Treatwell: Beauty Salon Booking & Appointment App
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.4

145 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
Donnington Valley Hotel, Health Club & Spa
Donnington Valley Hotel, Health Club & Spa
Old Oxford Road,
Donnington, Newbury, Berkshire, RG14 3AG
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

Donnington Valley Hotel, Health Club & Spa
Old Oxford Road,
Donnington, Newbury, Berkshire, RG14 3AG
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.4

Venue rating

Based on 145 reviews

5 stars 80
4 stars 49
3 stars 13
2 stars 2
1 star 1
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (17)
  • Body Treatments (8)
  • Body Wraps (1)
  • Spray Tanning and Sunless Tanning (8)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (31)
  • Face
  • Facials (30)
  • Makeup (5)
  • Fitness
  • Swimming (25)
  • Hair
  • Hair Conditioning and Scalp Treatments (3)
  • Hair removal
  • Waxing (1)
  • Massage
  • Aromatherapy Massage (1)
  • Chair Massage (14)
  • Foot Massage (14)
  • Hand Massage (6)
  • Hot Stone Massage (1)
  • Indian Head Massage (1)
  • Reflexology (1)
  • Therapeutic Massage (20)
  • Nails
  • Gel Nails (1)
  • Manicure (7)
  • Pedicure (7)
Show more
Verified review Visited June 2016
Posted 5 months ago
Very friendly staff throughout our stay, best compliments to the chef, food was spot on and very tasty.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited May 2016
Posted 6 months ago
The service was 5 star - we couldn't have asked for a better spa and hotel experience! We'll be back...

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited May 2016
Posted 6 months ago
I went for a Friday Night £99 Per Person Offer and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2016
Posted 7 months ago
It was a lovely afternoon spent with friends in lovely surroundings. We were met by friendly staff and shown round the comprehensive facilities. The treatments were good and the afternoon tea a wonderful way to finish the day. We had a small gift as we left and an agreement to come back again soon.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited December 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a One Night Spa Break Incl. 25 Minute Treatment and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 1 year ago
My hot stone massage was fantastic - thank you - pool, gym, changing rooms, sauna, steam room, jackuzzi, immaculate, fantastic facilities you want for nothing, Plenty of clean towels, products, lotions, potions, cotton buds, tissues to use everywhere you go. Pool side beverage service excellent, relaxing areas well kept maintained & serviced.
Food amazing, delicious and serving staff attentive and very accommodating - very impressed.
Our room was clean fresh and immaculate great location near spa & health club.
Bar staff amazing, speedy service, looked after our needs attentively.
Will be back & will recommend you .
Thank you so much

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went with 3 other girl friends for this spa weekend.

Unfortunately, no one at Donnington seemed to understand what was included in the offer. This lead to:
One member of the party receiving a phone call from the spa the morning before our arrival saying that we would all need to pay extra. So the 4 of us had to spend 20 minutes waiting in the treatment area of the spa, and having to forward the email from Wahanda to the spa so they could check the details. Neither relaxing or fun.

Whilst checking-in at the hotel they weren't aware that our deal included a 3 course evening meal. So again we had to get the email out and evidence that we were being truthful.

It's such a shame that these things happened as they made us wonder what was going to be queried next. The speed of the bar staff in the evening was also exceptionally slow, despite there being 3 members of staff and not that busy (there was a wedding but they had their own bar and staff).

We all liked the Donnington, the rooms were lovely, the food was yummy and the facial I had was very good. However, all the messing about really impacted on the quality of our stay and one of the party got very cross indeed. Unfortunately, we won't be repeating the trip - which I am a bit gutted about :-(!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited October 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Spa-Tacular Exclusive One Night Spa Break and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I liked the hotel and the treatments but Hotel staff had no idea what my offer includes and they said I will need to pay extra for treatments, dinner... Robes and slippers were not in a room. I didn't pay extra in the end but you go on a Spa break to try relax and I had to prove 3 times I should be getting what I paid for.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 1 year ago
Excellent value. Our room was lovely, the food was lovely and the spa and treatments were fab. The only downside was the organisation! Spa/ hotel communication was so bad despite numerous emails and phone calls in the months running up to the visit. Our break was great, I would recommend it and I would go back, I just hope the spa have sorted themselves out!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2015
Posted 1 year ago
The biggest problem would be kids splashing around in the pool on a Sunday morning, so that took away quite a lot of the relaxing atmosphere. The changing rooms were overspilling with dirty towells. No plastic bags to put wet swimsuits in. Its also quite hard to get a drink/food around the poo, area unless you want to get dressed and walk back through the changing rooms to reception, I don't understand why you they don't make the "Staff Only" door from the pool to reception as an access for guests.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited May 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I had my wedding anniversary there, it was an amazing experience! Will be back soon! Very professional and skilled beauty therapists!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited May 2015
Posted 1 year ago
Lovely pace, only downside was the sun beds were all being used when we first arrived. Also getting a drink was a bit odd, you have to go back to the changing rooms as the only door to the cafe area states "staff only"

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited May 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I booked a Treat Day and it was very relaxing from start to finish and made to feel welcome by all staff we encountered.
The facial was the best one I have ever had and my skin was so smooth afterwards.
I would like to maybe see a bit more variety/healthy options on the lunch menu included in the spa day.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited April 2015
Posted 1 year ago
We loved the hotel, the staff and food were fantastic. The only tiny grumble from me was that we upgraded our 30min treatment to an hour aromatherapy massage which cost £48pp to upgrade and it only lasted 45 mins and our feet wasn't massaged in the full body massage. Overall we had a great stay and I would recommend it and return.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited March 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Restore Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Treat Spa Day and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Treat Spa Day and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Restore Spa Day and have awarded it 5 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited February 2015
Posted 1 year ago
I went for a Invigorating Spa Day Incl. Lunch For Two and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel