it was snowing- looking out to pine trees covered in snow whilst you are relaxing on a pool bed.

The food was amazing. Rib eye steak with the thickest cut chips I've saw. Staff were very attentive which was pleasing.

Rooms were very spacious with a huge bed, although we didn't have the greatest window view.. but you don't go on a spa break to look out a window.

It was only an £18 taxi into the centre of Glasgow which was ideal also.

Only downside to our stay is that the steam room was not useable due to maintenance. Other than that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have already begun deciding when we will return.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

7 months ago
Dear Jordan

Thank you for giving us a great review, I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and I hope to see you and your girlfriend return soon


Kind regards
Natalie
Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 9 months ago
Great staff and massage was fab but sometimes felt like they spa was understaffed and there was one main girl doing the majority of everything. We were slightly disappointed with the "afternoon tea" as the room we were in was cold and we were sat at the hall door and everytime the kitchen door opened , it caused the hall door to open and produced more cold air. My sister is also a vegetarian and there was no sandwiches on the tray that she could eat. Again, the hall we were eating in was quite busy and there was only 2 members of staff so we could not ask for another option for my sister. The massage and the pool were great but there was not many loungers by the pool for the amount of people that day.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Show earlier reviews