Treatwell
The simple way to book beauty anywhere.
Download our free Treatwell app.
Logging you in, please wait...
You are logged in
Log in to your account

Venue rating

4.3

308 reviews

  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value

Venue has no reviews yet

Be the first to write a review
Athenaeum Hotel
Athenaeum Hotel
116 Piccadilly,
London, W1J 7BJ
United Kingdom

Hotel Spa

Athenaeum Hotel
116 Piccadilly,
London, W1J 7BJ
United Kingdom
  • Accepts online bookings

    Online bookings let you pick date/time for your visit.

  • Accepts eVouchers

    If you purchase an eVoucher you will need to book with the venue directly.

A few seconds ago

Comments

Reviews are written by customers after their visit.

4.3

Venue rating

Based on 308 reviews

5 stars 137
4 stars 125
3 stars 29
2 stars 9
1 star 8
  • Ambience
  • Cleanliness
  • Spa Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value
  • Body
  • Body Exfoliation Treatments (51)
  • Body Treatments (5)
  • Body Wraps (31)
  • Steam and Sauna Therapy (2)
  • Face
  • Beauty Treatments (2)
  • Eye Treatments (4)
  • Eyebrow and Eyelash Treatments (20)
  • Eyelash Extensions (26)
  • Facials (80)
  • HD Brows (5)
  • Semi Permanent Mascara (1)
  • Hair removal
  • Waxing (1)
  • Massage
  • Deep Tissue Massage (16)
  • Pre and Post Natal Massage (1)
  • Stone Massage Therapy (7)
  • Therapeutic Massage (77)
  • Nails
  • Gel Nails (52)
  • Manicure (63)
  • Nail Extensions & Overlays (4)
  • Pedicure (38)
  • Two Week Manicure (27)
Show more
Have you been here? Write a review
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 7 months ago
Had the Morroccon rose ritual , my first massage and I loved it, the therapist asked all questions about concern with the body and my skin, she used products to help, I felt my muscles totally relax,the salt scrub is a must it leaves the skin baby soft , if you chose to have this I would advise lounge wear to change into when leaving the spa as your skin feels so luxurious it's a shame to cover it , the facial and head massage was spot on leaving my skin smooth and glowing, very professional lady's very clean,every step of treatment explaned , steam room and jacuzzi was lovely , I've read other reviews and yes the spa is small but the facility's are all there , I would return because I felt like I was floating when I left , thanks athenaeum spa for a lovely afternoon.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 7 months ago
The treatments were good, the location & ambiance is good too. Staff was super friendly and ensured that we were comfortable at all times.
The changing rooms are not the best as they only have one shower available and they are quite small. Had to wait for a while in order to get a free shower.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 8 months ago
I had a Mix and Match Weekday Pamper Day with 2 Treatments and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 8 months ago
It was an embarrassment. Food was boring, dry and charged us extra on top of the package that had been paid for. The facilities were extremely poo and the deep tissue massage wasn't a massage. It was more like a touch. We waited 30 mins and the hot tubs were tiny. One was out of order with a random person in the room trying to fix it. The spa facilities were not relaxing and were very cheap equipment. I would strongly advise not to get this package deal. Not worth it in any way.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited September 2015
Posted 8 months ago
very good service , I had a massage and body scrub and this was absolutely fabulous. Apart from the small changing area the facilities are very nice.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 4 months ago
I had the gel mani and pedi done at Athenaeum Spa a few days before I went on holiday, and they lasted a good few weeks. The staff from the hotel doorman, spa reception and the lady who did my nails were all very nice. The treatments took a while, so it was nice they have fruit-infused water for customers.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 8 months ago
A super spot and fantastic staff, all of whom were extremely polite, helpful and charming. The treatments were fantastic and the only thing that was below par was the facilities, which were few and all a little cramped. However, given the location of the hotel and the premium on space in Mayfair it is perhaps not surprising and the general decor and ambience of the place more than made up for it. Final plus was that we found a parking spot just around the corner on Down Street very easily.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 8 months ago
Staff were friendly and welcome. Eyelashes last long and they are good quality. The only thing is they use very strong glue which affect my through on the session I felt like I can't breath and after I had troath ache for a few days :(

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 8 months ago
Would definitely recommend - everything in this venue is relaxing and I was really pleased with my treatment - thank you very much!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 9 months ago
Amazing treatments, service and atmosphere! Highly recommend this for a special occasion, great value for money and luxurious feel to your time there.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 9 months ago
Do not be fooled by the word 'spa'. The nail treatment area is a hallway with cracked walls, no windows (basement), poor light, and an old rug in the middle. No music. Stuffy atmosphere.

The positions that the therapist has to take to provide the pedicure service are circus-like: you're sat on an old sofa, and her on a chair in front of you. A towel on the carpet, and there we go. No feet soaking, no pedicure done. At some point the therapist kneels on the floor to get that nail polish applied - that can't be in any way spa-like, not to mention comfortable. The manicure tables are filthy.

I got the Gelish. Ended up with top coat all over my toe. Plus a big cut under the toe nail because of the therapist filing too hard. There is no proper manicure done, it's more of a nail polish application, without much nail care prior to it. My cuticles are very much like they were before the appointment.

Very disappointed, will never go back there again.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 9 months ago
My eye lashes look fantastic. Cat did a wonderful job as always. I would recommend her service to anyone. Great job!

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 9 months ago
My eyelash extensions were very patiently applied and took just under two hours. My quiet time to relax was very much respected - we had a fair balance of chat and silence for me to just close my eyes and relax. The extensions are exactly what I asked for - a very natural look and the Athenaeum Spa was perfect for what I wanted. Definitely coming back here for my infills (especially with the loyalty card).

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited August 2015
Posted 9 months ago
I went for a VIP Champagne Spa Day for Two and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2015
Posted 9 months ago
I had a Mix & Match Weekday Pamper Day Getaway and have awarded it 4 stars.

Comment

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2015
Posted 9 months ago
Excellent treatment! The spa was amazing as were the choice of treatments. The staff were friendly and professional and I would not hesitate to return.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2015
Posted 9 months ago
Treatments were fine but the waiting area and changing rooms were crowded to an unpleasant degree spoiling the post massage relaxation by having to fight for space to shower and change.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2015
Posted 9 months ago
Ok experience but bean bag was not that comfortable for pregnant women. Would probably choose a different massage position next time.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2015
Posted 10 months ago
Visited the spa for a gel manicure and pedicure. The manicure was good . However I was left very disappointed with the pedicure which was no more than a polish change. It was explained to me that this was because I was having gellish on my feet, however this was not made clear on booking or on arrival to the spa. I would not have booked this service if I know this was the case, as the reason for me booking the treatment was because I wanted a pedicure.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel
Verified review Visited July 2015
Posted 10 months ago
Great deal! The exfoliation is rough but leaves your skin feeling great and the facial was really enjoyable and refreshing. There are 2 jacuzzis, 1 steam room and 1 sauna for afterwards though the installations are quite small and the changing room only has 1 shower.

Comment | Report as inappropriate

Be the first to comment on this review

Cancel