Treatwell
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free Treatwell app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.1

65 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Book now
Group booking enquiry?
Please select the service you’d like to book.
Macdonald Crutherland House & Spa
Macdonald Crutherland House & Spa
Macdonald Crutherland House & Spa,
Strathaven Road, East Kilbride, G75 0QZ
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

Macdonald Crutherland House & Spa
Macdonald Crutherland House & Spa,
Strathaven Road, East Kilbride, G75 0QZ
United Kingdom

Opening hours

Mon - Sun 9:30 am - 6:00 pm
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

Macdonald Crutherland House & Spa part of Macdonald Hotel & Resorts

Vital Beauty at the Macdonald Crutherland House is the place for you to lose your stress and invest in yourself. Relax in one of our beauty treatment rooms, illuminated only by candlelight. Listen to natural sounds, while the finest of our products are applied by our professionally trained therapists. Surrender to your personal beauty therapist by reserving time and allow her to create a sequence of therapies and treatments to suit your specific and immediate needs.

See more

Services

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews (written by customers after their visit)

4.1

Chain rating

Based on 65 reviews

5 stars 22
4 stars 29
3 stars 11
2 stars 1
1 star 2
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (3)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (5)
  • Counselling & Holistic
  • Aromatherapy (1)
  • Face
  • Facials (21)
  • Men's Facial (2)
  • Fitness
  • Swimming (3)
  • Massage
  • Deep Tissue Massage (25)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (6)
  • Therapeutic Massage (3)
  • Nails
  • Pedicure (7)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 1 day ago
I booked a package of an overnight stay, with dinner, breakfast and 2 half hour treatments (Rejuvination Package) to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. I wish I had taken him anywhere else but here, after the experience I felt I had utterly ruined his birthday. When we arrived the reception staff were pleasant, but had no clue who we were and it took them a while to find our booking. Then they didn't know I had also paid for dinner AND already booked our table time in advance. Our room was lovely. Spotless and with good facilities and the housekeeping staff were fantastic. My only bug bears were that both the window catches were broken, so we could not close the window properly and the power kept shutting off at random intervals over a period of an hour with no explanation from the staff.
Our dinner was less than satisfactory. We showed up to the restaurant at 6pm and the staff there had no idea who we were again AND no clue that we had already paid for dinner in advance. It was ridiculous. Breakfast the next morning was a similar unsatisfactory affair. We arrived for breakfast at 10am, but were not seated until 10.40am. Other people who came down to breakfast after us were seated before us. When we eventually got to breakfast there were no clean glasses for the fruit juice (it took them 40 minutes to fix this), no clean plates for the pastries etc (30 mins to notice this) and no pastries at all (noticed this only after they had noticed the plates). Our breakfast took 45 mins to come and was not as we ordered (white bread instead of wholemeal and no beans or bacon with the 'full' Scottish breakfast).
Now to the spa. I had been trying without success to book our treatments for 2 weeks, constantly calling and leaving messages to recieve no reply as no one ever picked up the phone. When I eventually managed to speak to a member of staff all the times we wanted had been booked up and there was only a space left for one of our treatments. It being my boyfriend's birthday, I booked his treatment and said I would happily take a voucher to get mine at a later date. When we got to the spa we were greeted with an 'alright?' from the receptionist, hardly professional. Then they again had no clue who we were or what we were there for. When I finally got that ironed out they tried to give me a treatment time and not my boyfriend! He did enjoy his massgage, which meant the trip hadn't been an entire disaster. However, if we thought we were free from the MacDonald Crutherland House Spa and Hotel we were wrong. We then had to wait almost half an hour for them to sort out a voucher. The voucher is a piece of card with my name, value and the date written on it in pen. I could have done it in less than a minute.
On top of this shoddy service across the board they have the audacity to charger over £60 for 4 gin and tonics in a bar where the leg on the chair I was planning to sit on was hanging off. Luckily my boyfriend noticed before I went crashing to the floor. This is a 1 star establishment with 5 star pretentions.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 1 week ago
I went for a Luxury Spa Day and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 1 week ago
Such a relaxing night with this one night rejuvenate package great value for money. Staff were excellent food was delicious with generous portions. Would definitely return for this

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

1 week ago
Dear Jade

thank you for leaving us such an amazing review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit

We hope to see you return soon

Kind regards
Natalie
Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited January 2016
Posted 2 weeks ago
Me and my friends just felt cold the whole day, even during our afternoon tea. We never received slippers so were walking barefooted all day. In the description there was suppose to be a jacuzzi which there wasn't. The massage was nice, however, again I was cold during it. There was also kids splashing about the pool for most of the day so it wasn't a very relaxing day overall.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

1 week ago
Dear Guest

Thank you for giving us some feedback on your day, we pride ourselves in giving the best service that we can and all comments are used to help us provide a better service, I am sorry to hear that you did not receive slippers, we did have an issue with our delivery but this is an unusual occurrence and we are confident will not be the case again, I am glad to hear that you did however enjoy your massage and I hope that this will encourage you to visit us again .

If you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me on spamanager.crutherland@macdonald-hotels.co.uk

Kind regards
Natalie
Spa manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 2 months ago
I went for a One Night Rejuvenate Spa Break and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 2 months ago
Friendly staff, nice environment.
Really good massage and facial.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 2 months ago
My girlfriend and I stayed overnight here with an hour long spa treatment, dinner and breakfast included. The location was wonderful, especially looking out of the all glass pool area since it was snowing- looking out to pine trees covered in snow whilst you are relaxing on a pool bed.

The food was amazing. Rib eye steak with the thickest cut chips I've saw. Staff were very attentive which was pleasing.

Rooms were very spacious with a huge bed, although we didn't have the greatest window view.. but you don't go on a spa break to look out a window.

It was only an £18 taxi into the centre of Glasgow which was ideal also.

Only downside to our stay is that the steam room was not useable due to maintenance. Other than that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have already begun deciding when we will return.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel

Comments

1 week ago
Dear Jordan

Thank you for giving us a great review, I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and I hope to see you and your girlfriend return soon


Kind regards
Natalie
Spa Manager

Report as inappropriate

Verified review Visited November 2015
Posted 2 months ago
Great staff and massage was fab but sometimes felt like they spa was understaffed and there was one main girl doing the majority of everything. We were slightly disappointed with the "afternoon tea" as the room we were in was cold and we were sat at the hall door and everytime the kitchen door opened , it caused the hall door to open and produced more cold air. My sister is also a vegetarian and there was no sandwiches on the tray that she could eat. Again, the hall we were eating in was quite busy and there was only 2 members of staff so we could not ask for another option for my sister. The massage and the pool were great but there was not many loungers by the pool for the amount of people that day.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 3 months ago
Great place, great staff. The bed was very comfy, and the room really cozy. I was disappointed that we were unable to reschedule our treatments when we phoned to inform the spa that we were caught in traffic and would arrive later than anticipated. Our treatments therefore lasted 15 mins rather than 30 mins which was disappointing, especially as we had to complete the assessment paperwork before we were treated, which ate into our treatment time.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 3 months ago
I went for a One Night Indulge and Revitalise Spa Break and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 3 months ago
I went for a One Night Indulge and Revitalise Spa Break and have awarded it 3 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 3 months ago
I went for a Two Night Ultimate Luxury Spa Break and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 4 months ago
I went for a One Night Rejuvenate Spa Break and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
Day visit was lovely and I would recommend it as good value and very relaxing. Treatment especially so. Sadly one member of staff was not helpful and the showers could have been a bit cleaner, but it was late in the day and neither would put me off returning.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
I went for a One Night Rejuvenate Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
I went for a One Night Rejuvenate Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
I went for a Afternoon Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 4 months ago
I went for a Afternoon Tea Spa Day and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 5 months ago
I went for a One Night Indulge and Revitalise Spa Break and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 5 months ago
The spa was lovely. The staff were very friendly. The pool was big and quiet which was nice and the steam and sauna rooms were big and clean.
The massage was amazing and I had to go home for a sleep after as it made me so relaxed and tired.
They have a lovely relaxation room which would have been nice to use befor the massage but you go in to it after. We would have stayed longer but we had an afternoon tea booked and we were hungry by then.
The only disappointment was there is no jacuzzi.
I would go back again just for the massage but I missed not having a jaccuzi to relaxin.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Show earlier reviews

Venues nearby

See more venues in East Kilbride